Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch Film For All
This is a film I watched on C4 long ago and had forgotten all about it. A chance encounter with its title made me buy it. I watched uniterrupted. A very humane story of sexual exploitation has been beautifully and very realistically depicted. Direction, actng and narration is of highest grade. Most harrowing was watching one of the girl mecilesly thrown in water who...
Published on 12 May 2011 by A. Kumar

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trade
Quite well done, dragged a bit in parts, and some bits - where he goes to buy the girl - are risible, but otherwise quite well done. A good expose of what is a blight on our civilisation.
Published on 21 April 2012 by B. J. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch Film For All, 12 May 2011
By 
A. Kumar "Book Lover" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trade [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film I watched on C4 long ago and had forgotten all about it. A chance encounter with its title made me buy it. I watched uniterrupted. A very humane story of sexual exploitation has been beautifully and very realistically depicted. Direction, actng and narration is of highest grade. Most harrowing was watching one of the girl mecilesly thrown in water who drowns as she did not know swimming. Just put yourself in her position for a while and the enormity of the horror will become a sort of nightmare. We may ask , does this sort of thing really happens ? Answer is yes and it happens on industrial scale. Recently in my town eight East European girls were rescued. The pimps ranged in age from 23 to 64 years.
A must watch film, and it must be shown in Eastern European countries in schools and homes to make every girl aware of this despicable trade and warn them to remain on guard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film of hard subject matter!, 27 Nov. 2010
By 
P. WILLIAMS "huggy bear" (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trade [DVD] (DVD)
I personally think that Director Marco Kreutzpainter has handled what is after all a difficult and sensitive subject with great care and consideration and yet present a film that keeps the viewer interested completely all the way through, waiting to see if either Adriana OR Veronica will manage to avoid their horrible fates? BEWARE SPOILERS. With Veronica (Alicja Bachleda) having bought her way into Mexico on the promise and high expectancy of a well-paid job that she hoped was going to provide a secure life for her and her young son, she and another Polish girl are met at the airport where they are bundled into a PSV. The other girl escapes but runs into a vehicles path and is killed.Veronica is taken to a safe house where Adriana is. Adriana(Paulina Gaitan) is a 12yr old Mexican schoolgirl kidnapped off the street while riding her new bike, a present from her brother. Nobody saw the kidnap which took place on the territory of a different Gang-boss to where she lived.Veronica is raped and beaten at the safe house to introduce her to the ways of the criminals and to teach her to obey.......or else!She is told the gang know her address in Poland and where her son can be found, he can be introduced to the same life unless she does as she is told. What can she do? What will she do? What will happen to Adriana, will she be saved or sold to the sex trade? Brilliantly acted by Kevin Kline, Cesar Ramos, Kate Del Castillo, Mario Perez, Pasha Lychnikoff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Money, it's a hit. Dont give me that do goody good b...,, 27 Jun. 2008
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Money, it's a hit. Dont give me that do goody good b..., June 26, 2008

I liked this movie. Not because of the inherent qualities of it as a movie but because of the message it was trying to convey.

Judging from some of the reviews out there some people are trying to make more out of implied politics than it genuinely contained.

The fact of the matter is that there are slaves in the world and some of them live in our world, whether we like it or not. Some of the best selling non-fiction works of the last few years have been about the trafficking of people across borders. Every once in a while a story surfaces about people who abuse slaves in their homes IN AMERICA, people who are often good citizens.

The dramatisation in this story does leave something to be derired but it is a very human tale of people who care in a commodity based world where the lives and existance of some people count for nothing. Indeed some of the reviews reflect that viewpoint.

In my view Trade does nothing more than open a chink in a blind. To get public attention on a worthwhile cause is difficult enough in a corporate media world and sometimes anything that can get a worthwhile message across to even a few people is worthwhile doing anyway.

Trade sends out an emotional message. Ask any mother how she would feel and act if her child was stolen and some understanding will be gained. If that message requires some additional drama to help than perhaps that is a good thing.

There is no such thing as a perfect movie, otherwise none of us would have anything to write about. I would encourage everyone who reads and writes on such pages as these to encourage as many people as possible to watch this movie and then to ask your local opinion formers what they are doing to end the scourge of slavery. And anyway, how many of us are aware of the slaves in our towns and cities? Are we so sure that such things could never happen where we live?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film on a horrific subject, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
Pablo (Co. Down/ Navarra) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trade [DVD] (DVD)
This film has everything. Suberb acting. Drama that will make the 2 hours length seem like minutes. An emotional pitch throughout that will move anyone with a heart. And a profound message underlying everything without imposing. No spoilers here: otherwise I would write a lot more. This is a story of sex trafficking, the cruelty and mercilessness of the traffickers (some of whom are nonetheless still human!), and the pain and suffering of the victims. It is also a story of love, and caring, and humanity in a vicious, depraved world. Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars important film, 25 Jan. 2008
By 
R. Lawrence - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
a beautifully observed and acted film which highlights the global problem of human trafficking.
The subject is handled in a no nonsense way by director marco kreutzpaintner.

I am very surprised that the film did so poorly at the box office but the americans clearly found it very uncomfortable viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trade, 21 April 2012
By 
B. J. Clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trade [DVD] (DVD)
Quite well done, dragged a bit in parts, and some bits - where he goes to buy the girl - are risible, but otherwise quite well done. A good expose of what is a blight on our civilisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRADE...Is TOP GRADE, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
M. Dalal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trade [DVD] (DVD)
VERY interesting movie this... by all standards.. a top grade fare... cesar ramos... Kevin cline give excellent performances .. but the performances of cute little Paulina Gaitan & the ever so gorgeous Alicja Bachlada Curus(Colin Farell's sweetheart & mother to his baby)Are simply outstanding & out of this world... A lethal combination of beauty & talent these two.... I actually saw another one of paulina's movie ..SIN NOMBRE... (she is older in this movie) & she excels in her role even in that movie. As far as the topic of human trafficking which prevails all over the world ( And yet we prefer to ignore it)is a shameful fact that needs to be addressed & dealt with. there have been movies which shows these things... (Sex Traffic, Taken, Human trafficking etc.) that have made people aware ,n sit up & take notice...Thankfully this movie has a happy ending... which is a relief..because in most of the true life cases, happy endings are just a Myth...or the only other happy ending the victim gets.. is death...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening film, 6 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trade [DVD] (DVD)
Due to this film being sent directly to DVD release it was not possible to watch it in UK cinemas. However, I was lucky enough to watch it in Berlin and it really left a lasting impression on me. The film is based around sex trafficking and it portrays this very well. It is a shocking film which has plenty of substance to make it engaging yet not too long as to make it boring.

I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trade, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
Ms. Jeanette Hayes "netty" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This dvd is very upsetting if you have children yourself. But it brings home the effect that there are nasty people out there who will steal a child or trick people just to sell them. This kind of thing goes on all over the world especially in poor countries,well put accross too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Feature with a Sensitive Subject, 10 Dec. 2009
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trade [DVD] (DVD)
'Trade' is a drama about human traficking of sex slaves and is based on the article, 'The Girls Next Door', which was published in the New York Times Magazine. The movie had a limited theatrical release in the USA and a Direct-to-DVD release in the UK. The movie has been a box-office and a critical failure.

The movie tells the story of a Polish woman, Veronica (Alicja Bachleda) and a thirteen year-old Mexican girl, Adriana (Paulina Gaitán) who are kidnapped in order to be sold on as sex slaves. The movie shows how Adriana's brother, Jorge (Cesar Ramos), with the assistance of a fraud investigator, Ray (Kevin Kline) attempts to rescue his sister.

I watched the movie after it was recomended by a friend, who said it was thought-provoking, which I admit it was. It touches on sensitive issues like prostitution, rape, child abuse and pedophilia. The movie is very interesting at the start, has a few disturbing scenes, some tense scenes and has a satisfying end.

The downside is the movie is too long in duration (nearly 2 hours) and exceedingly slow moving. I lost interest after the first 20-30 minutes as the movie seemed not to be progressing. There were glimpses of a reprieval, however this was not taken advantage of and the movie continued to lose momentum until the climax. The topic was something that I wanted to pay attention to but this did not happen as the movie was just unengaging for the majority of the duration. There were too many scenes, which could've been trimmed in length or even made productive. Basically the screenplay was poor.

The performances of Kline and Ramos were good. The show stealers were Bachleda and Gaitán who produced gripping and emotional performances. The subject alongwith their performances saved the movie from becoming a complete disaster.

The direction provided by Marco Kreuzpaintner is disjointed and inconsistent. He failed to turn this movie into gripping cinema. He had the perfect premise that he didn't know what to do with.

Dissatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trade [DVD]
Trade [DVD] by Marco Kreuzpaintner (DVD - 2009)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews