Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and magnificent monument to a great musician
There are only a handful of UK artists who can truly be described as unique and ground breaking but John Martyn is right there at the very top of the list. John had a very long career and wrote some wonderful songs, beginning in the 60's with basic folk and going in his own new direction after finding the joys of the echoplex. Some of his musicianship beggars belief and...
Published on 25 Mar 2009 by endlessharmony

versus
27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars May You Never Buy This Album
Trying to put the best of John Martyn onto 1 album is, at best, a foolhardy exercise. It cant be done.

Having said that, this is a terrible attempt. At least half the songs dont deserve to be there. I know John would be spinning in his grave , if he thought this was how he was being remembered!

If you want to own just one Martyn album, go for one...
Published on 5 April 2009 by Magnus Quad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and magnificent monument to a great musician, 25 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: May You Never - The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
There are only a handful of UK artists who can truly be described as unique and ground breaking but John Martyn is right there at the very top of the list. John had a very long career and wrote some wonderful songs, beginning in the 60's with basic folk and going in his own new direction after finding the joys of the echoplex. Some of his musicianship beggars belief and the only thing that is better than his album work, are his magnificent live performances. There are simply too many songs to cover in a single 'best of' but 'May You Never' makes a great attempt. It features many of his well known songs such as 'May You Never', 'Head and Heart' and 'Solid Air' and also other less well numbers that are as good and/or better including 'Sweet Little Mystery', 'Small Change' and 'Spencer The Rover'. My only slight crticism would be the inclusion of 'Somewhere Over The Rainbow'and 'Singinng In The Rain' which although wonderfully performed would be beeter replaced with some other originals from John's vast bacl catalogue. This is a truly great album from a truly great British artist who's sad passing is a great tragedy to the world of music. I cannot recommend this high enough though alternatively you could choose 'Sweet Little Mysteries - The Island Anthology' which has a lot more great songs on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true genius at work, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Dr. G. R. Ross "g_r_ross1961" (Birmingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: May You Never - The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
John Martyn is a truely wonderful and creative artist in the very best tradition of intelligent British folk-rock-blues music. Anyone sceptical of the depth of talent in the musical heritage in this country (which is very easy to be, in these days of X-Factors!) should check out 'Solid Air' - a true gentle masterpiece of an album and one of the greatest 100 albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure magic, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: May You Never - The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Its so good that I have purchased four copies, three of which have been given to friends. The inclusion of a track from the One World issue is a distraction and the inclusion of Cool Tide would have given a more complete picture of Matyns music, One World should be listened to in its entirety as a themed suite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of john martyn, 1 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: May You Never - The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
i brought this for my husband and he loves it, plays it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album from a great musician, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: May You Never - The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Happy memories for me as I first discovered John Martyn in 1976 and saw him in concert in Australia a coiuple of years later. A great "best of" album with tracks I know and do not know but all of them excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to John Martyn, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: May You Never - The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This CD is the very best of John Martyn. I am playing this constantly......a great album if you want to relax, chill and be thoughtful! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So pleased I got the CD, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: May You Never - The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I love this, and have blabbed about it to many.
Great voice and even though its an old cd I love it. Great, great and more great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true master (RIP), 18 Dec 2012
By 
Maffled "Mick H" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't know John Martyn's work you're missing out big time. Although this is called the very best of, which it would be if it contained another 20 tracks, it's an excellent album and a must have for any of his fans.

I saw him many times when he was alive. A tremendous character and a wonderful writer and interpreter of his and other people's songs.

Good price, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May we never forget the late, great John Martyn!, 12 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After first seeing John Martyn supporting Steeleye Span in concert many years ago I became a fan of his work and musical artistry. An artist is exactly what John Martyn is and you can hear the product of his labours both in the musical and lyrical sense woven throughout his work.

This is a great insight into the genius that was John Martyn, without question one of the great musical talents of my time on this earth. Gone but cetainly not forgotten John. Yours to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Brilliant John Martyn Album. Well Worth A Listen., 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb. What a Great Album. Very Sadly, John Martyn is no longer with us. But God he was Good! Thanks John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

May You Never - The Very Best Of
May You Never - The Very Best Of by John Martyn (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews