Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bike maintenance
Loved this book, well laid out and written, simple to follow instructions for a novice upwards. As it's a reference you can pick and choose what to read, with handy tips and advice thrown in. If you want to take care of your bike yourself, look no further.
Published 24 months ago by Pete Shovelin

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A definite "I wish I'd bought something else"
This would be a (usually) ok lightweight in its field if the field wasn't so crowded, both on bookstore shelves and on the web. Key sections sometimes don't separate bike or component types enough to be clear, which could be literally fatal, as one of these sections is on brakes. I'd rely on Park Tools website, or take a chance on the latest edition of Anybody's Bike...
Published on 26 Aug 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A definite "I wish I'd bought something else", 26 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This would be a (usually) ok lightweight in its field if the field wasn't so crowded, both on bookstore shelves and on the web. Key sections sometimes don't separate bike or component types enough to be clear, which could be literally fatal, as one of these sections is on brakes. I'd rely on Park Tools website, or take a chance on the latest edition of Anybody's Bike Book, which used to be excellent and I see now is in a new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bike maintenance, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book, well laid out and written, simple to follow instructions for a novice upwards. As it's a reference you can pick and choose what to read, with handy tips and advice thrown in. If you want to take care of your bike yourself, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, downloaded it, rather expensive, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bike Repair and Maintenance For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. I'm not sure it was worth the £8 plus I paid for it, but a hard copy would have been fine. I think it could have done with some more step by step pictures , for example when talking about crank removal , it's followed up with a paragraph explaining how to do it- I had to go on YouTube to see what they meant.
This might just be me, but I'm better at fixing things with a visual demo.
Don't let that put you off though, still very useful stuff for cyclists. The main reason for purchase was to expand my bike knowledge and to be able to pull out my phone and refer to the book if stuck. It's happily will do both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bike repairs and maintenance, 26 Jun 2014
By 
T. A. Wilkins (West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives simple advice on topics such as checking tyres/wheels (dealing with punctures), checking brakes and correct chain ratio with gears/derailleur.

Very useful as I can do my own maintenance without taking my bicycle to the shop all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful for Dummies :p It has very useful tips and they really work... You can save some money repairing your bike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overall book, 14 Feb 2014
Good book, could do with more on gears, how to adjust and tweak them. Good overall knowledge, could do with more diagrams to help explain procedures too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 July 2014
By 
Tracey Yates (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I actually thought this was a motor bike book as it was in the motor bike section, but never mind will come in handy for all the push bikes in the family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For dummies - well yes, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a first book on the subject it's ok. I did, however, have to buy another, more detailed book to tackle more involved operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if your looking for the basic book does more than expected, great to use, dead easy result, spot on reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars books, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always plain and simple to understand and doesnt cost a fortune . Would recommend these books for any age .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews