Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars175
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 June 2009
It's a slasher and it's all been done before but seldom very well and unfortunately this is no exception. The cast is peppered with faces you'll know from the past and present, and they do a fair job with the material. The murders themselves are as suitably grisly as you might expect, but there's little in the way of twists or surprises. The 3D gimmick works for the most part, but unfortunately the 3D specs that come with the package don't quite manage to fully coalesce the images, and elements can still be seen in duplicate and sometimes triplicate, especially around some of the finer onscreen details. The film is by no means a classic, but as part of a beer and pizza night in, it'll do the job.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
Not the best of horror films but certainly not the worst!

If you are looking for a film on a dark rainy night, and want to be so scared that you have to watch the film with the light on and family/friends around then this is not the film for you! It's a fun, cheezy film that is reminiscent of many eighties 3D horror films, the plot is bad, the acting is pretty bad and there is a bit of nudity (to be expected with any good horror) which all combine to make this quite an entertaining watch! It is the special effects that make the film. Yes, the magenta/green glasses make the colour seem a bit weird, but without the 3D this film would be nothing (I really did not find the 2D version so entertaining). So if you are a fan of old-school horror/slasher/3D film then this is a must watch, don't expect to be wow'ed, just enjoy the ride!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My Bloody Valentine is the best 3D blu-ray so far to date, Its visually stunning throughout and the film itself is a decent horror starring the top man himself Jenson Ackles from TV's great hit show Supernatural. Look out for the bullet scene close to the end as this shows the most stunning 3D visual affect i've seen from a movie at home.

I highly recommend this title to anyone who can appreciate a good horror and some fantastic 3D visuals.

A must see.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
In the mining town of Harmony, a drilling accident is caused by the son of the owner. The mine collapses, burying six miners alive.

The rescue team finds only Harry Warden alive, but in coma, and the other miners murdered by his pick-axe.

On Valentine's Day, Harry awakes from his coma in the local hospital, and he kills twenty-two people, including a group of teenagers that are partying in the mine.

Harry is killed by the deputy, but the only survivors are Tom Hanniger, his girlfriend Sarah, their friend Axel Palmer and his girlfriend Irene.

Ten years later, Tom returns to Harmony after the death of his father.

On Valentine's Day, Harry Warden also returns, seeking revenge against those that had escaped his pick-axe in the past, and Tom is accused by Axel and other locals....

So this was one of the first horror movies to be released with the new 3D fad, and aside from this gimmick, the film is one of the worser remakes around.

The 3D gimmick consists of the actors and the killer pointing things at the screen, and it's pointless and by he time you see the killer point the pick-axe at the screen for the fourth time, it grates.

And it gets worse on Blu Ray, or should I say 2D.

The acting is abominable, narrative stupid and the overall effect leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

The overuse of nudity is done distastefully and proves pointless, and this is supposed to be the future?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 November 2013
My Bloody Valentine is directed by Patrick Lussier and collectively written by Zane Smith, Todd Farmer and John Beaird. It stars Jensen Ackles, Jaime King, Kerr Smith, Kevin Tighe and Tom Atkins. Music is by Michael Wandmacher and cinematography by Brian Pearson

A remake of George Mihalker's 1981 slasher, the 2009 version was released in a blaze of 3D frenzy, where it absolutely coined it in at the World's box offices. It's not hard to see why, for no matter how much we may moan about remakes and the general languid nature of slashers turned out just for coin, there's a big market out there for them. As it happens this isn't half bad, oh it's all very familiar, there's another Michael Myers clone stalking the residents of some American town and offing them in gruesome ways. Here the perp is The Miner, dressed up in his work clothes, armed with a pickaxe, face covered by a gas mask that in turn makes him creepy looking and gives him Darth Vader breathing exercises to do.

The mystery element is that this new series of murders are being re-enacted from crimes ten years previously, so is the old killer back from the dead, or is there a copycat at large? Enter troubled teenagers, townsfolk acting suspiciously and mucho blood and screaming sitting in tandem together. There's the requisite amount of nudity, including one of the longest nude scenes ever, while Lussier shows a good knack for blending humour with the terror. The 3D is of a high standard, and the sound mix is incredible, this really is one to give your sub-woofer a work out. It pans out as expected, but it manages to eek out good suspense for its finale and having Atkins and Tighe in the movie is a reassuring presence.

The original was no great film anyway, and although this is better, it's still just a bunch of acting props being killed in different ways. But it is effective and above all else it's fun. 7/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
Having seen the reviews of this film, I was seriously not expecting it to be any good at all. However it is a great film, if you like the old 80s style horror movies. I thoroughly enjoyed it and have watched it may times, and still enjoy it! If you are expecting a saw type horror, then this isn't for you! If you like Nightmare on Elm Street type films, then I think you would like this.

The 3D was brilliant. I watched it with my projector on a 92" screen and the effects are very good. I know some reviewers says it's not great, but I think that may be down to the size of screen it is being watched on. The bonus is that the 3D version comes with a normal dvd as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
Being a fan of the original, I was keen to see if this remake worked, and I'm glad to say I found it good - if not 'faithful' to the original, at least it's very much in the same spirit as it.
The conceit is the same as the first film - mine disaster on Valentines Day, a miner went nuts and went on a slashing spree, and now years later a Valentine's Day celebration is kicking off another wave of slash and stab.
The ace in this version's sleeve is the casting of a great central relationship triangle - Supernatural's 'Dean Winchester', Jensen Ackles, Jaime King as his old flame, and Kerr Smith as the town sheriff now with her. They make a very convincingly played emotional core to the film, so that when it all kicks off, you have some good solid characters to hang onto. The violence feels a little arbitrary at first, but soon seething resentments start to bubble to the surface and the massacre gets wings. Incredible Hulk and Clash of the Titans director Patrick Lussier handles it very well, and the stalking set pieces are tense and frightening. Also the 3D (the old type with glasses) - if you choose to watch it in this version - is used very well and adds to the immersion instead of just being for lunging poles and knives.
The twists aren't entirely unexpected, but there are enough red herrings thrown our way to confuse even a best guess, until the final confrontations. A worthy remake.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
It's my firm opinion that the best exponents of cinematic 3D are horror films. This little gem suffers a little from its translation from Real3D in the cinema to the anaglyph two-colour 3D on BluRay, but even if you watch it in plain ol' 3D you will enjoy a schlocky, gory fun update to a video "nasty"

This is not high art but it's good fun.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
Ok folks. There are 3 types of 3D. The old anaglyph system which has glasses with 2 different coloured lenses (green and red usually) but you CAN watch the 3D version with standard Blu-Ray players and a normal TV.

Then theres this newer version which you need a 3D tv and 3D player. The cinema uses polarisation which shows 2 images on screen at the same time. One for each eye. This is impractical with TVs at home so we get active 3D where full HD (1080p)images are flashed at a high rate between one eye piece at a time (left, right, left etc) and in sync with your glasses fooling it into believing 3D images are here.

I've seen the anaglyph 3D film and it is very good quality and one of the better 3D films out there for this but this newer version puts that to shame. It offers an good introduction to home3D viewing but prone to the usual ghosting at certain times, especially the night scenes but what you do get is a real sense of depth to the movie.

The Movie then: So, its a remake of an older early eighties slasher movie, which is also good but gory B-Movie fare that the censors had lots of cuts made to it. Anyway, Tom (Jared Padalecki of supernatural tv series) returns home to sell the mine where ten years ago 22 people were murdered in it on Valentines. Once he is home, the murders start again and he quickly becomes the chief suspect.

It's not a stretch of the imagination by any means but it is a clever who dunnit if you like your films gory and not too taxing then this will keep you guessing as the body count rises. I recommend any version of this film, but 3D is definitely the way it was meant to be seen.
44 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
I'm not going to lie, I bought this because I've recently started watching Supernatural and absolutely love Jensen Ackles. That said, the film was a lot better than I expected it to be for a slasher movie. What puts me off a lot of movies in this this genre is the fact that characterisation is often sidelined in favour of jump-out-of-your-seat moments and/or gratuitous gore. My Bloody Valentine, however, manages to successfully balance the scares, the blood, and the characterisation very well, though it is a shame that some of the shots directed specifically for the 3D version look a little flat when you're not watching it in 3D. But this is still a highly enjoyable movie and I will certainly be watching it again and again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)