Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Generation Goes Out In Style
After seeing Nemesis at the cinema, and deciding that it was absolutely fantastic, I ordered the CD soundtrack straight away. The opening music is great giving that sense that your in interstellar space, then it jumps straight into a war feel as it approaches Romulus. Track 3 'My Right Arm', was also well done, particularly keeping in sync with the chase sequence. 9. The...
Published on 9 May 2003 by Mr President

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NEMESIS - A Generations Final Soundtrack?!
STAR TREK: NEMESIS
Anxiously awaiting the new Star Trek Original Movie Soundtrack for many weeks, I was relieved to have received it in the post today. Straight after lectures, I went back to my appartment and slided the disc into the drive and put the volume up to get the full experience. Oh yes, it felt good to hear the fanfare of Jerry Goldsmith's and Alexander...
Published on 2 Dec 2002 by wadzee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NEMESIS - A Generations Final Soundtrack?!, 2 Dec 2002
This review is from: Star Trek Nemesis (Audio CD)
STAR TREK: NEMESIS
Anxiously awaiting the new Star Trek Original Movie Soundtrack for many weeks, I was relieved to have received it in the post today. Straight after lectures, I went back to my appartment and slided the disc into the drive and put the volume up to get the full experience. Oh yes, it felt good to hear the fanfare of Jerry Goldsmith's and Alexander Courage's Star Trek theme once more!
The last few films in particular have had a very specific theme running parallel to the story; Insurrection with its blissfull and relaxing Baku theme, First Contact with its 'Borgified' composure etc. However Nemesis seems to use a mixture of these previous themes, rather than having a unique theme created for itself. Agreed there are three or four unique tracks on the Nemesis CD, but on the whole, it sounded very familiar.
Agreed, the past soundtracks have been exceptional and so it might seem like a good idea to re-use certain chords and melodies for Nemesis, but i was hoping to hear an entirely new soundtrack. For any major Trek fan, i guess the parellel would be to highlight the Hirogen period from Voyager. From those episodes on, all Voyager episodes had the same dark melody- every episode!
However, this is a very modern sounding compilation of songs, and i think they will suit the films' dark plot very well.
Although i gave the CD rating 3 out of 5, i think maybe that is a bit harsh. I guess i was just let down at the fact there is not much individuality in this soundtrack. It also lacks any bonus features (like the FIrst Contact CD). But i do recommend this CD to anyone who is an avid trek fan or anyone who sees the film and enjoys the soundtrack.
It is an excellent quality score, very well structured and it has certainly got me looking forward to the release of the film!
Adam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Generation Goes Out In Style, 9 May 2003
This review is from: Star Trek Nemesis (Audio CD)
After seeing Nemesis at the cinema, and deciding that it was absolutely fantastic, I ordered the CD soundtrack straight away. The opening music is great giving that sense that your in interstellar space, then it jumps straight into a war feel as it approaches Romulus. Track 3 'My Right Arm', was also well done, particularly keeping in sync with the chase sequence. 9. The Scorpion - fave track in the whole CD, wonderfully done and work so well with the sequence in the movie. The last track, lived up to its purpose, giving the idea that the Next Generation crew (and Data) live on.
I would give the CD 5.5 stars if i could, not only for the fact that it was wholly fantastic, but also that it didnt include Data's little song in the film (which i cringed at), that was my main worry for it, which proved to be unfounded.
A fitting tribute to a departing Generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Terk Nemesis CD, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. J. A. Goodman (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek Nemesis (Audio CD)
I enjoyed the CD as I enjoyed the film, had some great soundtracks on the CD and listen to it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Generation Goes Out In Style, 9 May 2003
This review is from: Star Trek Nemesis (Audio CD)
After seeing Nemesis at the cinema, and deciding that it was absolutely fantastic, I ordered the CD soundtract straight away. The opening music is great giving that sense that your in interstellar space, then it jumps straight into a war feel as it approaches Romulus. Track 3 'My Right Arm', was also well done, particularly keeping in sync with the chase sequence. 9. The Scorpion - fave track in the whole CD, wonderfully done and work so well with the sequence in the movie. The last track, lived up to its purpose, giving the idea that the Next Generation crew (and Data) live on.
I would give the CD 5.5 stars if i could, not only for the fact that it was wholley fantastic, but also that it didnt include Data's little song in the film (which i cringed at), that was my main worry for it, which proved to be unfounded.
A fitting tribute to a departing Generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stirring Stuff, 8 Dec 2002
By 
M. HICKMAN "Mike Hickman" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek Nemesis (Audio CD)
This is a magnificent score from Jerry Goldsmith. One previous reviewer mentioned it being similar to previous scores, and re-using many previous themes. I think he must have listened to a different CD altogether. This score is a bit of a departure from Goldsmith, who can usually be relied upon to include his Motion Picture theme at every opportunity as well as the excellent Klingon motif. There's nothing wrong with this, of course - they're not memorable for nothing. However, here we have an unusual restraint from the composer, who brings us a very much darker and more dynamic score than the somewhat wet "Insurrection" (which entirely fitted that less than exciting movie). The opening theme is a surprise, breaking out of the usual Fanfare into a war-like march. Where the Motion Picture theme has been used, as in the obligatory end credits theme, it is slower and more sedate, and there is an intriguing use of Irving Berlin's "Blue Skies" in the final track "A New Ending". It's always interesting to listen to a new score to get the measure of what the next movie might be like - this paints a picture of a very good Trek adventure indeed. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely BRILLIANT, 10 Jan 2003
This review is from: Star Trek Nemesis (Audio CD)
There is no doubt that this soundtrack is the best of them all!! Goldsmith has done a fantastic job in creating and mixing new themes with the well established fanfares we're all so familiar with. He combines the orchestra with electronic sounds and textures, which enhance the pieces even further.
Most definately, my favourite ones are the last 4. Their repetitive rhythmic motifs (of course, similar to those used so magnificently by Holst in Mars of his Planets Suite) give such a dramatic war-like effect to the sound of the music that one is just blown away by their raw and brutal-sounding texture.
This is one movie soundtrack which no movie enthusiast nor any fan of the greatest show in television history should be without!!!!!
All in all, this soundtrack compliments the film wonderfully, which in my opinion is a superb and utterly brilliant film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best soundtrack so far, 12 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek Nemesis (Audio CD)
i personally think that this is the best trek soundtrack so far for a film feature. I've been a fan of star trek for over 10 years and have heard a lot of music for it in my time, and i would say that this soundtrack is a must buy for any fan! Track 9 'Scorpion' is one of the best action pieces Goldsmith has ever composed. If you're a fan of star trek and are looking forward to watching Nemesis in the cinema, i'd recommend you buying the soundtrack, it makes you want to watch the film even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new here., 26 Mar 2006
By 
Well, that says it all really! There some particularly atmospheric tracks, like Knife and Scorpion, but the majority of it is pretty mediocre - tracks that dawdle around for 3 or 4 minutes without really doing much.
I wouldn't say there were any bad tracks, and if you're a big fan of Trek it's worth adding to your collection. Not a great soundtrack, but not bad either - succinctly average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Nemesis
Star Trek Nemesis by Jerry Goldsmith
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews