Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, but be warned if you're using a PC monitor
If you're getting bad image quality, DO NOT blame this cable. HDMI is digital, the cable can't make a picture "fuzzy" or "blurred", it just doesn't happen, it will be your equipment.

The quality of this cable is fine. It's not very heavy duty, and so wouldn't hold a lot oweight or survive a lotof pulling, but then we're not buying tow-cables, right? It...
Published on 12 Feb 2011 by M. CHARMAN

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not work
Did not work for our ps3 amazon gave full refund. Worth a try for what it costs tho. Have since brought a new tv
Published 2 months ago by happy 22


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, but be warned if you're using a PC monitor, 12 Feb 2011
By 
M. CHARMAN (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
If you're getting bad image quality, DO NOT blame this cable. HDMI is digital, the cable can't make a picture "fuzzy" or "blurred", it just doesn't happen, it will be your equipment.

The quality of this cable is fine. It's not very heavy duty, and so wouldn't hold a lot oweight or survive a lotof pulling, but then we're not buying tow-cables, right? It transfers my PC image to another device completely perfectly, and vice-versa.

Be warned however - yes, HDMI and DVI use the same signalling, but HDMI only has a small set of resolutions that work, and some computer monitors insist on a set resolution on their DVI input. This means if you setup your HDMI output device (say a DVD or BluRay player) and hook it up to your PC monitor's DVI input, you may find that the DVD player can't output at a compatible resolution. When this happens, you either get no picture, or you get a resized picture that will look out of focus or distorted. Also be aware that HDMI colour profiles are different to computer colour profiles, so you may find the image is washed out. If this happens you need to adjust the black point and white point on the monitor, as well as brightness/contrast and colour - without all these controls, forget it, and just buy an LCD TV instead.

As for the other way around, DVI to HDMI, again you may experience issues, but these are not the cable. In my case, my PC needed to have a custom mode created at a resolution that suited my TV. Result, I can now play my PC games on my large 32" TV... but the quality is not as good as the VGA input. The reason for this is simple - the TV VGA input can be set to 1360x768, the exact resolution of the screen... but the HDMI input has to be 720p or 1080i, or 1080p, none of which match up exactly with the pixels on the TV, and the result is a scaled, and so slightly blurred, image. However, VGA cables are far thicker and not as easy to handle.

Conclusion - brilliant cable, but check your equipment's compatibility before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works with Raspberries, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
Grabbed one of these so I could plug a HDMI device into my monitor which was DVI only. I was pleased to find that it was packaged in a simple amazon cardboard box - no horrible plastic packaging in sight!

The cable itself feels firm and unless I decide to continuously flex and strain the cable for a few years I can't see it breaking anytime soon.

After plugging one end into my Raspberry Pi and the other into my monitor, I saw an image. What else can i say? It works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Basics 3M HDMI to DVI cable, 24 Feb 2010
By 
S. Thomas - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is quite a relief to discover that Amazon can supply the `haberdashery' of electronics as well as major kit because I usually end up on a trek to a specialist shop. It was also pleasing to note that the Basics range has a premium feel (robust branded glove to the connectors, gold finish on the metal and black cable). True, it is only a cable but attention to detail gives reassurance about underlying quality.

On which note, yes it works fine in connecting the HDMI out on my PC (which has only one DVI out) to a second DVI monitor. If you are considering adding a second monitor to your PC, a week in to discovering the pleasure of having a two monitor set up it is difficult to imagine how I managed before. Amazon seem to have most of the permutations of cable needed if you find as I did that you are short of a connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality and most importantly cheap!, 22 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
There is not much to say about a cable like this. It does what it is supposed to do, namely take a digital signal from a DVI port to an HDMI port. As the signal is digital, there is no need to pay any more for expensive cables, as there will be zero difference in picture quality. Also, the frustration free packaging is certainly welcome.

So to sum up:

-It does the job well
-It is fairly cheap
-Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not work, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
Did not work for our ps3 amazon gave full refund. Worth a try for what it costs tho. Have since brought a new tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best HDMI to DVI adapter, 28 April 2014
By 
Mr. Zsolt Ero - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
When looking for HDMI to DVI adapters I'm always buying this one and recommend it to my friends. Very high quality thick cable, high quality connectors, never had any problem with one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does as should, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
It's a HDMI to DVI converter, what more can i say. Does as it's suppose to and looks quite nice with the amazon on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made product., 13 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
I needed this for attaching my Raspberry Pi to an old flat screen monitor. It worked just fine. Quality of the lead is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as described., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
It came within a reaonable time and works just as I thought it would. I used it to connect my raspberry pi to my old monitor, witch didn't support HDMI. All in all good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made kit, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics HDMI to DVI Adapter Cable 9.8 Feet / 3.0 m (Electronics)
Good quality, well made kit at a good price. Gold contacts and a sturdy cable, perfect for use in place of an adaptor and cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews