Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some of his best work!
Completely disagree with the other review. This clearly was not meant to be a big budget film, so has not got a well known cast or flashy production, but that doesnt matter as its all about The Scott. This was one of the funniest films ive seen in ages, just pure genius, dont quite know how the other chap didnt get it. Perfect timing. Little girls bit at the end in my top...
Published on 13 July 2009 by J. Granger

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Serving the laughs (and a bit of heart to go with it)
Over the last decade or so, American comedies have dealt with just about every sport from Dodgeball ('Dodgeball') to figure skating ('Blades of Glory'), and in 'Gary the Tennis Coach', Seann William Scott strings up his racket to give "lady tennis" a go. The film focuses on Gary Houseman, a former young tennis star who has blown his chances of sporting glory, and has...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by Mr. D Burin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Serving the laughs (and a bit of heart to go with it), 23 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
Over the last decade or so, American comedies have dealt with just about every sport from Dodgeball ('Dodgeball') to figure skating ('Blades of Glory'), and in 'Gary the Tennis Coach', Seann William Scott strings up his racket to give "lady tennis" a go. The film focuses on Gary Houseman, a former young tennis star who has blown his chances of sporting glory, and has taken up the position of Janitor at an ordinary Nebraska high school. Gary's tennis skills are spotted, however, and he is asked to become assistant coach of the school tennis team, and soon takes over the job of head coach when (Gary's new-found idol) the likeable but, supremely unfit Coach Tuttle (an excellent turn from Randy Quaid) dies. It then becomes Gary's job to try to coach a team of mediocre kids (and one confused Phillipine ping-pong champion) to success. Scott puts in an excellent turn as Gary, (though the script never allows the character to develop as fully as he could); perfecting the balance between genuinely charming and faintly ridiculous, and the cast as a whole is good, especially Emilee Wallace, as Coach Tuttle's beautiful, earnest daughter Jenny.

The film's comedy, like it's quality of tennis, is a little bit hit and miss. The film's sub-plot, involving a confused athlete from the Philippines is almost painfully unfunny, but moments like Gary's attempt to communicate in painfully bad spanish to Miss Sanchez, the sexy Spanish teacher, make up for it. The film's comedy sometimes undercuts its more tender moments, which are actually handled surprisingly well, and suggest that Scott, lo-and-behold, might actually be decent in a serious role. At times things are a rather too predictable, and as mentioned above, one or two of the jokes and sub-plots fall flat, but 'Gary the Tennis Coach' is an engaging watch, with some good laughs, a few well-handled serious moments, and a set of underdogs you'll have no trouble cheering on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some of his best work!, 13 July 2009
By 
J. Granger "jimbo" (shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
Completely disagree with the other review. This clearly was not meant to be a big budget film, so has not got a well known cast or flashy production, but that doesnt matter as its all about The Scott. This was one of the funniest films ive seen in ages, just pure genius, dont quite know how the other chap didnt get it. Perfect timing. Little girls bit at the end in my top 3 most well delivered lines of all time. Absolute classic, its different , granted but so wrong and yet so right in so many ways. If you like, Anchorman, Old School, Happy Gilmore, Waterboy etc, you will love this. Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really big surprise ~ the boy can act!, 21 April 2010
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
Beneath the toilet humour, beneath the raunchy sex-for-laughs stuff there is a really excellent film played out in a comic format of one of the dispossessed alienated from family and culture who finds his way back inspired by a dead tennis coach.

Seann W Scott does such a good job making this central character credible ~ he is not reviving Stiffler here ~ I would now put him up with Jim Carrey and Steve Carell as a comic actor who can bring real heart to a film.

This one is well worth the watch and any viewer expecting a slice of American Pie may well be surprised at what this young guy can really do and you will even learn to forgive him the gayest moustache seen on the screen since Burt Reynolds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gary, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
Funny movie with sean william scott! Laughed alot! . . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
What an amazing funny film best 4 pounds I have spent in many a day, I have not laughed so much in ages. well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You need to look for the laughs, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Andrew Guy (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film obviously built as a vehicle for it's main actor, Seann William Scott. He was good as one of the stars in American Pie, but he struggles to carry a whole film on his own and his at first amusing style becomes boring after the first 15 minutes. As a film to amuse a group of 12 year old boys it might just pass, but if you want more out of your film, then best just to give it a pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Served up the occasional laugh, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting much from this but it is a fun little comedy. Full of the obvious jokes for the situations the characters get in, there are some fun characters like the principal's little daughter Amy (Ryan Simpkins) who gets some great dialogue not that disimilar to that of Bobbe'J Thompson's character in Role Models. This is far from Seann William Scott's or Randy Quaid's best movie but the story flows well, it's funny enough and it passes the time as a formulaic comedy. Rent it. 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did not serve me an Ace, 5 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. Thompson "dan" (leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
I am always up for new movie - something unusual or different that might turn out to be an undiscovered Gem - but sadly this failed to deliver.

Potentially it could be funny - but the plot development is uninteresting and predictable.

Dont be expecting 'steve stiffler' in this role - he's a different character this time.

The Jokes are tired and have been used before. The little narrations when he writes his diary provided an opportunity for some witty asides but again it didnt deliver.

It is set in a plainly shot, pretty dull looking Nebraska and has that 'middle of nowehere' feel of America you get with "Napoleon Dynamite" and "Whats eating Gilbert Grape". It has a few bizzare moments (e.g. an owl with the former tennis coaches face turning up...) that are niether funny or adding anything to the plot - its just bizzare??

I didn't enjoy much of this film - I may have chuckled twice, it wasnt the worst thing I have seen but i wont be wathcing it again or recommending it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Stiffler, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
Wierd and strangely hypnotic - the more wine we drank, the more we enjoyed the movie, but don't think my wife will watch this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ball's up: The Gary Houseman Story, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] (DVD)
While I admit Seann William Scott is good as Gary and he has flashes of brilliance, these do not pull the film out of it's pretty poor position in his back catalogue's ranking.
I was shocked this was made in 2008 - it has the feel of an earlier career opener which means it could be forgiven it's shortcomings.

There's probably a five minute Youtube clip with all the funny parts of the movie which would lose nothing for being out of context.

Strong potential - poorly executed.

This is not a 1 star, or a five star review. It's truthfully where the film is. Below average.
Get something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD]
Gary The Tennis Coach [DVD] by Danny Leiner (DVD - 2009)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews