Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tale of the early war in the Western Desert
I am a fan of films concerning WWII made during the war itself rather than afterwards. This film was released in 1943 and concerns the conflict in North Africa. This film has an almost "Kiplingesque" quality. It takes the form of a flashback with Jack Lambert as the platoon sergeant (Jack Watson) recounting to his trainees ("somewhere in England") an incident that he was...
Published 19 months ago by J. A. Stewart

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great when you receive 1 !
The DVD was great, sort of a funny story, really simple but sometimes you need something as innocent as this.

When I received # 2 and # 3 I became a bit concerned. I may have; in error; ordered a 2nd DVD but when the 3rd appeared I had to return it. Hopefully I will get my money back or a credit.
Published on 3 July 2012 by brigidcc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tale of the early war in the Western Desert, 27 Jan 2013
By 
J. A. Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of films concerning WWII made during the war itself rather than afterwards. This film was released in 1943 and concerns the conflict in North Africa. This film has an almost "Kiplingesque" quality. It takes the form of a flashback with Jack Lambert as the platoon sergeant (Jack Watson) recounting to his trainees ("somewhere in England") an incident that he was involved in earlier in the Western Desert. The point of his story is to show his recruits what their training is all about about and why he wants to give them that "little bit extra" (he describes it as "umpety poo" - being a corruption of "un petit peu" i.e. a little bit more).

The story he recounts is of when he and his men are stranded in the the desert by an enemy plane wrecking their lorry and having to make their way to safety on foot. they are caught in a sandstorm and take shelter in an old tomb; enter an Italian patrol and the action commences and the readiness to show that "umpety poo" on the part of his men saves the day.

It is not a story full of mock heroism and histrionics; it does what is was intended to do: convey a calm confidence in the "ordinary fighting man and training methods". There is a degree of good humour, and a strong portrayal of social mix in both platoons to convey the notion that it was everyman's war. The men of Watson's platoon come across as totally believable human beings - as do the group he is presently training for combat.

Such films had to work and work well; their audience would have consisted of both civilians and service personnel - any stupid attempts to pretend that war was all rock-jawed heroism with our guys winning and never a sign of death or wounds would have been laughed out of the cinema and would have failed in its morale boosting aim. It is interesting to note that at the end the service ranks of some of the actors are given against their names in the credits - yet another reinforcement of the notion that the film was "telling it as it was".

It was particulalrly pleasant to see the young Gordon Jackson (a stalwart of those films e.g. "Millions like us" and "San Demetrio, London") giving yet another excellent performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nine Men, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
This is a short WWII story, recanted by the training Sergeant. Nine men isolated in the desert when their truck bogs down. They are attacked by the Italians and manage to hold out till support arrives. The moral to the trainees is never give up. Short at only 64 mins it is quite gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nine men, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
Anuther film i had been looking for for a long time for my collection. Very good film and at a good prise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 31 May 2013
By 
William Anderson "Will Anderson" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
A really great film, quite a rarity, enjoy seeing it over and over again. Highly recommended for a nostalgic afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nine Men is a cracking little film, 19 Jan 2010
By 
S. Mortimer (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
Nine Men was made during WWII but is not too gung ho despite this, it is quite realistic and the characterisations in particular make it very entertaining, you can watch it again and again.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B & W Film Fan, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Ms. Nicola J. Booth "Nicola" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
Realistic film, never saw it before, enjoyable. Will definitely watch it again. Good acting, good print and good sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAR NUMBER 2, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Ms. Sally C. Mitchell "RABBIT" (Swindon, WILTS, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
fILMED DURING WW2 this film was a good story about 9 men as the title says. it starts off at a training barracks somewhere in the UK. But whilst the chaps are changing into there dry uniforms after a day running the assault course, the Sgt says a word Tickety Boo. (hope i spelt that right).and then the scene changes to when the word came into realality.
I bought the dvd because the film intrigue me one i had never seen it and i like Gorden Jackson. Who is the youngest in this film.
It can been seen by all the family no gore and i would reccomend it to my friendsn and family. It's a fil;m that you have to decide wether you either like or dislike, for yourself, personally i liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great when you receive 1 !, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine Men [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was great, sort of a funny story, really simple but sometimes you need something as innocent as this.

When I received # 2 and # 3 I became a bit concerned. I may have; in error; ordered a 2nd DVD but when the 3rd appeared I had to return it. Hopefully I will get my money back or a credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nine Men [DVD]
Nine Men [DVD] by Harry Watt (DVD - 2010)
14.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews