Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above the original
If you played the original, then these are the better bits (so far after 8 hours of play)

It's an excellent absorbing game and is a league above the original Assassin's Creed. It takes a few hours before some of the developments in the game unfold and to be honest they are still unfolding so by this time next week there may be a whole heap more. To give some...
Published on 22 Nov 2009 by K. Pickering

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Improvement!
Far more varied than the previous game, more to do and a more open feel. The storyline is still a bit baffling with a lot of threads and dozens of characters. The setting of mid 15th century renaissance Italy is excellent and there is a good database of interesting snippets along the way to aid immersion into the game world.
The fighting system is more advanced and...
Published on 23 Oct 2011 by The Elder Trolls


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above the original, 22 Nov 2009
By 
K. Pickering - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
If you played the original, then these are the better bits (so far after 8 hours of play)

It's an excellent absorbing game and is a league above the original Assassin's Creed. It takes a few hours before some of the developments in the game unfold and to be honest they are still unfolding so by this time next week there may be a whole heap more. To give some examples:
- Blending into crowds is much better implemented, you actually have to position yourself in the middle of moving groups to blend, not just press one button. Trying to make your way without being seen requires more stealth and it's very easy to become exposed at a critical moment.
- Introduction of armour, greater variety of weapons through merchants
- More combat moves. Combat is still a bit easy, but there is more that you can do with it.
- More sub-plots to break up the main plot (well to be accurate there weren't any in the original game, since I don't count picking up flags as fun, but now there are quite a number). Overall this looks like it should take quite a lot longer to complete and sub-plots are more reminisent of something like Oblivion.
- You need to seek out doctors for medical potions instead of just sitting still to heal
- Different groups you can hire to help e.g, thiefs, soldiers, prostitutes
- Missions vary and do not follow as predictable formats as the original and have proper plot development
Basically, if you liked the original, you should really like this. If you weren't particularly keen on the original but like games like Oblivion, this should have more to entertain you than the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's game with a deeper meaning!, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Martyn Poole "Rubix78" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
With a lot of love for the first game most reviews were mixed saying that the missions were to repetitive but I liked the missions and Parkour of the game so for me this was an ideal game for me. After the confusion of the end of the first game this one sets off directly afterwards throwing you straight into battles and getting used to the controls. For the first 30 minutes of the game you will have to follow the story instead of having the will to free roam.

The story revolves around the "Animus", a machine which makes it possible for the player to view the genetic memories of protagonist Desmond Miles' ancestors, a long line of assassins. This time you are based in late 15 century Italy during the Renaissance and take control of a young nobleman-turned-assassin named Ezio Auditore da Firenze who after witnessing his family killed goes on a journey to uncover a hidden conspiracy after the murder of his family.

The graphics are pretty much the same as the first game with a few jitters in frame rate from time to time.
Not much has changed in the way of controls, a few more moves have been added and the free running works well it seems until you are in a rush and little things like jumping away from a wall you are climbing or diving off buildings when you didn't want to can be frustration and time consuming especially when you are against the clock. This however is a small problem and once I learnt to let go of "X" at places I deemed dodgy areas then I found this problem happening less and less.

The battle system is mostly the same, you now can take weapons from your enemies and vice versa but for me this makes the combat even easier than before. When I play assassin's creed I like to be unnoticed and do everything by stealth but I found with this game it did not matter if I was spotted because I could take all the guards out without any problem and get away with ease. The problem that they need to sort is the A.I. of the enemies, they will just hang back and let you pick them off one by one and you even have time to taunt and change weapons while they attack you one at a time. What should happen is all the guards attack you at once forcing you to make a getaway.

Also added is a meter that will tell you how much guards take notice of you, you can clear this by ripping down wanted posters or bribing a public speaker but they might as well not have this meter as I found I could easily walk around the town with a full meter and no one stop me, the only time I ever had problems was the guards on the roofs.

Assassination jobs are easier to pull off then the first game, you also have more of them which is a good thing but I would have liked them to be more of a challenge. What makes it easier is that you can pay prostitutes and thieves to distract guards or pay a group to attack them, giving you all the time in the world to hit your target.

Like the first game things to collect are back but instead of flags you have feathers to collect also statues and codex's. There are also Glyphs which will unlock puzzles to complete which extend on the main game. Delivering letters against the clock, beating up cheating husbands and races are also small sub quests but again too easy. You also have stores to fix any broken armor or upgrade, a healer you can buy medicine from but I found this useless to have so much I never even used more than 2 bottles and I had 15. You can buy treasure maps and paintings and also change the color of your clothes.
Also swimming has been added which also adds another way of evading the guards as you can duck under the water and somehow they seem to forget you were ever there. Once out of the water your clothes will look wet and you will be dripping for a while which was a nice small touch to the game.

In short this is an amazing game improving on the first with more missions and a stronger story but it also has some of the flaws from the first game such as poor A.I. and issues when it comes to precise jumping. I dropped it a star for this but if we could give half stars it would get 4.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live by the Creed... again, 20 Nov 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
The original Assassin's Creed has been one of the most striking and divisive games of the generation so far. Some were won over by its unique setting, innovative controls and impeccable Free Running, whilst others chastised its lack of mission variety and the absence of an opportunity to meaningfully interact with the game world. A fair summary would probably fall somewhere in between the two, but there's no denying that it was one of the most potential-laden games of the last few years, driven by some of the most impressive and powerful tech to have graced the PS360.

Assassin's Creed II is without doubt one of the most exponentially improved sequels in modern gaming memory. Ubisoft Montreal have obviously listened to user feedback, made improvements in a multitude of ways and developed a sequel with pacing and depth that the first game unquestionably lacked. As someone who wasn't a particular fan of the original, this game is probably the nicest surprise and best use of its source premise this year alongside the excellent Batman: Arkham Asylum.

Taking place in 15th Century Renaissance Italy this time as opposed to Third Crusade-era Israel, ACII casts the player as young ruffian nobleman Ezio Auditore on his various misadventures around the city; brawling with a rival family, running errands for his father and stealing illicit visits to his girlfriend. Before long his family is disgraced and his relatively carefree lifestyle is turned upside down as he uncovers his father's legacy and takes the fight to their betrayers. While the original game was very structured in its design - 'nine people must be killed, here is how it must be accomplished' - ACII flows much more smoothly, with a more interesting plot concerning the Auditore family and their enemies, and far superior pacing which isn't simply about killing faceless villains.

The game world is excellent, and like the first game, it's encouraging to see the interpretation of such a unique and distinctive environment as historic Italy amongst all the po-faced modern day New Yorks. The major cities of Florence, Tuscany and Venice feature, with a smaller town acting as a hub of sorts where Ezio can train, invest in town regeneration and unlock both the family Auditore and the assassins' secrets. The cities each sport an individual feel, with the golden architecture of Florence contrasting against Tuscany's dull stone and Venice's flamboyant visual style. There are some indoor 'Assassin's Tombs' to be discovered around the countryside, which are linear and recall designs from Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, which again pleasingly juxtaposes with the open-ended environs elsewhere.

ACII most successfully sets itself apart from its predecessor in the small details. An economy is implemented which allows for a few different types of shop and introduces some RPG-lite elements -- for instance, Ezio can purchase armour upgrades which increase his health meter, he can purchase maps which reveal locations of hidden treasure chests and he can carry medicine vials for use on the road. These options and details also manifest themselves in the combat; he can fight guards at the risk of prematurely raising the alarm, or alternatively he could hire a group of courtesans to use their womanly charms to distract them. The whole aspect is implemented on a fairly basic level, but it brings and element of depth and variety that the first game desperately needed, and searching dead guards for Florins to buy Ezio some new bracelets or a different coloured outfit is often compulsive and very welcome.

The plot in Assassin's Creed was always structured to be the first part of a franchise, and the story picks up here exactly where that left off, with Desmond and Lucy escaping from Abstergo before meeting more assassin allies and delving into Ezio's world to find more answers in the battle against the Templars. The voice work on the Italian characters is generally well done and feels authentic, but the modern-day characters suffer from poor scripting and largely uninterested or irritating voiceovers. To be honest the plot is still a load of implausible sci-fi nonsense and it would probably be more entertaining if they abolished the whole Animus aspect and just concentrated on the historical characters.

