Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£10.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2010
I loved watching this DVD, so much so that I'm going to buy some more featuring other teams. The Spurs one includes footage I've never seen before and I've got most of the Spurs DVDs out there. The game may have been slower and the ball heavier, but there's some great skill on show here. The players were every bit as skilful then as they are now. One tackle on Steve Perryman would have seen every player today rolling around and calling for the stretcher. Stevie P just gets up and walks away in disgust! The Spurs games featured are:

69/70 West Ham 0-1 Spurs
70/71 Spurs 2-1 Everton
71/72 Spurs 6-1 Forest
72/73 Spurs 4-3 Stoke
73/74 Spurs 2-0 Arsenal
74/75 Spurs 3-0 Newcastle
75/76 Spurs 2-1 Wolves
76/77 Spurs 2-1 West Ham
77/78 Spurs 1-0 Fulham (bit disappointed they didn't have the 9-0 v Bristol Rovers instead)
78/79 Leeds 1-2 Spurs
79/80 Spurs 1-0 Forest
80/81 Spurs 2-1 Man City
81/82 Spurs 3-0 Forest
82/83 Spurs 2-0 Liverpool
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
long hair,sideburns wide, shirt without sponsor and name on the back, matches will be played only on saturday afternoon, kids who entered in field in each goals to embrace who had scored.
football pure and simple of the seventies....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
IT IS A GREAT SHAME THAT JIMMY HILL BECAME A FIGURE OF FUN,(INTO THE 1980'S,AND SAD THAT MAYBE THE BBC DIDN'T STOP HIM FROM BEING SO?).FOR A LOOK AT LATE THE 60'S INTO THE 70'S YOU SEE AND HEAR A VERY SMART AND INTELLIGENT ANALYST AND INTERVIEWER. HIS PERCEPTIONS OF MARTIN PETERS FOLLOWING A 6-1 WIN FOR SPURS ARE SUPERB. IT IS ALSO CLEAR THAT LESS IS MORE (WITH JUST JIMMY AND BRIAN ) I CAN'T RECALL WATCHING MODERN FOOTBALL SHOWS, ITS FULL OF EXPERTS? CAMERA ANGLES, AND NO INDEPENDENT HONESTY.(THEY DIVE,THEY CHEAT,AND UNLESS YOUR ONE OF THE BIG 4,YOU MUST WET YOURSELF BY REACHING THAT TOP 10 (BECAUSE THE PREMIER LEAGUE IS SPLIT INTO 3 DON'T YOU KNOW?).WELL BACK IN THE MID 70S SPURS AND MAN UTD FELL THROUGH THE FLOOR AND WAS THE GAME WORSE FOR IT? THE DOWN SIDE OF THIS DVD? FOR ME...NONE...IT WAS SAD THE LIKE OF MULLERY.CHIVERS,AND PETERS..BE ON THE END OF STICK FROM THE SPURS FANS,AND A TERRIBLE PENALTY FOR CONN AGAINST WEST HAM 1977.(MAYBE TODAY THEY WOULD GIVE IT ,AND NO DOUBT DEFEND IT?? BUT GOOD OLD BRIAN MOORE HAD HIS OWN BELIEFS BACK IN THE DAY. PERRYMAN, GILZEAN, PETER TAYLOR..GLENN HODDLE WHAT A PLAYER!...RICKY VILLA GETTING STUCK INTO KENNY BURNS (STANDING UP FOR OSSIE) AND THAT FEELING THROUGHOUT (IF YOUR OLD ENOUGH?) THAT THE MATCH YOU JUST SAW WAS ONLY YESTERDAY,AND TO REMIND YOURSELF OF A WARM SEPTEMBER OR COLD JANUARY AT THE MATCH WITH YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS WITH ALL THE SMELLS OF ONIONS.CIGARS.AND BEER..TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR THE BIG MATCH WAS MY FOOTBALL FIX FOR A FEW WEEKS..SAW ON THE BACK OF THE PAPER THEY LOST AT WEMBLEY LAST WEEK?...SORRY THAT PASSED ME BY........BUT WHEN I READ ABOUT THE PASSING OF DAVE MACKAY R.I.P. NOW THAT REALLY MADE ME SAD. GREAT DVD VIA AMAZON.U.K.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
Great to see old clips of Brian Moore and the opening sequences of the show (was that horrible 1980s opening a sign of the impending decline of ITV football coverage?). But, the selection of games is very disappointing. Surely there are better matches than some of these in the archives - even Brian Moore remarks, in more than one match, that it has not been much of a game. Also, the editing could have been done with a little more care and attention. Great viewing to see how the game has become faster and some hilarious haircuts on display.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
There's nothing like a good 70's football dvd to make you feel all nostalgic. The golden age of tv football is here in all it's glory.Brilliant!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2009
Devotees of the beautiful game from this decade would have let out a collective cry of joy when the release of this fantastic series was announced. Being a sad man i have already purchased the whole series and my only quibble is the repetition in all the discs of the extra features. While all the footage has been carefully assembled with an expert eye by people who obviously have excellent knowledge of this era, i was still disappointed that each dvd has virtually identical additions. More of Moore, Brian or Bobby, would have been nice, but i would not intend to put you off indulging in what is, for the games at least, a terrific nostalgia fest of goals, tashes and terrifying tackles
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Another fantastic dvd in the series
Watch it over and over
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Excellent product it brought back lot's of happy memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
A gift. The recipient was very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)