Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zulu dawn blu-ray review
I bought Zulu Dawn blu-ray for my Xmas,I remember seeing it at the Cinema,1979/80,I thought it was very good.
I bought the dvd when it was released,not particularly good "viewing",this blu-ray knocks the dvd to smithereens for picture quality,it is a HUGE JUMP in pq,it,s like seeing it for the first time,it,s not in the same league as Zulu blu-ray,what is?but it is...
Published 7 months ago by mr david cairns

versus
41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The sound is very poor on this Arrow Films dvd
I've just compared this dvd briefly to the perfect edition in France by a label called Opening. On this UK dvd by Arrow Films, there is poor sound with crackling right through the film. A bit like being at a cinema back in the 70's! On the dvd by Opening in France, the sound and picture are perfect, no crackling and a slightly sharper picture with English audio (and...
Published on 18 May 2009 by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zulu dawn blu-ray review, 16 Jan 2014
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
I bought Zulu Dawn blu-ray for my Xmas,I remember seeing it at the Cinema,1979/80,I thought it was very good.
I bought the dvd when it was released,not particularly good "viewing",this blu-ray knocks the dvd to smithereens for picture quality,it is a HUGE JUMP in pq,it,s like seeing it for the first time,it,s not in the same league as Zulu blu-ray,what is?but it is now a worthy blu-ray double feature,watch Zulu Dawn blu-ray first,then Zulu blu-ray,you wont get a better double feature,full praise for the Guys who have restored/remastered Zulu Dawn on blu-ray,for the fans of this film it is a MUST-BUY!!!!!
Now,the bonus for us Brits,this USA blu-ray is REGION FREE!!!!!!and it has very good extras,three wee documentary,s,History of the Zulu Wars,Making of Zulu Dawn,and Visit to the Battlefield,they really are bonus features.One of my friends came to the house yesterday,same age as me,he was amazed at how great this blu-ray looked,I repeat,for any fans of Zulu Dawn this blu-ray is a MUST-BUY!!!!!it,s a 5 out of 5,compared to the dvd.
Cheers,
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning prequel to Zulu, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [Region 2] (DVD)
Zulu with Stanley Baker and Michael Caine is one of my favourite films, and I think some make the mistake of judging Zulu Dawn against Zulu. Though they are about the battles with the Zulu on the same day, they should not be judged against the other, but used as companion pieces. Zulu was the story of a small band on British Soldiers, barely 100, who held out against over 4000 Zulu warriors. It is a more personal film, looking at the triumph for Chard and Bromhead against such odds. At the start of Zulu, you see the Zulu walking through the British dead. That is the aftermath of Zulu Dawn. Zulu Dawn is much less person, more sweeping in statement and scope.
Cy Enfield co-wrote Zulu Dawn with Anthony Story, some 15 years after Zulu,(Enfield half of the Baker-Enfield team that produced ZULU - and interesting to note Anthony Story was the biographer of Stanley Baker), depict the British Colonialism 'Little England' policy and arrogance that contributed to the downfall of the British troops left on the face of Ishlandlwana in January 1879, the greatest defeat of a modern army by natives. Chelmsford, played perfectly by Peter O'Toole, made the first mistake: divided his forces in the face of the enemy, especially when he had no idea where the enemy was. Secondly, the same arrogance left them to camp nearly 1500 and native levees on the open slope of Isandhlwana without forming any sort of defencive works for protection, despite warnings. They ignored Boer sightings of Zulu in the Valley just beyond, because Chelmsford had it set in his mind they were at Ulundi. The stupid rationing of bullets, the way the quartermaster passed them out, saw the unprotected Brits left without any means of defending themselves.
Zulu Dawn is more depressing, because it shows the whole loss of life was so futile, but the film is a beautiful tribute to the soldier of Queen Victoria's Wars, warts, arrogance, stiff upperlip, valour and all.
Utterly mesmerising, deeply moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrayal of Brits in their first battle of the Anglo Zulu Wars, 17 Aug 2006
By 
Mboytiman (South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
The film is excellent for the atmosphere it creates at what it must have been like with 20 odd thousand Zulu's coming at you in full force.

The Zulu battle tactic of the 'horns of a bullalo' are not explained at all in the movie,the fact that the entire camp was surrounded and swallowed up in less than an hour and that it was a total eclipse of the sun on that day, which is important to the Zulu's. As a rule the Zulu's never fight on such a day, but were forced to as their army's whereabouts was discovered.

Melville was given the colours to save on his own. Not as shown in the film.He met Coghill at the Buffalo river, Having crossed the river, they were killed as Coghill was helping Melville climb up the river bank on the far side. Also Durnford stayed with and died with his men, not as shown standing alone on a wagon.Go to rorkesdriftvc for an excellent write up on the battle.

There is an excellent audio cd by David Rattray on the Anglo Zulu Wars, called 'The Day of the Dead Moon' that are a must for those interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rifles and spears in conflict., 3 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The film Zulu Dawn has often suffered in comparison to its predecessor Zulu which is unfortunate for Zulu Dawn is an excellent film in its own right.
It boasts a stellar cast,strong characterisation,stunning scenery and it sticks closely to historical fact.
It tells the true story of the battle of Isandhlwana which was fought prior to Rorkes Drift (on which the 1963 film Zulu was based).As the film progresses one sympathises with the Zulus who are on the receiving end of the scramble for Africa and the rank and file privates in the army who must have wondered why they were in South Africa in the first place.
The battle scenes are carefully staged and although the first half of the film is slow the story is carefully crafted to give a real sense of history.
The scenes of the Officers dining with servants and silver service while a few miles away over 1000 British troops are been massacred is particularly well done .
In conclusion I feel the real power of the film is the fact that it is a true historical event and the soldiers who fought and died thousands of miles from their home are shown as real heroes to the shame of the politicians and diplomats who sent them there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The sound is very poor on this Arrow Films dvd, 18 May 2009
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
I've just compared this dvd briefly to the perfect edition in France by a label called Opening. On this UK dvd by Arrow Films, there is poor sound with crackling right through the film. A bit like being at a cinema back in the 70's! On the dvd by Opening in France, the sound and picture are perfect, no crackling and a slightly sharper picture with English audio (and optional French audio too). I'm returning this dvd to amazon shortly. Buy the dvd from France, the best in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good film but possibly the worst DVD ever made?, 13 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [Region 2] (DVD)
Prequel to the epic Zulu starring Stanley Baxter, Michael Caine and Jack Hawkins, Zulu Dawn became a staple of Boxing Day viewing for me as a kid in the UK. Not quite as good as Zulu, but an entertaining film nonetheless. Magnificent wide vistas of the African landscape are memorable as a cast of thousands representing the Zulu impis overwhelm the severely outnumbered British troops at Isandwhalna. The results lead to the events at Rorke's Drift represented earlier in Zulu. Fine performances by Burt Lancaster (despite an appalling Irish accent) and Simon Ward make the film very watchable, despite confusing scene setting during the early part of the plot.
But the DVD is another matter. By far the worst DVD that I have ever seen, the image presented is grainy and full of dust and scratches and the mono sound track undermines the magnificent battle scenes. But worst still, the "anamorphic" transfer has been a real hatchet job with parts of the image reduced to a fraction of the original. This is most obvious in scenes in which the Zulu dialogue is subtitled in English, where the Zulus' heads are chopped off to accommodate the subtitles. Other scenes have parts of actors' faces talking at the edges of the image with huge empty spaces in between. It goes without saying that such treatement does little to show off the magnificent battle scenes later on in the film.
A complete aberration of a DVD. If this had been the first DVD that I had ever seen, I would have gone vack to my old VHS. Avoid like the plague and hope that if and when Zulu is released on DVD it is given more respect than this effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A historic disaster on a disastrous DVD, 8 Nov 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
"One Zulu is only one man, and I'm afeared of no one man. But the Zulu, they come in the thousands, like a black wave of death in the thousands."

Zulu Dawn isn't in the Zulu league, but if you're interested in the period and can overlook a few historical errors, it's a good addition to that curious subgenre of British epics celebrating their humiliating military defeats. In its determination to set some of the colonial myths straight that it does tend to overlook the Zulus' own imperial ambitions, divided leadership and tactical stupidity, but it's well staged with an exceptionally strong cast of familiar British faces and a wildly miscast Burt Lancaster offering one of the screens worst Oirish accents. The battle's a long time coming, but is worth the wait, and the film is genuinely spectacular, with director Douglas Hickox pulling off a particularly impressive river crossing sequence to the accompaniment of Elmer Bernstein's stirring score. However, if you don't get off on troop deployments and crowd scenes of colourfully clad British soldiers on the veldt, you'll probably find it heavy going.

Sadly, the film has not had a very illustrious career on DVD. Mosaic's original release was taken from the BBC's master and cropped from its original 2.35:1 widescreen ratio to 1.85:1 and with an inferior sound mix (the theatrical release prints had an excellent stereo soundtrack) and no real extras to speak of despite plenty being available. The new DVD from Arrow is finally in the correct 2.35:1 ratio, which is a big plus - but unfortunately the soundtrack is problematic with quite a few irritating incidents of cracks and pops throughout.

It's worth noting, however, that the French PAL disc (released as L'Ultimate attaque) not only boasts a good transfer in the original 2.35:1 ratio with removeable French subtitles and a clearer, albeit mono soundtrack and also includes the theatrical trailer and is well worth seeking out from Amazon.fr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste, 6 July 2010
By 
T. Kelly "tksc14724" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
Wish I'd read some of these reviews before buying this rubbish. The date on the box is 2009 but it's 4:3 letterbox and very grainy. It has to be zoomed and therefore becomes even grainier. This looks like it must have been a beautiful looking movie but here it's a grainy crackly mess. And there are no subtitles or any other special features. It's barely better than bootleg quality.

Best avoid this travesty until somebody does the movie justice. Stick to Zulu. The Blu Ray is astonishingly beautiful, especially for a movie of that age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not anamorph, 9 Jun 2009
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with Mr Wilkinson, it is a disgrace that this decent and epic British classic with an outstanding cast including Burt Lancaster, Peter O'Toole, John Mills, Denholm Elliot and Bob Hoskins, is again only released in bad quality. The first time I bought this film on VHS I had to call distributor Mosaic to complain about the wrong 1,85 format and they sent me a VHS copy with a correct 2,35 ratio. When they released it on dvd they only used the wrong format again. (and it looked awful too)
Don't get your hope up that this is a big improvement.
What does one have to do to get a British classic in the best possible version ? Buy it in France...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a prequel!, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
'Zulu dawn' is one of the best films I have ever watched and is very well directed and presented. It is the prequel to 'Zulu' and talks about the mascre of 1000 British troops. Must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zulu Dawn [DVD]
Zulu Dawn [DVD] by Douglas Hickox (DVD - 2009)
7.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews