Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A step forward in Action/Strategy
Those of you that have not played Battlestations Midway (the prequel to Pacific) will be in for a huge surprise with this game that blends both action and strategy together to defeat your foes in air,sea and under-sea. Fans of the previous game will also find that graphics, audio and the general feel of the game have all been greatly improved, also with a variety of extra...
Published on 14 May 2009 by James Traynor

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good! But has a fatal flaw....
Ok, first off this is an interesting way of combining RTS and FPS games, you can just as easily operate a plane as you can set your forces to move, patrol, attack targets..etc

What also suprised me was the amount of vehicles at my disposal. I had planes, ships, submarines and in quite a few instances, weapons on land. You could get in a plane eqiupped to deal...
Published on 6 July 2009 by D. Ashton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A step forward in Action/Strategy, 14 May 2009
By 
James Traynor "Jimmy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Those of you that have not played Battlestations Midway (the prequel to Pacific) will be in for a huge surprise with this game that blends both action and strategy together to defeat your foes in air,sea and under-sea. Fans of the previous game will also find that graphics, audio and the general feel of the game have all been greatly improved, also with a variety of extra game-modes and multiplayer extras.

The game has 2 singleplayer campaigns, American and Japanese. You can relive history as the Americans or rewrite as the Japanese which brings an extra twist to the game. Also with the introduction of "Skirmish" mode into Battlestations vastly lengthens the game and gives it much mroe of a replay value than that of the first one. If you are a novice of the Battlestations genre then the controls might be a bit difficult to start off with but anyonre who has played and enjoyed the first Battlestations will be at least familiar with the controls and what the units do, whether its firing your broadsides on a battleship or conducting a torpedo run on an enemy carrier.

As mentioned previously the graphics and audio have had a complete over-haul and now both look and sound much better. The water effects are especially impressive. The game has also introduced the option of "Night Battles" which means that your ships sway in the waves of the sea. This not only is a good idea but looks spectacular.

However, with all of these great points there must be some flaws. During the campaign the player may seem as if some of the missions drag on a little bit. Earlier on I said how the audio had greatly improved it has, but not all of it. The sound-effects of explosion and planes are great but the voice acting isnt.

Overall this is a great and enjoyable game, easily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What the game always should have been,...., 18 May 2009
By 
J. Ryan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I liked the original incarnation of Midway but always felt it was a bit lacking in terms of graphics and strategy. This new release has resolved these issues.
Graphics, whilst not mind-blowing are a far improvement on Midway and certainly add to the 'feeling' of the game. Sounds are marginally improved.
The game is played on two levels,.. 1. As a strategic map view with the ability to command your own units and view the unvieling theatre on both sides. 2. As an 'in action' unit view so you are able to take control of your vessel/aircraft. This is where Eidos have really improved things,.. the ships and aircraft have more 'feel' to them whether from the firepower, damage affect, or manoevring. Vessels such as Destroyers do hold more of a potential impact in the game than previously whilst maintaining their obvious vunerabilities.
The single player campaigns, even at Expert level are not really that challenging but do allow you to unlock further units for use in off and online games, so certainly worth seeing both US and Jap campaigns to the end. The choice of aircraft and vessels is massively improved as well, all adding to the online gameplay experience. The online match selection has improved with the ability to see the host's ping before joining the game,. so you do not end up with the predecessors issue of planes flying backwards etc. Equally the breadth of online gameplay has increased massively with many options such as siege, escort and islands(most popular online). The adoption of Command Points also means that the previous problem of having to hang around in the game for 40-odd minutes if you were destroyed early is negated (ie you could have 300 cp's which would buy you a couple of destroyers and a fighter,.. or just use it on a battleship - or adapt as the tides of war turns - all adds to the strategy)

Overall, excellent game if you like (relatively) strategic games.

The only real whinge is that sometimes your own AI can be poor,... such as you command a vessel to rejoin the fleet only to find precious minutes later that it is still trying to negotiate it's way round an island in a series of 50-point turns,...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for the novice and the experienced player, 13 Dec 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am not very good at many of the games that need good control of many functions at once. Probably my age. I still found this game enjoyable, especially in the training mode. Here you can practise away without being shot at and thus not getting frustrated too soon. Have not got into the campaigns as yet but I'm getting very good piloting a Hurricane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique combined fleet action!, 22 Sep 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been really enjoying this game. Taking control of either the US or Japanese navies, you fight the pacific campaign in a fantastically engaging way. The game really has three main aspects: real-time battle strategy, naval action and flight sim. The beautiful thing about this game is that most missions involve all three. While the flight sim aspect is not quite as realistic as something like Il2 Sturmovik, it is involving and detailed enough, and the action is pleasantly intense. At your own leisure, you can switch between air units and naval units, and can give orders to units you are not controlling directly. The naval aspect is terrificly exciting, and it's a rare pleasure (in the gaming world) to get to directly control a fleet of warships or a single vessel, firing the big guns and hunting submarines.
The game really comes alive when your objectives involve a combined aerial and naval assault. Poor planning can result in the loss of too many ships, and I've found myself in problems when I haven't used my forces to their strengths. Got to clear the beach before you send those marines in!
Considering the wide variety of vehicle types under your command, the control system is remarkably intuitive (although the lack of invert on the plane's elevator controls takes a while to get used to if you're a flight sim fan) and easy to get to grips with. The strategy aspect, as we would hope, is slightly more challenging, but it is sometimes possible to win battles using brawn and guts rather than brains and foresight. The visuals are as good as they need to be, although the lack of cockpit detail is perhaps slightly dissapointing. However, when weighed against the seriously vast playing areas, you begin to forget about it. The mission environments are vast. The difficulty curve is pretty much spot-on. You are eased into the nature of the game, but the later missions are really quite challenging. There is also a peculiar thrill when playing as the Japanese, re-writing history as your navy moves ever closer to domination of the pacific.

Overall, this game comes highly recomended to anyone who enjoys battle strategy or military combat games. In fact, the diverse nature of the game is something that people like me have been crying out for for some time. You are in total control of the action, from calling in air support to launching you carrier planes to using your subs to attack enemy convoyes to engaging in full-on pitched battles, war fleet to war fleet. A fine game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battleships!!!!!, 3 May 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Can't get them off this game!!!! Is excellent, very enjoyable. Arrived promptly and in excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic World War II Game., 3 May 2010
By 
SteveP (bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Graphics are very good given it was produce a few years ago, I think 2006? Checkout the fan website, very good, link contained within authors website. This is a very cleverly structured game in that the player can progress through the military ranks. Have only just started the game, but impressed with what I have seen so far! Very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good! But has a fatal flaw...., 6 July 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok, first off this is an interesting way of combining RTS and FPS games, you can just as easily operate a plane as you can set your forces to move, patrol, attack targets..etc

What also suprised me was the amount of vehicles at my disposal. I had planes, ships, submarines and in quite a few instances, weapons on land. You could get in a plane eqiupped to deal out torpedos, or bombs; you could get in a Battleship and blow the hell out of your foes, get in a PT boat and zip around shooting ships and planes alike, or launch planes from your aircraft carrier, or go deep underwater in a submarine and pop up behind your enemies.

Now, the fatal flaw; the text is too small. Having used this game on both a 9 inch and 36inch screen, I can attest that the game's text (IE, objective menus, tooltips, breifings...) too be so small so they are very difficult to read. I spent ages looking for a ship named Krha, when the real name was Zhao...it really is that difficult.

Some of the best multiplayer ever here, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Marcus (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My lad enjoys this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good game, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Duarte Cunha Silva (ORLANDO, FLORIDA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Its a very interesting and also very interactive game
Strategy at a new level
I've been playing it since Christmas and I didnt got bored ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360)
Battlestations Pacific (Xbox 360) by Eidos Interactive (Xbox 360)
£52.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews