Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars careful, there are three versions
Yes, three versions, slightly different playlists.

'Read my lips - Extra tracks', is the version you really want. 15 tracks, including Murder On The Dance Floor, Get Over You and a live version of Groovejet. £1 new or 1p used. Wonderful value.

'Read my lips - Import'. 13 tracks only, including the above.

'Read my lips'. A bare 8 tracks on...
Published on 24 Nov. 2012 by Red Rose

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars was expecting a little more -
Although the two singles that have been released are excellent, the rest of the album leaves a lot to be desired with perhaps half the tracks being worth listening too. Sophie EB has a distinctive and excellent voice but it is wasted on some of the songs. A disappointment, maybe better to just buy the cd singles as murder on the dancefloor has extra multimedia on it.
Published on 18 Dec. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars careful, there are three versions, 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
Yes, three versions, slightly different playlists.

'Read my lips - Extra tracks', is the version you really want. 15 tracks, including Murder On The Dance Floor, Get Over You and a live version of Groovejet. £1 new or 1p used. Wonderful value.

'Read my lips - Import'. 13 tracks only, including the above.

'Read my lips'. A bare 8 tracks on this, excluding Groovejet, and more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bl**dy good debut! So nearly a classic, 4 Jun. 2008
By 
Dm Blackwell "Dazmb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
I have to say this album still stuns me when I listen to it. And let me say that unlike so many albums I can listen to this one from start to finish. All the songs are at least good, with many being very strong and a couple are classic pop tunes (M.O.T.D. and Take Me Home). SEB has never matched this album, and may never tbh it's that good (2nd album was always going to be playing 2nd fiddle to this one - and it did!).

'Read My Lips' is a finely crafted blend of pop, 80's and dance electro type stuff all mixed up and laid out in well produced and structured songs. Sympathetic drum/sequencer programming allow the songs some space to breath, as too often this style of music suffers from the "there's a semi-quaver pause with no sound in it, so let's fill it!" sentiment. As always less is more. SEB shows a sign of maturity here.

The words are nicely weighted between meaning and candyfloss (like all good pop should be), and SEB sings them all well within the constraints of her uniquely accented vocal range. Nice also that she moved on from the vocal perception of sulkyness often showing in her previous band 'The Audience'.

It's not a total classic album, it's not quite so accomplished as that. But it's a GREAT album and will not age badly as many electonic pop does.

It's still a favourite CD of mine to listen too at home or in the car, and as I mentioned I can easily listen to it all the way through without skipping tracks. But more than any other compliment is that I can't think of a time I have heard a better debut album. It's that good!

Well done SEB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not perfect, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
Despite having the clear appeal of breakthrough singles Murder On The Dancefloor and Get Over You, Sophie Ellis Bextor manages to produce an album with a clear difference between Singles and Fillers.

The original eight tracks are all very good and all capture the quirky pop that Murder On The Dancefloor suggests. Take Me Home is a definite step up from Cher's original and Move This Mountain is a very motivational song. The highlight for me however is Sparkle which is often slated for being formulaic filler but I think the use of harmonies and bizarre keyboard lines really make the hairs stand up on the back of my neck in a good way.

It's the second half of the album, the additional tracks, that don't quite fit in. They all sound roughly the same and move at a very slow pace. This is a disappointment after the albums strong first half. Even Everything Falls Into Place, which has a pace opening, manages to dull itself after a few bars. The omission of Groovejet (if This AIn't Love) is also a disappointment and the live version almost feels like an apology from the record label. Either way at such a low price it is a worthy buy even if 6 of the tracks you won't ever listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take this album home with you now!!, 5 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
Here is the long awaited debut album from Sophie Ellis-Bextor, the girl that rather famously and gloriously kept posh from the number 1 throne with Spiller last year. Now she's on her own and it isn't half bad. Ellis-Bextor has managed to do something that so few popstars can nowadays; keep it pop, yet sophisticated and stylish. With the magnificent "Take me home" and equally good tracks "Lover", "Murder on the dancefloor" and "I believe" Ellis-Bextor she can definitely sing and write (all tracks are co-written by her).
A couple of tracks are a bit weaker ("Sparkle", "Final move") but on the whole it's extremely strong. With an album this good under her belt at the tender age of 22 I can only wonder what gem of an album she'll come up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ECLECTIC COLLECTION FROM A GREAT NEW VOICE, 12 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
"Take Me Home" may have given the impression that another disco diva has arrived on the Cher bandwagon..especially as "Take Me Home" is a cover of a Cher hit. Luckily Sophie has produced a sophisticated pop album that takes a backwards glance at the eighties and is all the better for it. There are potentially many singles on offer here..."Lover" the next touted single is a reggae style number that recalls Bananarama/Fun Boy Three. "Move This Mountain" a collaboration with Alex James of "Blur" is the probable highlight although "I Believe" and the lovely "Is It Any Wonder" run it close. There isn't a weak song anywhere though the wonderfully camp "Murder on the Dancefloor" seems to be getting attention if only for the wonderfully polite way Sophie sings "Goddamn". Her style is the epitome of cool and the owner of this album can buy right into that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable first time effort, 10 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
You will probably reading this review in order to determine - "is it worth the purchase?" My first instincts would be to say "yes." If like me you were unsure if such an artist could deliver on an album, then you will be pleasantly surprised. The album benefits from a variation of track and vocal styles with the "Take Me Home" track easing your way into an endless abyss of pop and easy listening musical delight. Other good tracks include "Is it any wonder" and "Sparkle." Overall this CD would be a nice addition to your collection and worthy of a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what you expect, but damn good!, 28 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
After the single releases of "Take Me Home" and "Murder on the Dancefloor", I was expecting a discotastic album, but what you actually get is something quite different.
The sound is fairly eclectic, a pretty dancy sound in places, but in others very 80's sounding.It works though. Lyrics are good, the beautiful, "Is it any Wonder?" is fab - mellow and soulful and SEB's voice is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophie Ellis Bextor- What A Talent!, 12 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
I got this album bought for me and after having heard a few of Sophie's tracks on the radio before thought I'd give it a listen and when I did I just couldn't stop! The album as a fantastic individual sound that keeps goin from start to finish and if you hear one track on its own you know its from that album, its a kind of dance electro pop style music and the songs are really catchy. Sophie sounds great on all of them and her voice suits the tracks perfectly. Great catchy numbers include "Murder On The Dancefloor", the addictive "Take Me Home" and my favourite "Get Over You" with its quirky lyrics and upbeat flavour. Others include the pure pop song "The Universe Is You", a great dance vocal track "Is It Any Wonder" than sounds like it came off an ibiza anthem soundtrack. The live version of Groovejets "If This Aint Love" is really good with loads of energy and Sophie sounds really good live, proving just how talented she is. This individual album is a must for any cd collection. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trully unique album from a trully unique lady, 2 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
Possibly one of the most publicised chart events in UK chart history occurred between the two unstopabble collaborations, Victoria Beckham and True Steppers with pop perfection "Out Of Your Mind" and Sophie Ellis Bextor and Spiller with "Groovejet"- of course the latter won hands down. Since that release, Sophie's unique image and voice have been under extreme hype. Is the hype worth it? I say yes...
Highlights include the opener "Murder On The Dancefloor", a 70's sounding disco classic that is surely going to be played at every wedding and childrens party for the next 100 years, debut single "Take Me Home" oozes stylish obscurity with its strange melodies and rich vocals. "Lover" has a gritty dirty downbeat sound that stands out on the album- with more f-words and a harder beat, the track would probably be a Prodigy track. "Music Gets The Best Of Me" is a light poppy afair with a very catchy chorus, "Get Over You" is the infectous track that saw Sophie doing a robotic dance routine that actually didnt look foolish!
The album is full of little jems from a variety of genre's and styles. A must have debut album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wham, Bam, Thank you Miss Ellis-Bextor, 30 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Read My Lips (Audio CD)
When i first heard the single 'Take Me Home' aired on Radio 2 back in June, it caught my ear. I waited for the album (since June!) and now its here, i think my wait was worth it!
if you're looking for pop, SEB has 'Final Move'. If you're looking for 70's disco, SEB has 'Murder on the Dancefloor'. For 80's electro-pop lovers, its 'Sparkle' and for a chilled beats sound, you've got 'Is It Any Wonder'. It really has got anything you would ever need. A round-up of all tastes from a purly talented up-and-coming Diva with an ear for style and taste. From her days with 'theaudience' it is clear to see how she has changed to suit what she likes, rather than what she can make as most of the songs she has co-written. The music on the album also compliments her vocal range, allowing for expressive singing in a sexy, bluesy-type way.
Many have protested on Miss Ellis-Bextors 'Nasal' sound. I agree that she does have a nasal twang in her voice, but it adds to the sound, texture and timbre of the music. If its Nasal-twangs you're after, listen to Stacy Kent, a jazz singer... Sophie Ellis-Bextor can not be compared to any other female singer i know as her voice is unique, soulful and beautiful.
Overall, SEB has created a master of an album combining all the classic aspects of todays music scene.
And she quite attractive, too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Read My Lips (New UK Version)
Read My Lips (New UK Version) by Sophie Ellis-Bextor
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews