Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


171 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new twist
Monopoly is my all-time favourite board game but even I'll admit after probably playing hundreds of games now it can get a bit 'samey'. I got this not long after it was released and have played it numerous times now.

It's best summed up by saying it's similar to Monopoly but different too. The board is arranged in a similar way and the aim of the game is...
Published on 1 Sep 2009 by D. Cole

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For builders not traders
"Monopoly City is exactly like classic Monopoly in lay out, rules, and gameplay". Erm, no it's not.

Monopoly is a "property trading game" - you almost always need to trade to get sets of a colour - and there's almost no trading in this. You can trade, but there's not much incentive to do so. Instead, it's a building game: you can start building...
Published 20 hours ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
terrible game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shade more complex, but a well-executed interpretation, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Graham Rutland (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
Re-imaginings of the classic Monopoly format can be hit and miss. At one end of the scale you have cynical, zero-effort cash-ins like the Doctor Who Monopoly board. Somewhere in the middle lie boards like the admittedly fun albeit rough-around-the-edges Mega edition or the by-the-numbers movie tie-ins. At the other end of the scale lie offerings that have not only gone beyond renaming the squares and introducing a gimmick, but have also done it well. By and large, Monopoly City is one such offering.

The premise remains the same as it ever was - buy properties, develop, collect rent, emerge victorious. But Monopoly City neatly sidesteps two caveats guaranteed to kill the engagement of all but the most ardent of Monopoly players: that moment when you realise that nobody has a hope in hell of getting a set and thereby breaking the stalemate until you trade (adding something of an artifice to the game) or the moment when you realise the entire evening's gone and everybody's too well-entrenched to be bankrupted.

Monopoly City (set in a completely fictional city, sidestepping the need for localisation and providing a breath of fresh air) allows you to develop single properties (or 'districts') from the off, easily and inexpensively. Further, it allows you to set the victory conditions - torpedoing other players in the old style, or calling time at *any* time that suits and counting up each player's worth to determine the winner.

Said development is the game's centrepiece. Gone are the little green houses and red hotels of old (though if you're a Mega fan, skyscrapers play an even bigger role this time around) and in their place are industrial units, office blocks, houses and apartment buildings. Up to 8 'units' can be built in each district, with pieces representing 1, 2 and 3 units (Risk-stylee) adding a real diversity to how cities end up looking and freedom to place the buildings as you wish lending a personality to the whole thing. As a unit is added to a district its rent value increases, but competitors can build hazards such as prisons, power plants, sewage works and rubbish dumps in your districts to make the houses in them worthless until a removal fee is paid. It's not all bad news, as parks, windmills, schools and water towers can be built to protect yourself, or hazard-immune industrial units built instead, albeit at higher cost. The scope for strategy, I am sure, is obvious.

Building and auctioneering (assuming you play the proper auction rules) are handled through a neat little gadget (provided you remember 2 AAA batteries) with two buttons. The auction button starts a time limit of up to 50 seconds in which players can bid and the build button sets red LEDs going to determine whether you can build 1, 2 or 3 properties on your turn, or even a train station, essentially 8 teleport points that can be strategically placed around the board.

Owning multiple districts of the same colour group still yields benefits - own all but one for the right to buy one of the game's two Stadia (adding $1M at a time to the usual $2M for passing go) and own all to be able to build skyscrapers, doubling the rent at a stroke. Own two complete colour groups and gain the right to build the Monopoly Tower, doubling your rent across the board!

It sounds a little bit complex, and that's because at first it is. The M at the end of the monetary figures wasn't a typo either. Take all the Monopoly notes you know and love from $1-500 and add four zeroes to the lot for $10K-$5M. This can make the maths a little trickier for those less adept with numbers, particularly when it comes to counting up at the end. I'm no fan of the cashless Monopoly boards doing the rounds, but this is one board where I might just have forgiven the mechanism.

But the concept largely works, and it helps that the rules have been thoroughly vetted (Mega, stand up and take a walk of shame please) although we found that with two players something of a stalemate was still reached. It's interesting that the game drops the player limit by two to 6, and were it not for the fact that it would eliminate swathes of the buying market, 3 might have been an advisable lower limit.

But that's to detract from a fun, well put-together and imaginative take on the Monopoly formula. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monoply with a twist, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. T. Robinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
I am an avid fan and collector of monopoly. I really enjoy the special additions with extra rule and twists and this one did not dissapoint! The trainstations, the choice of building, esp love the ability to build as soon as you have a property. Board looks brilliant, fresh chance cards and a useful free parking space. ONe of the best editions there has ever been!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monopoly City, 2 May 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
Excellent game - takes Monopoly to a whole new level. Does take a bit of getting used to all the new rules though and wish it had mentioned that AAA batteries are needed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars monopoly city, 5 Jan 2010
By 
L. Frazer (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
i had a really difficult time in getting this for for my daughter for xmas, amazon was the only place i could buy it and im so pleased they were. my daughter and the rest of the family think its brilliant! a really good upgrade to the original and easy to play. would recommend for ages 8 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars monopoly city, 28 Dec 2009
By 
E. Warwick (kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
great family game. instructions not quite detailed enough so had to make up a couple of rules. could do with more buildings as we ran out but had a good competitive couple of hours playing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game, 19 Dec 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
Monopoly has always been a firm favourite in our house and this updated version is lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 9 Jan 2014
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
I gave this to my cousin David for Christmas. He chose it himself.
We used to play connect 4 but David noticed that there are only 4,531,985,219,092 combinations of outcomes in a game and that if we both play well, the person who goes first will always win if they go in the middle first.
David said that was his dentists telephone number but with the numbers mixed up.

Monopoly City has kept him playing for four and a half games, the dice gave David a headache on the fourth game.

Monopoly City is an anagram of My Loopy Tonic, this is why David chose it but he much prefers it to Monopoly Powerpuff Girls Edition.

David always wins at monopoly but its always fun. Especially if you have a stadium because you make more money at GO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not happy, 24 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Robert J. Limburn (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
I brought this as a Xmas present and the idea was that there would be an electronic banker.
when I opened this there was money instead of banker unit and 6 banker cards as it says on the Amazon description.
so overall not too pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monopoly City Board Game
£16.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews