Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars51
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2015
this album is so not known enough...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2009
Nearly bought the last album The Crane Wife but never did, ordered this on the basis of a track I'd heard on the radio. Subsequently listened to it all on a band sanctioned free streaming site,[], check it out and you may just love it. Tracks like Won't want for love and The Wanting Comes in Waves should make your mind up. Great tunes, don't be put off by all the reviews going on about concepts and prog/folk, it's just excellent music.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
It's easy to compare this album to past prog rock classics, but this album brings to mind the Velvet Underground in it's range and lack of prog rock rambling, it has a sense of menace coupled with lyrics that touch on all our lives, yes it's extreme and disturbing but it's also beautiful. It's a true original. 5 stars - buy it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2009
I really like the Decemberists. The mix of Colin's voice with good lyrics with their beautiful melodies always works for me. However I must say that this CD is not their best. With The Hazards of Love, The Decemberists venture into new ground: it's like an Opera Rock with some progessive rock, balads and heavier moments, but in the end the story didn't really appeal to me and I miss the beauty of songs such as the recent "Sleepless" (included in the compilation Dark Was The Night).

I can't help it. I'm disappointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
The best indie music exploits a tension between embarrassment and potency. The Decembrists are exceptional for all the reasons that should make them awkward to admire, namely: Melloy's nerdy voice, quirky instrumentalisation, political naivety and archaically inventive lyrics. These elements are to be found in THOL but only in reduced measure. It's a concept album that shifts The Decembrists' broad identity away from folk rock towards prog rock. A few previous motifs are expanded and there are frequent outbreaks of crashingly conventional electric guitar cadenzas. Not for me; but it's right that bands should change, and I'm glad others seem to like it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
With Picaresque and The Crane Wife The Decemberists produced two absolutely outstanding records. Unfortunately this is nowhere near the quality of either of them. If it has roots in their previous work it's in their extended EP The Tain. However, where that record keeps some sense of the earthiness of the original Irish narrative material and is short enough to leave you wanting more, this too often seems to take its inspiration from fairy tales for kids. It's also far too long and so fails to sustain the kind of folk narrative feel its obviously after. Colin Meloy's lyrics are occasionally as good as ever, but at its worst this CD sounds less like Fairport Convention than Tam Lin reworked by Gilbert and Sullivan and delivered by Meatloaf's producer at his most over-the-top. Meloy's always had a streak of Gilbert and Sullivan in his song-writing - no bad thing in itself - but it works best when grounded in the realities that the best folk material deals with so well. This has nothing of the energy and strangeness of the best folk rock - instead it too often sounds like a combination of the worst aspects of contemporary fantasy folk with the worst of pomp-rock. What a shame.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
I like The Decemberists so I'm biased, but this record has been sorely anticipated ever since the Crane Wife album, their first on a major label, was received with critical acclaim. Word is Hazards of Love is a dark, brooding affair and those who've heard The Rake's Song, about a dad who murders his children, will understand why. But this band weave magical storylines with their indie, folk, sea shanty-style rock, with melodies that stay with you long after the first month on the record deck. They have toured the UK, here's hoping they will be back again soon. A band you can really...really...fall in love with.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
"An album with thematic ambition, delirious melodies, a depth of detail and a wicked sense of humour... 4/5"
Uncut

"the songs bleed together effortlessly like a dream, it'll take ages to unpick but it'll be worth every second"
Rocksound

"this could bring in more fans than ever before.....Meloy's writing some of his simplest, most immediately affecting songs"
DiS 8/10

'Hazards Of Love is a work of unblemished genius that shines on like some love-crazy diamond"
The Fly

"A perfect album"
Narc

"...an astonishing storybook concept album. The album, meant to be heard in it's entirety, is not to be missed. "
Clash

"It comes off like a newly discovered part of The Canterbury Tales.. If there's a movie version, the Cohen Brothers need to get the first call"
Uncut
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
this is for an aquired taste,i like the odd and unusual but i haven't acquired a taste for this.
(Up dated 3/2/12)I have now acquired a taste for this wonderful album. One of my all time favs. Different, yes, but haunting and compelling all the same. (How could I have said those things?)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£8.20
£7.75

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)