Technically speaking, ACII is very impressive in almost every regard. The stellar animation is its crowning glory, with lots of extremely detailed characters and excellent effects such as a day/night cycle and a stable frame rate. There is a fair amount of screen tearing, but the city feels busy and alive, with dozens of NPCs often on screen at any time. Enemy AI is often a little suspect, allowing the player to murder guards next to their fellows who take seconds to react, but at other times they can be fairly astute, following Ezio up to rooftops and calling to their fellows once he's spotted. The horizon distance is excellent - get to a high point and you can literally observe the whole city, and although each area is broken by a fairly forgivable loading screen, the need for them is very infrequent.

Overall, there's not a huge amount to criticise in Assassin's Creed II, and I can't remember the last time I played a sequel which had improved so successfully over its flawed-but-potential-laden predecessor. This game has clearly been the result of a tremendously talented development team listening to feedback and giving gamers what they wanted - namely more variety and more depth. The excellent gameplay of the first game has made the transition, and now it has the brains to go with its impeccable looks and presentation. It has been a busy year for third-person action adventures, but ACII can comfortably sit at the front of the pack with the likes of Uncharted 2 and Batman. An exemplary sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great game, 9 April 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
First, let me say that this is a big improvement over the first Assassin's Creed. Visually great, the first game was so repetitive that it got old quick. They fixed a lot of that this time around, and it's:

A) A better story
B) A more engaging play-through (i.e. less repetitive), and more interesting missions.
C) Even better visually
D) A clever use of some real historical events and locations for any history buffs out there.
E) More weapons and moves make for more creative and interesting play.

I really enjoyed my first play-through and think it's one of the better PS3 games I've gone through Trophie are fairly easy to get aswell, i have 91% without really trying.

I sometimes get frustrated and scream at my TV with Ezio jumps completely the wrong way, or won't climb, or does something moronic and falls into the waters of Venice. Otherwise, it's practically flawless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars assassins creed 2, 21 Feb 2010
By 
Neil Brennan "garion" (Rochdale, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
a slow start to the game but once past this point it soon picks up. there are many new features and the story line is good. it is more challenging than the first one and has alot more for you to, it is not as repetative as the first game. you can develop your own style of play and look and there is alot more accesories and gadgets for you to try out. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Improvement!, 23 Oct 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
Far more varied than the previous game, more to do and a more open feel. The storyline is still a bit baffling with a lot of threads and dozens of characters. The setting of mid 15th century renaissance Italy is excellent and there is a good database of interesting snippets along the way to aid immersion into the game world.
The fighting system is more advanced and the weapons more varied, the free running also seems to flow better, and the environment is better designed to allow long sequences and fewer dead ends.

The biggest improvement though for me is down to the overall flow of the game with (so far) very little going back to the modern day events. Again this aids with the immersion element, one of the main criticisms from the previous game.

If you didnt play the original, you play an young assassin trying to avenge the murders of family members and stumbling on a complex time-spanning conspiracy along the way. it involves a lot of free-running (jumping,climbing etc) around a 3d sandbox style environment (beautifully rendered) and using your innate and newly aquired assassin skills and tools to uncover the conspiracy and find the murderers. You are mostly free to perform tasks in different ways, using stealth to avoid conflict, tactics to negate the enemy or face-to-face confrontation.

I'd certainly reccommend it to anyone, it is easy to pick up and will give a good long play life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AC2, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Luke Thrower (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
Assassins creed 2 is of course the sequel to the Altairs adventures in number one. The first game had a lot of critics due to repetitive gameplay, glitches and the cut scenes taking forever, thankfully these problems have been resolved and ubisoft have pushed the boat out to thank all those who have returned , and too get an understanding of the back story and feeling of the game i would recommend the first game, its very cheap and a nice playthrough, but this isnt a review for that so lets go.....

===Story===
Well carrying on from the last game, in the present you are desmond miles, an ordinary man who has been taken to a research lab and thrown into the animus, a computer which allows him to playthrough his ancestors memories, however the lab is under-attack from the aincent templars and their control of the pieces of eden.
In the animus , you are Ezio Auditore from florentina , son of a banker and known for his womanising, drinking and general mischief. Ezio is not an assassin , unlike altair. and learns the ways from codex pages decrypted by leonardo da vinci and his uncle mario. As things occur Ezio becomes more of an assassin and goes on the trail of those who have sinned against him in many different cities in rennaisance italy.

===Controls===
The control system takes getting used to if you havnt experienced the first game , but soon becomes very intuitive. The action buttons control the body:
The triangle button controls your head (Eagle vision, headbutting and talking)
The square button controls your weapon hand ( fighting and assassinations)
The circle button is your non weapon hand (grabbing people, interacting and pushing through a crowd)
The cross button controls the legs (running , jumping)
Along with the use of r1 and l1, you can then sprint , counter and much more.

===Gameplay===
The gameplay is very smooth and fighting mechanics work very well. Ezio moves with ease as you take him running through the streets and jumping from one building to the next. When fighting in big groups you have to really time your actions and you even have the ability to disarm your enemies (which come in all different classes) and use their weapons against others. The assassanations can be done in two ways stealth and planning or killing everyone in your path, i prefer the stealth as it feels rewarding to get in and out without many people noticing.
The cut scenes are also not as long as the first game and they seem to serve much more purpose.
The repetitiveness is also lowerd as there are many more different missions to such as delivering packages , doing assassinations outside of your story and the noteriety system means you have to work harder to be another face in the crowd. When your level of notoriety rises , guards are more alert to you and so to lower this you should rip down wanted posters , kill high ranked guards or bribe the heralds so they speak about other things.
The use of money now means you can buy groups to fight with you , or women to distract guards, it also means you can buy different weapons and armour, or pay off the annoying bards who will follow you singing songs.
You can also now blend into any group which is much improved from the first game where you had to wait for monks to walk by.
===Graphics===
The graphics are very good in this game , the buildings , the cities and the people are all very realistic and it makes it so exciting to be running around in the knowledge that the levels are based on true maps and designs. Add to this the bustling streets and the different areas you just become overwhelmed and i have many a time , taken a break from my killing spree and just wanderd the streets looking at the hard work of the developers. The way shadows and clothes move are amazing and cause the game to be quite intencse, when your hiding and see a brute of guard and his axe shimmering against the wall near you/
The cut scenes in this game are actually worse looking than the true game which seems strange , this does take a little away from the experience but as they are not too long it does not ruin it.

===Sound===
Ahh the sounds of renaissence italy , as you walk the streets you will see how good the sound is , everyone walking past has their own conversations about their lives and own reasons for being in a certain area, again it is sometimes fun just to relax and follow a group seeing what they get up to as they go to church and shop at stalls or go and see the criers.
The sounds of weapons clanging against each other is also exciting and fun, the clarity of the words is also great as usually there is alot of action going around, the option of subtitles is there too which comes in handy as their are sections where they talk alot of italian.

===Overall===
Overall this is a great game and to complete fully will take a long time , especially if you search for the feathers and statues.
The game is very good but the small things like the cut scenes and the room for development in the next game (yes this is a trio of games) means there is something to look forward too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Story - Brilliant Graphics - Brilliant!, 1 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
VFM this game will be hard to beat.

Following on from the 1st Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) game you are venturing round Italy in the 1400's. Of course....although this is where the Game is set, this only exists in the Animus. The real time line is 'in the future'....just.

You spend the first part of the game building up your Assassin skills. As you progress and find codex you improve your weapons. Your weapons get improved by none-other than Leonardo Da Vinci. He seems happy to upgrade and alter your hidden blade with a number of cool additions not seen the first game.

To start with you complete missions to earn cash (florins) and these can be spent in various shops on art/maps/weapons/armor/health/poison. After the first mission you are taken to your uncle's Villa where you can spend money with an architect who will rebuild the run-down town and make it thrive again. The more item's you buy, the more money your town earns in tourism. This money can be collected and then spent in the shops/upgrades.

Like the first game your missions generally follow on from one-another. Once you kill the main 'boss' on the level he tells you who he was working for and you then go after them. Each location has a number of side missions which earn you more money to spend. These can be races, assassination contracts, beating up an unfaithful husband. Each completed mission gives you extra cash and more cash means you can restore more of the village...which then gives you more cash! There is a limit to the amount of tourist florins that can be stored so you need to head back to the villa to collect your 'earnings' on a regular basis.

Like Assasin's Creed (the first one) you can also hunt down the feathers, which are collected at the villa and, like weapons & artwork, earn you additional tourist money. You can also look out for Assassin's Tombs. These give you seals which are needed to release Altair's costume from his secure crypt. These tombs are hidden through-out Italy and are usually accessed through a number of dramatic climb/swing/free-running courses.

The storyline at the start of the game flips between their future (now) and the past in the Animus but as you progress you spend less time in the 'now' and more in the past. I did think that one of your helpers in the future looks a lot like Danny Wallace!

The end of the game features a dramatic climax which goes into a mind-blowing set-up for the 3rd game. I've not mentioned some key parts of the game as I don't want to ruin the storyline.

There are boats you can control as well as horses (like the first one!) but the inclusion of travel locations means you don't spend days riding a horse between 2 locations. The travel agents (!) do cost money but make moving between cities a breeze.

Get yourself this game. It is a massive improvement of the original Assassin's Creed and you will certainly get your money's worth from this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed 2 Great Game, 20 Dec 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
Could not wait to recieve this game even though the 1st game was quite repetitive. This game irons out those flaws of the original and brings much more. Da Vinci's Flying machine level was a highlight as well as the many other varied and exciting open world missions. Recommened for any Assassins Creed 1 fans and especially anyone new to the franchise.Will not dissapoint. My game of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars templars vs assassins, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II (PS3) (Video Game)
"My name is Desmond Miles. I'm a prisoner of war ... a war I never knew existed, waged by two groups I never thought were real - Templars and Assassins."

At the end of Assassin's Creed we left Desmond Miles still in the hands of Abstergo, a rescue attempt having failed. His time in the Animus has also had a strange effect on him, it has enabled him to use the "eagle vision" that his ancestor Altair had used and as he watches Dr Warren Vidic and his assistant Lucy Stillman walk away Vidic has a red aura - enemies show in red.

Desmond must try to escape from Asbergo before they decide he is of no further use to them (like his 16 predecessors), but before be can think of what to do Lucy returns and puts him back into the animus and we witness the birth of Ezio Auditore Da Firenze. Ezio will be Desmond's new animus alter-ego, and Renaissance Italy will be his play-ground.

One of the best things about the AC games, for me, is the freedom-to-roam game play. You play the game at your pace and you can travel anywhere within the map (providing you have completed the necessary steps to open the area).

There are a number of mini side games - all available as you:

- villa statues - first of the collectables - collect all eight and place on their stands to receive hidden treasure along with a trophy "myth maker"

- glyphs - find the glyphs, solve the puzzles and discover what subject 16 left behind

- feathers - collect all 100 feathers and receive a special gift from Ezio's mother (if you collect and return more than 50 feathers you will receive a gift from Ezio's uncle)

- codex pages - to see what Altar did once he had the apple of eden

- seals - raid the Assassin's tombs and recover the 6 seals to get Altair's armour.

- paintings - purchase the latest and famous artworks and decorate the Villa Monteriggioni

- collect all the treasures and gain a trophy

There are many trophies to collect, for example "street cleaner" hide bodies in the piles of hay, and so on, and after a while you will receive the "street cleaner" trophy. Some of these trophies are automatic (you get them for completing a chapter of Ezio's life), some are easier to discover than others. I doubt I have discovered them all.

The controls are extremely natural to use (I'm a beginner at this game playing so the controls had to be easy to handle and they were).

With the "Platinum Edition" you receive the downloadable areas (DLC) as standard on the disc, meaning that you can use them without having to spend the extra money for a download. These are: "Battle for Forli", "Bonfire of the Vanities" and "Templar Lairs".

Remember to repair "Monteriggioni" to increase Ezio's income and allow him to purchase upgrades for armour and weaponry faster, as well as throwing coins to distract enemies, and bribe heralds. You need to return to the Villa and speak to Claudia in order to get your income and this can be a bit-of-a-bind when you are doing something else and keep getting the on-screen reminders that your income has reached the maximum.

When I played the Resident Evil games (on the Wii and more recently on PS3) I didn't think any other game franchise would be able to captivate me as much - that was until I started playing Assassin's Creed. Once I started playing AC I was hooked, not just by the game play but by the story too.

Assassin's Creed 2 has taken that further than I thought possible. I like the new avatar character of Ezio and the Renaissance period. I know an amount that period and it is interesting to see how they have linked it all together.

It is a superb game. One that has built on AC with both game play and story rather than regurgitating the same game play, or completely altering the game play that it is known for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed II (PS3)
Assassin's Creed II (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews