Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


174 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Happiest Days Of Your Life
Sometimes overlooked, this is a charming and very funny self-mocking episode of a bygone era. Set in about 1949 (the 1948 Railways Nationalisation is mentioned in a gag) this has a wealth of amusing characters, great dialogue and hilarious scenes when confusion reign. Initially the confusion is on the part of the St. Swithuns mistresses, as they arrive at what they think...
Published on 19 Feb. 2004 by Danny Boy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Happiest Days of Your Life DVD
OK but not as good as I remembered it from my youth, but then, what is? Nonetheless, a goodnatured romp in the past.
Published on 25 Nov. 2012 by Tim Conway


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

174 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Happiest Days Of Your Life, 19 Feb. 2004
By 
Sometimes overlooked, this is a charming and very funny self-mocking episode of a bygone era. Set in about 1949 (the 1948 Railways Nationalisation is mentioned in a gag) this has a wealth of amusing characters, great dialogue and hilarious scenes when confusion reign. Initially the confusion is on the part of the St. Swithuns mistresses, as they arrive at what they think is a girls school; boxing gloves in the common room, and the school motto "Guard Thine Honour" puzzle and horrify them.
Alastair Sim as Wetherby Pond (what a name!) is superb as he generally politely stands up to the women.
The sadly recently deceased Bernadette O'Farrell adds the glamour element as the beautiful Miss Harper, and the failed attempts of the lovely Joyce Grenfell as Miss Gossage ("call me sausage") to woo English master Richard Wattis (a superb sardonic performance) are brilliant.
I love this film, and I must have first seen it in about 1975 when it was only 25 years old, yet even then it was a relic of a lost age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
UK Filmbuff "filmbuff1382" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] (DVD)
Another film that was long overdue for DVD release.

When a typical, English boys' school returns from summer holiday, the masters were prepared for some extra boys, from another school. They intend to make the usual "arrangements" and make the most of a bad situation. When the mistresses arrive from the girls' school that has been mistakenly assigned to the school, nobody, at first, suspects anything is out of the ordinary, because, initially, their paths never cross.

However, it is an entirely different story when the headmisstress (Margaret Rutherford) meets the headmaster (Alastair Sim) and they begin the task of trying to work with (or is it around) each other. Of course, the headmisstress is practical and resourceful, whereas the headmaster is annoyed and less inclined to be accepting of his lot. However, despite calls to the ministry, they have to get on with things and make the best of a bad situation.

Things then take a turn for the worse, when parents from both schools are invited on the same day. A plan has to be formulated quickly and the once staunch adversaries become allies, in trying to keep the two sets of parents apart.

With pupils dashing around on roller stakes, rugby balls falling from a cupboard, goalposts being changed, classes moved and the same pupils appearing in multiple classes, the worst, inevitably, happens and the dignified deception turns into a fantastic farce!

Watch for Alastair Sim, when he is asked to give an explanation for what's happened. A classic one-liner: "Can't you see I'm trying to find one?"

It's a great farce and a great film. A wealth of superb actors and some lovely locations make this a film to be enjoyed frequently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely funny British classic, 10 May 2009
This review is from: The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this movie when as a child I first saw it. As with so many old movies, I never managed to see it again for many years. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying a lunatic farce starring Sim, Rutherford and Grenfell at their best!

During WW2, two schools are told they must share one building. Each Head assumes the other school will be of the same sex as their own, but not so. At first the Heads are horrified but eventually they have to work together when parents are due to descend to see the schools of their darlings at work, and pupils and teachers work together in hilarious scenes moving from room to room so parents can see lessons and games.

Priceless old movie, one of the very best. Would give it 6 stars if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Happiest Days of Your Life (DVD) (1950), 10 Aug. 2009
By 
A. C. Mason ""House Carl"" (WA. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] (DVD)
The first in a long line of comic UK post war gems. 'The Happiest Days of Your Life' sows the seeds of the popular St.Trinian's series of films. Great cast with gifted acting by Alastair Sim and Margaret Rutherford. Directed by Frank Launder, it is different from the later St.Trinian's films in as much as the school starts of as a respectable boys school. Due to a governmental admin mistake a girls school is 'billeted' upon them with hilarious results. The old war-time spirit takes over and they all pull together to overcome visiting parental problems. The DVD is a good quality black/white film and is very watchable. (I too wanted to give it five stars, only the 'edit' wouldn't allow that change...) Postage from UK to Australia took four days. Excellent!The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] [1950]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last on DVD!, 30 July 2009
By 
M. Whiston "Rutherford Nut" (Eastbourne UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] (DVD)
This film became the highest earning British film of 1950. Margaret Rutherford & Alastair Sim are at their peak of comedic excellence adding to the mayhem which ensues after an error by the Ministery of Education mistakenly sends a girls school to share premises occupied by a boys school. This is a farce but of the highest order. Rutherford reprises her stage role as the headmistress with such belief that at times you feel scared for her protoges! Joyce Grenfell has some scene-stealing scenes as the hockey mistress which is later echoed in her role As WPC Gates in the St.Trinian franchise.
Would liked to have had the documentary about Alastair Sim included as an extra as it was on the original video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret Rutherford and Alastair Sim join forces in the only film they made together, and it is a classic, 11 July 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"Gaming? Nicotine? Fisticuffs? We're moving in a descending spiral of iniquity!" So says the head of St. Swithen's upon inspecting the master's common at Nutbourne. The faculty and students of St. Swithen's have been ordered to share facilities at Nutbourne to avoid German bombs during World War II. Then there's the masters' library. "The Diary of Samuel Pepys? Abridged...well, that's something to be thankful for. What's up here? The Memoirs of Casanova? Wasn't that the book we caught Jessica James reading in the closet? Decameron Nights! Well, really! What ever else this place may or may not be, it's no place to bring carefully nurtured girls!"

Yes, a terrible mistake has been made by the Ministry of Education. Nutbourne is a school for boys. St. Swithen's is a school for girls. And what makes this one of the best post-WWII British comedies, Nutbourne's head master is Wetherby Pond...played by Alastair Sim, while St. Swithen's head mistress is Muriel Whitchurch...played by Margaret Rutherford.

"St. Swithen's?" says Pond. "You don't mean to say that yours is a school for boys and girls?" he asks one of the early girls. "Only girls" she says cheerfully. "Does this mean, sir," asks one of Nutbourne's teachers, "that we are to expect 100 young girls?" "It means that not only have the ministry made a mistake in sending a school here at all, but that it is guilty of an appalling sexual aberration!"

Margaret Rutherford's Miss Whitchurch, as positive and immovable as a battleship, intends to make the best of it, by briskly taking over Nutbourne if possible. Alastair Sim's Pond is exasperated up to his big bald head and is determined to salvage his school. In the meantime, there are 100 young girls and 170 young boys to be fed and places found for them to sleep (along with all their teachers). The cooks and caretakers, totally put upon, walk out. Miss Whitchurch and her girls, however, are up to the cooking tasks. "Come now, Angela," she says to one girl who is trying to stir something in a big pot, "haven't you made porridge before?" "Yes, but no one ever had to eat it." "That's a defeatist attitude, my dear. Stir it well and don't shilly shally."

Things are hardly going well when Pond discovers four governors from a school he hopes to lead are arriving at any moment to see for themselves how well led Nutbourne is. And Miss Whitchurch learns that four wealthy and influential parents have just arrived to see how their daughters are doing in the new -- boy free, they were told -- facilities. The only solution? Miss Whitchurch and Pond, their teachers and their students, concoct a split-second shifting of classes to give the allusion that Nutbourne has no girls and that St. Swithen's has no boys. After the parents inspect a dorm and leave for a class, the girls in the beds duck under and the boys who'd been hidden under leap up into the beds, just as the governors walk in. The boys are observed at rugby and, as soon as the governors turn their backs, the goal posts are taken down, nets for lacrosse are put up, and just then the parents walk over to observe the girls. One parent spots her daughter in a science class, then moments later sees her in a choir practice, then moments later.... "There's Angela again," she says to Miss Whitchurch. "Why so it is," she replies, hustling the parents out to avoid the governors who are approaching just around the corner. "The child's quite ubiquitous."

When we leave Nutbourne, everything has been discovered. The students are milling about. The teachers are dazed (except for two who are kissing.) The Education Ministry has just sent several more busloads of students. The parents are speechless but the governors are not. "We're waiting for an explanation," one says sharply. Pond holds his head and shudders. "Can't you see I'm trying to think of one."

The film moves from one complicated and ridiculous situation after another, braced by a very funny script and two hugely comedic performances by Rutherford and Sim. Sim's droll exasperation and Rutherford's implacable determination are so well matched that's it's a shame this is the only movie they ever made together. Joyce Grenfell as Gossage, St. Swithen's tall, awkward, loping sports teacher, gives them some competition. If you keep your eyes open, you'll also find some amusing references director Frank Launder works in, including a gong at Nutbourne that looks just like a midget version of J. Arthur Rank's, a faint echo of the zither theme from The Third Man and a shot stolen from David Lean's Oliver Twist, except this time the little boy walks up holding his porridge bowl and says, "Please, sir. I don't want anymore."

Frank Launder and his partner, Sidney Gilliat, were responsible for some of the best films produced in Britain during the Thirties, Forties and Fifties. They wrote, produced and directed, sometimes doing one, sometimes the other. In one way or another they were responsible for such first-rate films as Green for Danger (with a masterly droll performance by Sim), I See a Dark Stranger, The Lady Vanishes, Night Train to Munich, Wee Geordie, The Belles of St. Trinian's, The Rake's Progress and many others. With The Happiest Days of Your Life, Launder wrote and directed while both produced. It's one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guarenteed comedy, 11 Sept. 2009
By 
Dalesman (North Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] (DVD)
I have always loved this film. Alastair Sim and Margaret Rutherford in one film - it couldn't possibly fail Joyce Grenfell is also great as Miss "Sausage" Gossage. (There should have been more of her.) The innuendo is fine quality..... the boys' school motto is 'Defend thine honour', which takes on a whole new meaning when applied to a girls' school! The film's pace is probably a bit slow by today's standards. I've always thought they could have squeezed more comedy into it. The setting, scenario and actors went on to inspire the 'St Trinian' films, which certainly did. This film is well worth buying. Let's face it, you'll be waiting a long time to see these quality british films on a TV channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A better time!, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
Stephen Newell (Lake District, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] (DVD)
This film transports us back to a time where innocence was valued, especially in children.

Classic performances from Sim, Rutherford and especially Joyce Grenfell as Miss Gossage.

Today such fun would be considered dull, but I enjoyed being indulged in farce and
occasional double entandre with perfect comic timing from some past masters.

When you watch films like this, you wonder why we need surround sound, Hi-def and 3d,
what we really need is well written and acted films with great character actors and actresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC COMEDY AT ITS BEST, 18 April 2009
By 
A. J. Maycock "alan maycock" (harlow essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] (DVD)
At last avaliable on dvd, a great british comedy classic , starring a host of great stars. A mix up at the ministry of education sees a boys school and a girls school trying to work together, with the teachers thrown into the plot trying to keep some sort of control.

A classic british black and white comedy that is long overdue to be released on dvd, a film well worth watching, dont miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic that could never be remade, 27 May 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] (DVD)
This film takes you into a world of Englishness that is certainly long gone, but this if anything adds a note of poignancy to what is an hilarious caper. The two stars - Margaret Rutherford and Alastair Sim - are uniquely wonderful and strike sparks off each other in a magical way. I can hardly think of a more delightful onscreen pairing, or a more eccentric one that comes into the romantic category, which it does, really. I suppose The African Queen would be another contender, but this one is my absolute favourite. Joyce Grenfell is also a blissful incarnation of the jolly-hockey-sticks kind of mistress, gambolling around like an overgrown schoolgirl herself. And the way Rutherford takes charge, calling her and everyone else into line with a brisk but thoroughly likeable manner, is priceless. The comedy becomes more and more farcical as the film progresses and ends up with sheer mayhem, which is delightful because the background it has come from is so orderly. I don't think any modern film could achieve this because the standards of etiquette and proper behaviour are no longer there to subvert, as you can see in the remake of St Trinian's, which is as much a horror film as a comedy, I would say. This is not a film to analyse or ponder too deeply; rather, it is a bit like a ride in a hot air balloon, bright, breezy and somehow gracious at every second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD]
The Happiest Days Of Your Life [DVD] by Frank Launder (DVD - 2009)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews