Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "If you could make someone love you, would you?"
Timothy (Tanner Cohen) is a senior in an all-boys prep school, where he is tormented by all the jocks, one of whom he has a crush on. He lives in a small town; his mother is struggling with the idea of her son's attractions; but he has the support of two unconventional best friends. Sound familiar? It should, since this describes the generic coming-out story to which we...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Son of Nietzsche

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too demanding
This is a nice film,with pleasant characters and a happy ending. Three stars is perhaps a bit harsh, but I think that four would be over the top.
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by Gay Londoner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "If you could make someone love you, would you?", 19 May 2009
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Timothy (Tanner Cohen) is a senior in an all-boys prep school, where he is tormented by all the jocks, one of whom he has a crush on. He lives in a small town; his mother is struggling with the idea of her son's attractions; but he has the support of two unconventional best friends. Sound familiar? It should, since this describes the generic coming-out story to which we are overly-accustomed by now. Five minutes into the film, however, Timothy bursts into song - in the vein of 'High School Musical', we are entering different territory...

The school's controversial English teacher (exquisitely played by Wendy Robie) is putting on a production of Shakespeare's 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - compulsory for all the senior students. Cast in the role of Puck amidst an unwilling troupe of rugby players, Timothy stumbles upon a love potion and administers it to all the actors in the play. The erstwhile-'straight' object of his affections, Jonathon, becomes his devoted love-slave, the formerly-homophobic athletes are in one another's arms, and suddenly half the town is filled with unlikely same-gender cravings. While Timothy is delighted to be no longer the outsider, inevitably fissures start to appear in his fantasy when the love potion causes trouble between his two best friends, and his mother almost loses her job. But is he willing to reverse the magic and, in the process, lose Jonathon?

Various sub-plots abound; none of which deviate from the standard coming-out script. Nevertheless, the unique touch of the film - the musical genre mixed with a little fantasy - proves highly engaging. Nothing earth-shattering here, just strong entertainment and tremendous good fun; bound to be a crowd-pleaser.

DVD extras include the short film, 'Fairies' (25 minutes) on which the feature-length film was based (also directed by Tom Gustafson).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were The World Mine, Films Like This Would Be As Big As Moulin Rouge, 4 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It's funny what a small budget does to divide opinion-so many think if it ain't box-office it's not worth the trouble. For my money, however, the multiplexes are usually a destination where most decent films will never end up. 'Moulin Rouge' was a big risk, naturally, for bringing back the long defunct musical genre was nothing short of brave (or tragic?), but this smaller film is doing something far more important, not least cos it proves a movie can work for all audiences if they just put in the time and patience and that musicals don't have to have you cringing with embarrassment and annoyance-and they don't have to star a slimy, girly-looking and insufferably smug Zacariah Efron (or Ef-off as I know her). But I wouldn't want to give the full impression that this is a full musical-rather it's a superbly realised coming-of age story that takes overfamiliarity and swerves it off into areas that touch on whimsical, tender, tough and perhaps a little fantastcial, but always sprinkled generously with humour and spirit, with the underlying plea for a little more open-mindedness. (The distributor could do with some-especially as they ran scared of the charming front cover appearing in the US as it does in other territories, including the UK. This crazy nonsense has already been touched on in other reviews here and I'm not surprised).

I realise I've said little about the story, but others here have, and baring in mind a whole host of reviews have flew on here since I got it in late December, I'm sure they've done the job for me already. It's safe to add, though, that anyone looking for a little refreshening of the 'rites-of-passage' would do no worse to immerse themselves with this delightful charmer of a movie, and lead actor Tanner Cohen is a delightful charmer too, and I feel sad that a wonderful film like this will not be the launching pad for a career explosion of great roles for him, but then he's already proved his worth by jumping into something so brave like this so early on and doing it with complete conviction. The other actors-the footballing stud who doesn't run to bullying type, his mother (Jill Larson), her odd beauticianist employer (Judy McClane) and best friends (Zelda Williams, Ricky Goldman) all chip in something of real worth and bring this charming little town to life. The staging of a 'Midsummer Night's Dream' is a fine launchpad for a little same-sex induced love-potion pollinating the air, courtesy of English/Drama teacher Wendy Robie-and for anyone who knows her as the wonderfully warped addition to many fine horror films (most noticeably Wes Craven's wickedly fun and nasty 'People Under The Stairs' from way back in 1991), seeing her marvellously understated and heartfelt performance in a film so shockingly at complete odds with her usual credits will probably need a moment to catch their breath-then a sigh of surprise, as you realise you may have enjoyed school a bit more if she was your English teacher, where before this film was seen, you'd probably have crossed seas to avoid her!

I can't help but thinkng this was the movie director Tommy O'Haver would be dying of envy to have directed, but after 'Billy's Hollywood Screen Kiss' he broke through by played the 'Midsummer' theme fearfully safe with that more well-known high-school rom com 'Get Over It' to far less effect, good enough as it was for a high-school movie. Well tough mate, full marks to director Tom Gustafson efforts, his co-scripter and the stars. The costumes are cute and eye-catching, even the songs (and there aren't too many of those at all) are spirited and necessary and the actors are all in very fine voice indeed, not least Tanner Cohen and his big crush Nathaniel David Becker. The sparse extras (one doesn't expect more for meagre-budgeted, exquisitely made little charmers like this) include a director's commentary and the 'Fairies' short which the movie was based on. One of the best movies of 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected delight, 23 May 2009
By 
Mark Jones "Bigguyuk" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting too much from this film, so many non-sexual gay films are poorly written and very poorly acted (though there are exceptions), so i bought this half thinking it would be something i could sell on quickly if i didnt like, but to my surprise its going to stay in my DVD collection for years to come. A well acted, romantic, fun story, meshed between a sort of gay high school musical and A Midsummer Nights Dream, with a cute as hell male lead, some strong support from the older 'adult' cast members and at least a couple of catchy songs, its an enjoyable 90 minutes or so. Buy this, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too demanding, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a nice film,with pleasant characters and a happy ending. Three stars is perhaps a bit harsh, but I think that four would be over the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super for softies, 24 Jan 2010
By 
D. Padbury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a lovely film for those of a romantic disposition. Cleverly re-working Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream, writer/director Tom Gustafson has brought an 'Aaah' factor to a gay love story. The songs are memorable and beautifully written and the performances superb. Who knows, it might even change the minds of some homophobes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were The World Mine, 16 May 2009
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I saw this film in Santa Rosa, California, a couple of weeks ago and was so pleased that I didn't take the advice of the young man selling the film ticket 'to go to watch something else'. There were 6 of us in the audience. However, I thought this one of the most original and creative films I have seen. It was gentle, visually beautiful, and the music was great. The whole cast between them, created something that was quite magical. The story of A Mid Summer's Night Dream was woven into the story of small town stuffiness and prejudice. It is set in a High School and through magic and dreams manages to transcend and change all the pettiness it finds. Beautifully acted, beautifully sung, beautifully choreographed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inventive and Engaging Re-Imagining of a Classic, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A truly wonderful musical that often comes across as possessing a somewhat dream-like edge to the narrative. This modern-day take on Shakespeare's "A Midsummer Night's Dream" never fails to offer a fantastic viewing experience. The cast give a high-quality performance and the storyline is both poignant and moving throughout - a brilliant parable of contemporary love and acceptance. The music is also well crafted and further reinforces the dream-like vibe - the "Oh Timothy" moment in the classroom springs to mind! We've all been there, right?! I have to admit, the ending did surprise me the first time I saw this - that was a really good twist!

If you're unsure about this film - please check it out. It's a fantastic example of what a good script, attentive cast and supporting soundtrack can accomplish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fairytale, 20 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I had seen the short film before I saw his full time version and I must say I am postitively surprised.
I am not a big fan of musicals, but this film is a perfect combination of spoken and sung picture.
"Were the world mine" brings us a message - it is important to believe in your own dreams, because once in a while they come true. However, we should respect each other's will, which means that you can't make anybody to love.
Maybe it's a cliche for some, but after I had seen so many dreadful gay theme movies, this one was really re-freshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this film and the music was great, 30 Mar 2010
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This was the best film I had seen in ages. The actors were easy to follow and the music was great. I would recommend this 100% to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and discover someting so beautifull..., 19 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
No too much words... just discover this ! beautifull... brillan: director, actors and musics, lyrics... Touching like it's not..."normal" :)... The movie play with the texte of the "A midsummer night's dream" of Shakespeare... with humor, surprise, originality... Brillant !!! Sensible...adorable... The movie was do with not many money... and the success in some festivals was here !!! So, the movie was comes on screen on the U.S.A and the U.K. ... ang again... success... a very just success... Absolutely to discover quickly and to give all your friends!!!!!!!!!!!!... NOW !!!Were the World MineStar Trek XI (3-Disc Edition) with Bonus Digital Copy [Blu-ray] [2009]Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince [Blu-ray] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008]
Were the World Mine [DVD] [2008] by Parker Croft (DVD - 2009)
6.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews