Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a film by it's cover!
This is an excellent film that I'll recommend to anyone who likes a good even-paced thriller that keeps you gripped throughout.

Not going to say more about the plot save to say it is really worth watching!

The DVD cover picture may suggest a horror film or level of horror that isn't present so don't be put off by this. What the film does have is an...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by Caiptean

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ho hum
I watched the film because I like unusual films, and although it had an interesting concept, I couldn't help myself from thinking of easier and less messy alternatives for poor Hector the whole time I was watching it! He could have had it all settled in half the time! Also, I thought some of the scenes were unecessarily weird, just to try and be bizarre for the sake of...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by jayne hansard


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a film by it's cover!, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Caiptean (Kentish Weald, Kent, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film that I'll recommend to anyone who likes a good even-paced thriller that keeps you gripped throughout.

Not going to say more about the plot save to say it is really worth watching!

The DVD cover picture may suggest a horror film or level of horror that isn't present so don't be put off by this. What the film does have is an excellent level of suspense with a well-thought out plot. Certainly if you set aside the basic premise of the impossibilities surrounding time-travel, then the remainder of the plot unfolds with a level credibility to often missed in modern films.

I just wonder why I'd never come across it before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradox? Call 1-800-HEADBANDAGES., 17 Mar 2009
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
So, how do you like your time-travel? A clean-cut, enjoyable thriller a'la "Back To The Future" or "Time After Time", or perhaps something that really makes you think? Film viewers have their Art spoon-fed to them nowadays, by paranoid oligarchs who are terrified that anything perceived as challenging will afford them precious box-office, and God Knows What else.

Hence, if you aren't an Armchair Anarchist, you have to turn to the indies. And what can be more mind-twisting than the concept of time? Think Xeno of Elea, think Star Trek and "The City On The Edge Of Forever", think Quantum Physics. Shane Carruth started the trend back in 2004 with the astonishing "Primer", a film made for no money whatsoever and that relied on a masterful, convoluted script to make people return to it for repeat viewings. After watching it 10 times, I'm still nonplussed about a great many plot points (which I won't go into here, suffice to say you should see "Primer" immediately, or you're a monkey's uncle) which is not something you really have to worry about in regard to Nacho Vigalondo's film. You will understand it, you'll just have to really, really ponder how everything works. Remember that from films of yore? Good. Time to do so again.

Hector is an average Mediterranean type, apparently just moved into the countryside. After spying a naked girl acting strangely from the vantage point of his binoculars he decides to investigate (well, so would you, let's face it). In the process Hector is stabbed by a man in a trenchcoat with pink bandages rolled around his face, a MacGuffin that powers the movies plot from that point onwards... to go on would spoil the film for many, suffice to say that Hector stumbles on an apparent Time Machine that will decide his fate(s) from here on in. Vigalondo is a director who has previously specialised in shorts and miscellaneous writing gigs, but if this is anything to go by, we may be looking at the new Alex De La Iglesia here. Spain can make a good movie - well, better than us, that's for damn sure.

The Disc is looking like the usual bare-bones setup with no extras (does anybody really care about trailers as supplements? We've seen the film, we don't need to watch the advertisement for it afterwards), so we'll just have to wait for the inevitable 10-year Special Edition once the film has become a much-loved cult fixture. Also, the film has been slated for a remake by Hollywood in 2011, so get ahead of the pack and see the no-doubt vastly better original. Watch, please, your brain will thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before I left, I got a call from myself., 22 Jun 2009
By 
G. Thomas (Canterbury UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
Once every so often a small-scale film is released that takes a very big idea and creates something that Hollywood could never hope to better. Timecrimes is one of those films.

A simple premise with an "everyman" lead character called Hector who is thrown heedless (or is he?) into a nightmarish spiral of potentially catastrophic paradoxes that threaten his well-being, his family and perhaps his sanity.
The highpoint of all this for me is his "matter-of-fact" way of dealing with the reality of his increasingly desperate situation. He knows what he has to achieve and grudgingly accepts that no-matter-what he must tread that path with its attendant moral consequences.

It's tricky not to say too much and spoil the joy of this film. Suffice to say it involves a time machine (duh!), is relatively funny in a deadpan kind of way and while not quite as mindbending as the wonderful "Primer" manages to address some pretty meaty questions about the time-travel genre. The inevitability of Hector's final decision is exactly the conclusion that many lesser films would hesitate to use thus making it all the more satisfying to see it work so well here.

So a witty time-travel film with real brains that makes you think....and there I was wondering why this wasn't more popular.

Once again the (continental) Europeans show us just how it should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a film by its cover!, 16 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic, enjoyable, refreshing and very satisfying. Don't try to guess the plot, let the film run and wash over you. I promise you, you will not regret watching this super little film. While it feels somewhat twee and homemade that only helps to draw you in to the story. Stop reading this review and buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ho hum, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the film because I like unusual films, and although it had an interesting concept, I couldn't help myself from thinking of easier and less messy alternatives for poor Hector the whole time I was watching it! He could have had it all settled in half the time! Also, I thought some of the scenes were unecessarily weird, just to try and be bizarre for the sake of it, to try and appear'arty.' You don't have to do that, art should come naturally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever, mini-masterpiece, 7 April 2011
By 
Jack (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
What's truly enthralling about this film is how it brings you along with Hector, through the confusion and the shock and ties up all the uncertainties soundly before the end. Although the cover makes it seem so, this is not a full-out horror.
The horror is seeing this everyman's descent into moral ambiguity to put things right, it is darkly comic at times, bizzare and the most thrilling film I have seen for a very long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hector's Conundrum, 13 Sep 2009
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
This intelligent sci-fi flick for the deep thinker is reliant on substance, not CGI enhancements and, needless to say, it's pure class considering the measly budget it took to make it all happen. A brilliant piece of spanish cinema with a noirish morality at its core, breathless pacing and paradoxes aplenty.

One sunny afternoon Hector is in his garden looking through his binoculars when he spots a young beauty stripping-off in the woods, so he decides to investigate but ends up being attacked by someone whose head and face are concealed by wrapped bandages soaked in blood. Hector, frantically escapes from his assailant and breaks into a nearby silo where he finds a technician who suggests hiding in his timemachine, thus starting a bizarre chain of events that put Hector's life in danger and hurtles the viewer into an unnerving thought experiment full of deranged logic. So, in order to escape his present hell, Hector must go back to the past but in doing so, he risks jeopardising his future as the conundrums continue to pile up around him.

Hector is the man and Hector is his game in this sci-fi thriller that handles the theme of causality, with a deja vu style narrative, with the utmost precision. In part, it is reminiscent of the intriguing time travelling saga: The I Inside starring Ryan Phillippe; fans of one should enjoy the other but it won't appeal to the majority of doltish aficionados of the relentlessly churned out souless summer blockbuster dross like: Transformers. The plot is stylishly crafted making the viewing experience utterly compelling. The acting is good and the camera methodically sets the tension never losing its grip on you, the viewer. A must-own flick as multi viewing will never tire. This is one senario that's worth going over again and again and...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., 8 July 2014
This review is from: Time Crimes (Amazon Instant Video)
Great film, well worth your time watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing, 16 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
Before we even start I have to warn you- this is a Spanish language film and there are English subtitles.

This innovative Science fiction film that centers around the theory of time travel. Hector inadvertently stumbles upon an experimental lab. What happens next is mind-blowing.

This is one of the best time travel films I have ever seen. So many films focus on the fantastic; If you went back in time you would kill Hitler or leave Keanu Reeve letters at the Lake house. Timecrimes is about a poor schmuck who is in the wrong place at the wrong time and just can’t catch a break.

It never answers the question: Which came first the chicken or the egg but you will be running this film over in your head for a long time after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little film, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. H. L. Little - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timecrimes [DVD] (DVD)
I don't watch a lot of foreign movies because I'm not a great fan of subtitles, but this is one of those films where within five minutes you've forgotten that you're reading the dialogue. If you liked the German film Run Lola Run then this film is right up your street. It's hard to classify it in any specific genre. It's kind of a sci-fi, horror comedy. Although there are no jokes or slapstick moments as such, it flows like a classic episode of Frasier. The main character keeps travelling back in time to fix a mistake he's made and only manages to make it worse each time. You could probably pick faults with some of the time travel aspects but I think that's the case with any time travel movie. This one is similar to the last 30 minutes of Back To the Future 2 when Marty McFly travels back to 1955 again and has to avoid bumping into himself. It's really entertaining and well thought out and at no point does it get boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timecrimes [DVD]
Timecrimes [DVD] by Juan Inciarte (DVD - 2009)
8.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews