Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


171 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new twist
Monopoly is my all-time favourite board game but even I'll admit after probably playing hundreds of games now it can get a bit 'samey'. I got this not long after it was released and have played it numerous times now.

It's best summed up by saying it's similar to Monopoly but different too. The board is arranged in a similar way and the aim of the game is...
Published on 1 Sep 2009 by D. Cole

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This version is overly complicated - still to the original, its much better
I think it is a great concept, but as a family game i found it overly complicated, too many times we found ourselves having to read the notes which interupted the game over and over again.

As you know, Monopoly is one of those games that you pull out when all the family are around and play together during the holidays but for most of my cousins they found...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by BB_Publications


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

171 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new twist, 1 Sep 2009
By 
D. Cole (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
Monopoly is my all-time favourite board game but even I'll admit after probably playing hundreds of games now it can get a bit 'samey'. I got this not long after it was released and have played it numerous times now.

It's best summed up by saying it's similar to Monopoly but different too. The board is arranged in a similar way and the aim of the game is again to move around the board, collect rent and buy properties and the richest player wins. However, the difference is the way you go about winning (or losing!)

Instead of houses and hotels there are various buildings that can be built, any time on your turn, on any of your properties. You don't have to have all of the colours in a group to build and your buildings now go in the middle of the board (you build a city) and collect increasing values of rent as in Monopoly. Community Chest cards have gone, new Chance cards are in and there is an interesting "rent dodge" card under Free Parking. Stations have been replaced with build a hazard/attraction spaces which stop another player collecting rent/block another player stopping you collecting rent. Electricity Company and Water Works have also gone. I promise you these aren't missed, after the initial "oh, where have they gone?", because of all of the new features. The money has also been revamped, it's not pounds sterling anymore but Monopoly money. It doesn't really make much difference, just more zeros on the end of the notes!

However, the biggest difference for me is that the game forces you to auction properties if you don't buy them on your turn (or you can't afford to buy a property you land on). There are also a few 'auction' spaces on the board. I know Monopoly, if played according to the house rules, made you auction but few people I know did in fact auction. It's good because it speeds the game up and you only have 50 seconds to auction a property off (there's a timer that beeps!) and makes it more exciting.

There are skyscrapers that double your rent if you own all properties in a colour group and the Monopoly Tower doubles the rent of all of your properties!

Overall, a brilliant game that has kept the core features in that made the original Monopoly great but altered a few things to make the game arguably more fun and exciting than the original.

If you loved the original Monopoly but want a different twist to the game; buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 24 Nov 2009
By 
A. Chang - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
I'm a lover of the original monopoly and was tossing up whether to get the old classic or try this one out. The household is very very happy with this version! As previous reviewers have mentioned it is a great remake of a classic game. The board and buildings makes playing fun and looks great!

We have played with 2 to 6 players and have found that it is great fun with all number, but you need to change your tactics depending on the number of people playing, which makes it more interesting.

And it is much faster as well, since there is no need to collect all the colours before building, it brings up the pace of the game.

All around I think that this is a great game and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an upgrade to the normal monopoly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional Game updated for 21st Century, 15 May 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
Monopoly teaches business sense and money management - an education still not found in state schools. The traditional game was great for seventies teenagers (and probably responsible for a whole generation's ability to create wealth through property purchasing). Monopoly City takes potential property ownership to the next level, including the need for an awareness of the impact on property values when town planners introduce non-residential construction into residential areas. If you want your children to understand home and property ownership, get them started early by buying this game, suitable for any child with the numeracy and literacy skills of a 10 year-old. Oh, and my children found it a lot of fun, particularly using all the new possibilities to bankrupt your opponents - such as rendering their residential properties worthless by constructing "black" buildings in districts they own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars monopoly city, 28 Jan 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
I bought this for my 3 nephews for christmas,we played it on boxing day, the rules are a little different from the game i played as a child, but they are an improvement. The rules recommend using the box lid to thow the dice into i think this will reduce the longevity of the box.We all loved it, best of all my 7 year old nephew wrote to me to tell me they had played for 3 hours and he had won. yippie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for the monopoly fans that can't decide which board to buy, 28 Dec 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
If you are unsure of which monopoly game is best to buy, it is this one without any doubt. You do have to fully read the instructions before playing as the game is very different to standard monopoly but the game is fantastic! All the chance cards are different, you can build skyscrapers/monopoly towers/industrial/residential buildings, and you can build without having full sets! I even prefer this game to my previous faveourite of monopoly mega edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new spin on a classic, 5 Dec 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
Its essentially the original monopoly we have all grown to love however with a few differences that make the game more fun and makes you think about things more, the new times that comes makes auctions very frantic and fun as you only have 50 seconds which can cause people to make stupid bids on plots. It's a great game to play with family and friends and highly recommend it. I kinda wish it had the electronic bank like the other versions though as in this game alot of money gets passed around in short periods of time but not much of a biggy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This version is overly complicated - still to the original, its much better, 14 Jan 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
I think it is a great concept, but as a family game i found it overly complicated, too many times we found ourselves having to read the notes which interupted the game over and over again.

As you know, Monopoly is one of those games that you pull out when all the family are around and play together during the holidays but for most of my cousins they found Monopoly City rather tedious trying to get their heads around all the new types of building and the way the rent structure works and just generally learning the new rules, it kind of spoilt our overall enjoyment. I feel they have made this game overlly complicated without just cause, so i recommend you give this one a miss and stick to the original, its much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best version of monopoly i have come across, 9 July 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
Absolutely fantastic. Bought this variant of Regular monopoly to play with my little brother, and i have to say, this is a much better game than the original. Its more dynamic, has more strategy involved, more planning required and, whether you like it or not, a single game tends to take longer.

This version of monopoly changes a lot of things. Community chest is gone, but the chance cards are now much more powerful. The houses and hotels are gone, replaced with a wonderful new set of buildings. Rent is payed depending on how many "blocks" of buildings you have on that property, and these buildings come in two types. Coupled with the new train stations, and the bonus and hazard buildings, and then skyscrapers and the legendary monopoly tower and your in for a ton of fun :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peace !!!, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
The children really loved this kept them quiet for ages
even the smaller ones enjoyed putting the buildings up!
Enjoyable for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do not know what to do? Buy it!, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly City Board Game (Toy)
Honestly, I love Monopoly! I love all the types of it, but this one is totally the best. Skyscrapers? Huge houses? We had so much fun playing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monopoly City Board Game
Monopoly City Board Game by Hasbro Games
40.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews