Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An ordeal
I thought that I was a fairly seasoned gore hound, I was under the impression that I couldn't be shocked, I was wrong!

From the opening sequence of a bloody and battered young girl squealing and screaming, limping as fast as her brutalised body could manage, to get away from as yet undisclosed terrors, to the closing sequence which I had to have explained for...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Mr. Jp Scott-howes

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to stomach
This is an uncompromising film that, at times, is very uncomfortable to watch. The typical horror splatter gore of the main bulk of the film contrasts sharply with the brutal (but gore restrained) violence of the final act.

Am I glad I watched this film? Yes.

Will I be watching it again? No, not for a very long time anyway.
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by T. Newbery


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An ordeal, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Jp Scott-howes "Manson'sUglySon" (Tate Residence, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martyrs [DVD] (DVD)
I thought that I was a fairly seasoned gore hound, I was under the impression that I couldn't be shocked, I was wrong!

From the opening sequence of a bloody and battered young girl squealing and screaming, limping as fast as her brutalised body could manage, to get away from as yet undisclosed terrors, to the closing sequence which I had to have explained for me by my sister's fiance, as my hand was firmly up in front of my face, because frankly I couldn't watch any more, Martyrs is a thoroughly engaging and compelling examination of human suffering.

What it isn't however is enjoyable. This film was far too brutal, gritty and nasty for me. A Saturday night ought never to involve watching a young girl tied to a chair in a dirty warehouse being slapped around her already bloody and bruised face.

By an hour or so in, though I felt violated by this film, I still felt that I could deal with it, then the movie shifts gears and from the last half hour goes down a hithero (to me anyway) unexpected path and that was when I started to really struggle. The last third of Martyrs is one of the most terrible, horrible, awful, vile things that I've ever put myself through, yet it is substantially less gory than the hour which preceeds it, there is no way of me explaining how this is possible with spoiling things for you, so you shall have to take my word for it.

Though this wasn't for me I have given it four stars because in many ways it is a brilliant film. It is incredibly original and sumptuously filmed and edited with a rawness that lends an extra veneer of grit to a movie which is already rotten with cutting edge ideas and envelope pushing concepts.

I would thoroughly recommend this to people who enjoy utter darkness, rawness and brutality in their movies. I shall return to collecting Troma films, safe on the knowledge that there are limits to what I consider to be entertainment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to stomach, 7 Dec 2010
By 
T. Newbery "Ageing Gamer" (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martyrs [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an uncompromising film that, at times, is very uncomfortable to watch. The typical horror splatter gore of the main bulk of the film contrasts sharply with the brutal (but gore restrained) violence of the final act.

Am I glad I watched this film? Yes.

Will I be watching it again? No, not for a very long time anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martyrs obtains martyrdom, 29 May 2009
By 
Mr. A. J. Messenger "queen_adreena12" (Walsall, WM, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martyrs [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film last night around a friend's house. I knew nothing about it and was really not that interested in watching a film, however, by the end I was glad that I had not protested.

This film is a rollercoaster of emotions and revelations. Beginning with a young girl who has been abused running out of a industrial building screaming is some opening. Move on 15 years later and she and her friend who you meet in the opening credits begin their journey creating a magnificent piece of French cinema.

I will not give any spoilers away but this film puts films like Hostel and Saw to shame. The problem is that this film is not for everyone, it does take some thought to figure out what is going on and believe me your feelings for characters will change throughout.

By the end you feel like you have been Martyred as it is tough to endure if you let yourself slip into the story, which I might add is very believeable. Watch out for the photographs in the film, they are real and what is described are true events.

All in all 5/5, I've just purchased it myself for my collection, and it is a worthy addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the 2nd Most Disturbing Film of All Time, 29 July 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martyrs [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've no doubt that the Japanese movie, Audition (which I've reviewed elsewhere), is the most challenging and disturbing film which I've ever seen. I think that Martyrs comes a very close second. In recent years, the French have been right up there with the Japanese and Koreans, in producing movies which many laud or denigrate as "torture-porn", and which test one's personal limits for viewing graphic scenes of violence. The French have given us Irreversible, Switchblade Romance and Frontiers (all commendable, beautifully shot, well acted, and thought provoking), but I think that Martyrs surpasses all of them. At the outset, early 1970's, a young French girl named Lucie escapes from a derelict warehouse, having been beaten almost to a pulp. She ends up being treated in a psychiatric ward, where she makes friends with Anna. The two of them become like sisters. 15 years later, Lucie is sure that she has traced the people who tortured her, a middle class couple with kids in a nice big house. Lucie turns up on their doorstep and goes to work on the family with a shotgun, the mayhem is extremely gory and gives you a flavour of what is to come. I won't give away too much else of the film. But, suffice it to say, you learn about a secret organisation, that imprisons and tortures people, to learn the limits of what the human spirit can endure. There is a secret world of hideous experimentation on poor lost souls, and Lucie finds herself trapped back in that world. This film has the usual style and panache of a French film (think Luc Besson in Leon or Nikita), the lead actors are engrossing, the story is full of myriad twists and turns, and it deals with troubling and unpleasant issues, including self-mutilation, needless surgery, and the most extreme of psychological traumas. Be under no illusions, this is a serious work of horror, some will walk out of the room (like I did watching Audition, but not this film), and some may think the film is sick and borderline misogynistic, but it is a breath-taking standard bearer for how modern horror can challenge the mental strength of even the most avid viewers of this particular sub-genre. A brilliant horror film, best watched on an empty stomach and with a stiff brandy to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva La Brutality, 22 Mar 2010
This review is from: Martyrs [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Prepare to be disturbed and, quite possibly, offended and sickened.

Over the last decade, French horror film makers have been pushing the envelope in terms of extreme violence and gore with offerings such as Switch Blade Romance (High Tension in the USA), Frontiers, Inside and many others. These films have something of a cult following in the horror underground, with their ability to flawlessly blend extreme violence & bucket-loads of blood with top class direction, acting and cinematoraphy.
Hollywood has also taken notice by hiring the likes of Alexandre Aja (Switch Blade romance) to helm big budget gore-fests such as The Hills Have Eyes remake, Mirrors and the up-coming Pirhana 3D.
So you have to ask the question, after watching some of the above films, what can be done to upstage the violence and high-quality film-making of these blood thirsty delights?

The Answer is Martyrs

The film begins with a young girl, Lucie, escaping from an industrial torture chamber, crying and screaming as she runs for her life. We then see the poor girl begin her new life in a mental institution, no-doubt severly traumatised by the events that lead her to the hospital. Despite the horror she has been subjected to, Lucy manages to open up enough to make her only friend within the hospital, Anna. It is here, at the hospital, that we begin to see just what kind of impact has been left with young Lucie and what scars she carries (both mentally and physically). Fast forward about 20 years later, and we see a happy suburban family, sat at breakfast and innocently talking within the family unit. The door bell rings, the father answers the door, a grown-up Lucie stands in the doorway and...........

Well, lets just say that from this point onwards, the Merde hits the fan Bigtime!
To say anymore would ruin the suprises and thrills that you will experience. What I will say is that the film crosses many horror sub-genres, incorporating torture-style themes seen in films such as Hostel and Saw. It has a great suspence flowing through it to compete with French horror film 'Them' (another excellent French horror counter-part) and Martyrs even has undertones of Japanese-style-horror with seemingly twisted ghostly Apparitions.

Make no mistake, Martyrs is an incredibly well-written and masterfully-directed film with superb artistic flourishes and cinematography to rival anything seen in the most expensive Hollywood block buster. It looks gorgeous and barely lets you catch your breath when it gets going. This is not a film that puts aside story or profesional film-making, in order to make way for lots of pointless gore to keep the Fan-Boy's happy.
Then there's the acting. I think the word 'brave' best describes the two main female leads, Mylène Jampanoļ & Morjana Alaoui, who corageously took on the roles of Lucie and Anna (possibly not aware of what lay in store for them) as the film demands much of their emotions through anger, hate to sadness and even love.

Martyrs is not for everyone. The film starts at a breath-taking pace, covering lots of story and action within the first 40-50 minutes, before slowing right down and steadily building back up to the gruesome, shocking climax. If you are a fan of "real" horror and not afraid to put yourself through 100 minutes of mayhem and ultra-violence, then there is no real way that you will not like Martyrs. It will simply have everything you have ever looked for in a horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 3 July 2009
By 
DBT "dt" (God's Own County) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Martyrs [DVD] (DVD)
Once again, I am compelled to write a review of a horror film. Until recently I thought the horror genre was dying, if not dead, despite clutching at occasional offerings such as `Mum and Dad' and `Eden Lake' both of which offered hope and a possible new direction in the horror genre. Whilst not necessarily a fan of torture porn, I think it is here to stay and at first, I thought `Martyrs' promised little more than misogynistic uberviolence.
But it's not. The plot leads you by a clammy hand through twists and turns, and whereas the mental illness angle was relatively easy to second guess, the second half of this genre jumping film was completely unpredictable. This is vicious, viscous, cerebral horror, horror to make you think, horror which really does leave mental scars. You might not want to, but you must make yourself watch this film to the end. Even now, I'm still struggling to come to terms with the basic philosophical thoughts which underpin this work and the absolute realism and attention to detail which informs the viewer throughout. Sitting through the second half, I wondered if this film was a step too far, considered that there ought to be tighter censorship laws governing these violent and sickening representations: the fact that the denouement made me, transiently, consider that the process I had witnessed justified the end result, worries me. This is a film about the unspeakable and the ultimate justification of the unspeakable and your own, eventual, compliance with the unspeakable.
I have deliberately not given any of the plot away, because on one level a good plot serves primarily to communicate ideas and move us towards them, and this film is a film of ideas, ideas so old they could be said to underpin the fabric of our society. If you are a horror aficionado, if you want to have your boundaries stretched, if you feel you have become complacent in your attitude towards a genre you thought was failing, then this is the film for you. This is a film that returns horror to its rightful place, on the top shelf, restricted. This is no fifteen certificate, this is horror grown up. Horror was never meant for social gatherings, shared bon hommie, popcorn in packed cinemas. DVD is the perfect format: we shouldn't want to share the darker sides of ourselves in public, lest we reveal ourselves to be actually enjoying something forbidden. This is certainly not a film for everyone, and I praise Pascal Laugier for that: uncompromisingly adults only - and so much the better for it, this isn't a film where any concessions have been made to taste or decency. This is European horror, deeper than society or sorority. This is streets ahead of the commercialised big budget American market where profit margins dilute content and result in `MTV Horror'. Horror isn't werewolves or vampires; horror is humanity, it's history, it's us. This is New Horror which takes us to the places we recognise in our neighbour, Josef Fritzl. An outstanding, marvellously sickening and deep contribution to my collection which leaves recent cause célèbres floundering in the shallows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Disturbing and Thoughtful- Martyrs., 6 Jun 2009
By 
A. Huntly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martyrs [DVD] (DVD)
To start off with, this is not a movie like Hostel or Saw. If you are looking for something like either of these movies, turn back now.

I may aswell get this out of the way first. Martyrs is not the goriest movie ever made, not even close. However, it may be one of the most brutal movies ever made. You will not see excessive blood splats, or heads being lopped off. You will, however, see some extreme brutality.

There is, thankfully, no awful depravity. No graphic rape, or sexual assualts or anything you may see in some god awful Rob Zombie film. There is some to an extent, but nothing off putting.

People have gone into detail about the plot on other reviews, so for this one, I shall stick to the actual movie.

This is not torture porn. This is true, powerful movie making. Unfortunatly because it happens to be French, and a violent horror movie, this is what this movie is being lumped into. This is terribly unfair, in fact for many horror films being released recently, but especcialy this one. It is perhaps one of the most thought provoking films I have seen in a VERY long time.

This is a very nihilistic, dark movie. For those rooting for a quick escape for either heriones will be sorely dissapointed. Martyrs pulls the rug out from under your feet every time you start to feel comfortable. You will be sitting and think 'Ah this is pegged for me now' and woosh, the film spirals and twists into something completely different.

The film has been critized for it's midway point twist. I found this to be very effective. It is a clear example of just how much the movie switches around on the viewer. Also, the point of the twist is not to carry on the story in a pitch perfect manner, but to further director Pascal Laugers message.

Ah yes, the message. Many seem to be missing it. But there is a message inside this movie. I will not spoil anything, but it all hinders on the final scene and line of the movie. The message is very powerful, and made all the stronger but the sheer, constant brutality the second half of the film delivers.

Overall, this is a very powerful and very dark piece of French cinema. I hope this will be the final note on which the French horror genre goes out on, as this is the best of them. Darker than Frontiers, more thought provoking than Inside, and more enthralling than Switchblade Romance. An excellent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal and cruel beyond anything, 26 May 2014
This review is from: Martyrs (Amazon Instant Video)
It started as a young girl escaping from an torture shed which is a disturbing enough scene ..... but things get so much worse.

Gory throughout, it builds into a truly sad horrifying film.
I really would not watch this if you are easily disturbed, I'm not daring you - it really will haunt you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and deeply disturbing film., 15 May 2014
This review is from: Martyrs [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, Martyrs is the type of film that's guaranteed to shock it's viewer so it's not really recommended for those who have a weak stomach or is faint of heart. Pascal Laugier has created a deeply disturbing and powerful assault on the senses, his direction was quite good with some beautiful cinematography and lighting, and the performances from both Morjana Alaoui and Mylène Jampanoļ were both outstanding. The film begins by showing a young girl, bloodied and gaunt, running from some unspecified evil she's just escaped from. Shortly afterward, we flash forward to the girl as a young lady--Lucie (Mylène Jampanoļ, in an astonishing, heartbreaking performance), still too traumatized fifteen years later to sleep alone.

So she sleeps in the same room with her lifelong friend Anna (Morjana Alaoui, also delivered a terrific, haunting performance), who loves Lucie and is doing her best to empathize with her. But Lucie has a demon. A real one. One that chases her around and cuts her with knives and is generally evil and mean to her. Anna never sees the demon, but she goes along with Lucie when Lucie devises a plan to do what it takes to put it to rest. She must return to the heart of darkness and kill her childhood tormentors.

Lucie then goes out and massacres an entire family with a shot gun. At first, you believe she's bonkers, but we soon realize that the parents killed weren't whom they appear..far, far worse. But, Lucie hallucinates, believing that a mistreated victim she didn't rescue as a child after escaping from the place where she was tortured is always coming for her. Anna who witnesses the aftermath of the slaughter, attempts to clean up the mess, while mortified at such a grisly crime scene.. It's here that the movie gets really interesting due to the way it begins to defy expectations. Martyrs is yet another vicious, dementedly violent masterpiece that the French can call their own, and possibly the most brutal one yet!

The highly original premise cannot be compared with any other modern horror flick, even though some scenes were reminiscent of Hostel, both films were entirely different. It's not your typical torture porn as it is much more than that. Martyrs is truly a brilliant film, with good actors and a good story. The thesis is that if a person can survive extremes of pain and deprivation, new vistas may be opened to them.

It's been long-held that the right side of the brain, the imaginative, creative side receives its flashes of insight or inspiration under extremes of stress a different kind of martyrdom. It may be that there's some truth in the theory. Whatever the case, it's a topic worth exploring, and "Martyrs" does a pretty good job of it. While the brutality was sometimes hard to watch, the underlying theme rendered it all fascinating, unlike so many pointless torture pics it actually makes you think. Martyrs was truly a fantastic film that's guaranteed to shock and disturb horror fans out there as it will make you think about it for days later, it's definitely one of my favorite French horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Violence and gore in a boring kinda way., 28 Mar 2014
By 
R. Fry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martyrs (Amazon Instant Video)
Too much emphasis on shocking it's audience and not enough on dialogue and plot. The idea is good but I think it is too far fetched to be really scary or shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martyrs [DVD]
Martyrs [DVD] by Pascal Laugier (DVD - 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews