Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TROWER/DEWAR AT THEIR BEST, 23 May 2008
SAW THE ROBIN TROWER BAND 16TH MAY IN GLASOW FOR THE FIRST TIME & ALTHOUGH FAMILIAR WITH THEIR SONGS FROM THE MID-LATE 70'S I NEVER MANAGED TO SEE THEM AT THE PEAK OF THEIR POPULARITY . GREAT ALBUM WITH MOST OF THEIR CLASSICS FROM THIS PERIOD SHOWCASING THE GREAT GUITAR WORK OF TROWER AND THE VOICE OF ONE OF THE BEST BLUES/ROCK SINGERS OF ALL TIME JIMMY DEWAR . TAKE A LISTEN TO FAVOURITES LIKE "DAY OF THE EAGLE" "BRIDGE OF SIGHS ""LONG MISTY DAYS" "VICTIMS OF THE FURY " AND THE CLASSIC
"DAYDREAM " AND YOU WILL BE REALISE WHAT A GREAT BAND THEY WERE IN THIS PERIOD . THERE ARE A FEW LIVE SONGS ALSO ON THIS COMPILATION WHICH SHOW THIS BAND AS A GREAT LIVE ACT . WELL WORTH A BUY IF YOU LIKE TROWERS GREAT GUITAR WORK AND DEWAR'S INCOMPARABLE VOCALS . TERRIFIC .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Master's Work, 7 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Day of the Eagle really is a 'best of' the classic work of Robin Trower and serves as a terrific introduction to those that may be unfamiliar wityh the man's work.
Trower could be said to be cut from the same cloth as luminaries such as Clapton, Page, Frampton and maybe even Page but he has never sought neither received the attention or accolades of said peers.
This album is album choc a block full of superb inspiring guitar playing from Trower but at all times it is contained and never veers into self indulgent guitar histrionics. He is ably supported by Jimmy Dewar not only on bass but by a man with a really authentic blues rock gravelly vocal and a skin tight drummer.
Picking out highlights is something of a dichtotomy, easy on the one hand almost impossible on the other as each of the selected 17 selected has its highs but would be emiss ofme not to focs on the title track Day of the Eagle, Too Rolling Stoned and the astonshingly atmosospheric and moving Bridge of Sighs. This is true hair on the back of the neck territory.
Masterful music and now of course with the additional of a digital remaster, a must for lovers of Blues driven rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE A FAST TRAIN... to THE BRIDGE OF SIGHS....., 7 Jan 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
..Then sit back and DAYDREAM while this superb guitar players music washes over you.One of the most underated guitarists around,this really is a superb 'Best Of',covering the Chrysalis years.

Classic blues/rock including such tracks as 'Day Of The Eagle' and 'Bridge of Sighs',marvel at Trowers playing,rejoice in the likes of 'Caledonia' with that stunning voice of Jimmy Dewar(RIP).Revel in the live tracks such as 'Aletha' & 'Too Rolling Stoned' where Trower confirms he was a master on stage and not just in the studio.

Probably the best single disc introduction to Robin Trower's work available,comes with decent informative booklet.

Remastered sound quality is excellent 5 stars all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Robin Trower, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Classic 70's Rock Album - This CD contains many classic songs by Trower such as 'Day of the Eagle', 'Bridge of Sighs' and 'Long Misty Days' which are both a showcase and tribute to the guitar majesty of Robin Trower and the much-missed Jinny Dewar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Day Of The Eagle (The Best Of Robin Trower) (MP3 Download)
New to his music so seemed a good idea to try a 'best of' - enjoyed the music.
Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forgot just how much enery this guitarist unleased. It's not accurate to call this the best of Robin Trower - James Dewar is integral to the mix. His songwriting contributions, vocals and musicianship provided the platform for Trower's mastery to shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Robin Trower - Possibly The Best of Blues Rock?, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album was my introduction to Robin Trower - en-masse - after seeing an old clip of his band, on the BBC, playing 'Bridge of Sighs'. In short a superb CD. Anyone who loves Hendrix will really enjoy Mr. Trower's work as such is in a similar vein. Blues rock at it's best, with the 'classic power trio' all superbly matched so as to create wonderful tracks, or should I say, more importantly, wonderful songs (no guitar solos 'just for the sake of' here!). Mr. Trower's guitar tone is devine and his skill as a player unsurpassed, some have argued that his work is 'derivative', yet I would argue that RT has taken inspiration from others and then crafted his own destiny - I can see, and hear, why Fripp, SRV et al. have been inspired by RT! I am a big fan of Zeppelin, Cream, Tull et al. and this album, the RT band and Mr. Trower's guitar work are all easily up to the standard of those giants of rock, Robin Trower's work sits nicely - and easily - alongside them. My favourite track? That's a difficult one, as there are, IMHO, no 'duds' on this CD, yet it would have to be 'Bridge of Sighs', the track that led me here in the first place. Even when one thinks that he has heard everything that there is to hear - in this genre of music - it is exciting and refreshing to stumble across, what was for me, an undiscovered - past - master.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prog Rock, 16 Aug 2011
By 
E. Carruthers "mature teenager" (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't quite sure what to expect as I have never heard Robin Trower's Band before. Certainly influenced by Hendrix, you can hear the style of licks. A good compilation and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews