Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has This Film Got The 'X' Factor?
I have never been a fan or fantasy or such like films, but after this film was recommended to me by a friend i thought why not just watch it and see if it was any good. So, i did, rather skeptically i will admit. However, before long i was really getting into and i was starting to grip the edge of my seat. By the end i was quite shocked at how good it was.
I mean,...
Published on 16 Nov. 2003 by no1filmaddict

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no country for old men . . .
. . . unless you're Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen, that is, both of whom are even older than I am. OR if you're seriously interested in special effects in movies, this certainly provides you with plenty to think about. However, I think I was born too late to be interested in the SE, so I have to decide on familiar grounds of narrative quality and thematic interest,...
Published 1 month ago by Stanley Crowe


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has This Film Got The 'X' Factor?, 16 Nov. 2003
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have never been a fan or fantasy or such like films, but after this film was recommended to me by a friend i thought why not just watch it and see if it was any good. So, i did, rather skeptically i will admit. However, before long i was really getting into and i was starting to grip the edge of my seat. By the end i was quite shocked at how good it was.
I mean, you can be really picky about certain things that they have missed out from the comics, but as i, and a large majority of others in the world have never read them anyway, i guess it don't really matter.
I have seen quite a number of films before, which have tended to be either action or martial arts, but suprisingly this really measures up. I would not hesitate to watch this again and i look forward to watching sequel and any others which they might make.
So, in answer to my original question, Has this film got the 'X' factor? Well, i would say YES definatly! And i would also say BUY THIS NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Three, 11 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Yes, yes, yes, yes. This movie rocks. In fact, I can't think of a single reason not to buy it.

Let's start with the cast. The two juggernauts Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart are in the centre of this epos, going head to head against each other - one militant using force to establish a new world order where mutants are at the top, the other wishing to build bridges between mutants and humans for a better understanding; justice and peace for all. Then there's Halle Berry (hot as usual) as a quite convincing Storm, Famke Janssen as the graceful Jane Grey, Anna Paquin as the fugitive Rogue and Hugh Jackman as the wild and mysterious Wolverine. There is not - in my opinion - a single cast member who does not play his/her part well, and they are all well-suited for their respective roles.

The plot is what makes this film stand out. The focus is on the difference in philosophy between the two old friends Xavier and Magneto, the appearance of a new powerful mutant named Rogue and her encounter with the loner Wolverine. The film is an introduction to the story of the X-men, and is very well suited as the beginning of a trilogy. Wolverine is an important character: basically, he's a mystery. He doesn't remember much about his past, and throughout this film (and indeed in the next) he quests to learn more about himself while at the same time opening the door to his heart in one rare instance for the vulnerable Rogue, who is placed in the middle of the battle between two old friends who have different views on the relationship between humans and mutants.

The film will leave you with a desire for more. Trust me when I say you don't really need it. This film yields a preliminary result of a continuing battle between the two great old men, and that's the way it should be. You can always continue the story yourself, in your own imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We are the future Charles, not them!", 11 May 2006
By 
C. O'toole "bigcon" (co. down N ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
2000's X-Men saw the first of the really high calibre super-hero franchises of the 21st century, The X-men, Spidey, the Hulk(come on it was all right!) to name but a few. Like the beginning of all great franchises, whilst being a film of small scope, it hints at huge back stories and since its character development was so interesting, the moolah that it generated financed the more detailed and excellent X2.

It opens to bleached rainy 1944 in the jewish ghetto where a young Jewish boy is wrenched from his parents in a tear jerking sequence. The wire gate bends and buckles to his anger, he is knocked unconscious by the butt of a rifle... The themes of discrimination could not be hammered home more bluntly. We move to the near future where a young girl in the first flush of love is agonisingly separated from her loved ones because she is different with dangerous powers. We move to a sweaty dingy cage where a feral young Clint Eastwood look alike dominates the ring, yet he is a tortured individual with a backstory. These miscreants are given shelter by Charles Xavier at his "special" academy. These mutants are feared and ostracised by society especially ambitious Senator Kelly who wants a mutant registration act. Charles Xavier believes in the good of mankind but Eric Lensha (our boy from WW2) is bitter and wants to dominate mankind. The film floats between super hero cheese but keeps a foot in reality and this is why it's been such a success with the outsiders in fact Bryan Singer feels it has a Gay connotation! This may or not be true but this is a very satisfying and thought provoking film with an occasional burst of humour. When Wolverine is asked to verify that he's the real deal and not a doppelganger by Cyclops he utters"You're a Dick!" revealing hid identity and true love rival sentiments.Anna Paquin is excellent as Rogue, Halle Berry is beautiful and is storm, Ian McKellen hams it up as Magneto and good old Darth Maul/ Ray Park crops up as Toad. X2 kept up the quality and consistency and X3 looks like a belter! Good old Frasier himself blue and furry as the Beast, Real hard man Vinny Jones as the Juggernaut, the re emergence of "Angel" my Marvel salivary glands are going wild ,it's like a roll call of old mates from the Marvel comics of my Youth but Singer a true genius wisely avoided putting Wolverine into yellow spandex, a fact he alludes to in the film! Bring it on X3! JOIN THE EVOLUTIONNN!!!!(eh!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X-Men, 18 Jan. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The thing is when you sit down to watch a film like this; you shouldn't be expecting acting of Shakespearian standards, a subtle plot and sensitive subjects. What you're really after is a good chunk of action, some great special effects and a fun filled storyline to keep you going to the end. With X-Men you get that and plenty more besides.
Hugh Jackman is great to watch as the "lead mutant" and how great to see Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart trying to outdo each other in the ham-acting stakes. Another mention must go to the superb sets which give the film a wonderful futuristic feel. Couple that with some amazing special effects and the ingredients for an entertaining evening come together nicely.
Another great plus point is that the film has no pretence about it; it knows it is a comic-book action flick and tries to be nothing more. There no stuffing of morals down your throat as comic-books sometimes try to do, and any points the director makes are done with real skill and therefore work so much better than if he'd rammed the "discrimination is bad" message home over and over again.
Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X-citing and X-ceptional fun!, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: X-Men [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film, along with ‘Blade’, could easily be the ones responsible for the current regeneration of the superhero / comic-book movie. Direct Bryan Singer brought a fresh look to a genre long since stale with exciting characters, cutting edge special effects and a cast of top name stars to deliver fun, fast and exciting action and story work for a franchise backed up with an extensive back catalogue.

Thankfully for tip-toeing into the make or break world of superhero adaptations with a wealth of comic book history to rely on, the plot relies on no previous knowledge of the X-Men to understand and follow. Of course there are plenty of nods to the Marvel universe for die-hard fans to note, but for the general audience it’s a simple story of good mutant vs bad mutant vs humanity in a fight to survive and save man-kind. It’s exciting and dangerous, but fun and witty at the same time thanks to the cast who embody the characters as if they were born to play them on-screen to make them far more likeable and enjoyable to watch than could be imagined.

It’s easy to see the growing appeal for Hugh Jackman making Wolverine a more likeable character than he could have played him, appealing to all audiences and paving a strong lead for the franchise. But you can’t knock any of the cast at all to be honest; Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen play old friends and enemies that you believe has just been ongoing for decades, and fellow X-Men Famke Janssen, Halle Berry, James Marsden and Anna Paquin equally show a great deal of raw emotion, wit and pathos in a story that is very tender and deals with the strong subjects of isolation, betrayal, loss and acceptance of who you are.

The threat of communism in the 1960s and racism in the 1970s creeps into the plot, but without ever being in your face as it just makes the story more believable, more relevant and more fitting for modern society rather than spanning some out-of-this-world alien-esque plot.

Yes, sadly some of the actors are under-used with such a wealth of talent where you wish you could see more of them and the foundations are placed for greater character development in future films as we just skim the surface of some of the team, but it’s a minor argument in an otherwise enjoyable film. Carried along by hard-hitting action sequences and bone-crunching fights (a stand out duel between Mystique and Wolverine is both exciting and thrilling), dry humour and the use of cutting-edge CGI in the year 2000, it’s a slick and exciting trip into the super-hero universe of Marvel’s X-Men that launched a craze unlike modern cinema goers haven’t experience for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "There is a war coming. Are you sure you're on the right side?", 5 July 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: X-Men [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The first film of a new franchise is always tricky, trying to satisfy existing fans and introduce the characters to a new audience is an almost thankless task - you can't please everyone, but X-Men succeeds, mostly...

Starting the film at a Nazi concentration camp instantly gives it gravitas - this isn't a silly superhero film, it means business and seeing a young boy twisting the metal of the gates separating him from his parents as he stands terrified is an incredibly effective opening. Straight away this becomes a human story and we can sympathise with the villain, he's not a one dimensional baddy - he has a history, a past which gives him a motive to resent humankind.

The strength of the X-Men film is that it is grounded in reality, the political struggles the mutants experience reflect the social movements of the twentieth century where prejudice is driven by fear and ignorance. The 'real world' feel means that the film can pull off a farfetched plot without it looking ridiculous as the 'X-Men' from Charles Xavier's school for gifted youngsters find themselves pitted against Magneto and his disdain for non-mutants. The main story itself isn't very complex, but the real substance comes from the more subtle relationships, particularly between new members Logan and Marie who find that integrating with their own kind isn't always that easy.

Black leather outfits look edgy and help to give the film a dark feel, bright costumes wouldn't have been in keeping with the tone - in fact, surely a highlight for the fans was Cyclops' "yellow spandex" comment, a great nod to the original comics. The visual effects in X-Men perhaps aren't as grand as the ones in the X-Men 2, but they are still very well executed and will please those wanting action but not at the expense of drama. This is a film which benefits from some tremendous acting talent, both Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen have great screen presence and their performances as the two opposing leaders of their own very different cause brings not only a theatrical sincerity, but also a warmth which makes them both so incredibly likeable. Instead a of a simplified good versus evil battle, this is a clash of two very distinct philosophies from two great minds who understand and respect each other. You get a genuine sense that there is a long history between them, although they oppose each other there's also an underlying fondness which gives their adversarial interaction a magnetic quality (pardon any pun). Although it's hard to imagine anyone else as Wolverine now, Hugh Jackman was something of a surprise casting and many were sceptical that he could fill such big shoes - he did of course, and brilliantly so. His growling, rough-around-the-edges portrayal adds to the mystery of the man, along with Magneto and Xavier, Wolverine's story carries the film, he too is a well developed character with enough humour and compassion to make him lovable.

This blu-ray release looks bright with details well rendered. The film looks great in high definition, though it isn't too kind to some of the special effects; the CGI on Wolverine's claws look a bit obvious at times! In terms of bonus features, this isn't much of an upgrade from the DVD release - personally I didn't have the DVD and so the extras seem more impressive to me. Extended scenes are nice to have - but don't bother watching included within the film, I think they're in standard definition and the detail looks a bit 'mushy' when sandwiched inside the main Hi-Def feature. The best additional feature is the documentary "Evolution X" which runs for over two hours and explores all aspects of production, though it does get a bit repetitive with some areas touched on several times!

In a nutshell: This was a film to make or break the X-Men film franchise, and thankfully it was handled well. This succeeds where The Fantastic Four movies failed, visual effects aren't enough - you need characters you can believe in, on both sides. X-Men sows seeds, introduces mystery, and asks questions we want to see concluded, it makes you want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impossible mission accomplished, 25 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I've talked to many avid X-Men comic fans and this was really the film that they had been dying to see since they first picked up the comic book.
To see it finally on film is probably something I personally have been waiting for since I was about 7 (many many moons ago) and to say I was impressed was an understatement.
Making a film from a comic book is hard. You have to appeal to the die hards "It's not close enough to the story line; its not in depth enough; Rogue doesn't look like THAT!" and to the mass market "What the hell is an x-man?" means you have to make sacrifices on both sides to get the ideal movie.
This has HUGE potential to fail - but the balance is right in this movie.
Instead of trying to appeal to fans with deep characterisations of all characters (10 hour movie, anyone?) they've concentrated on Wolverine and Rogue, balanced off against the die hards moaning that their fave character isn't in it enough (wait for the next movie, will ya!)
Instead of revealing the entire history of the Xavier/Magneto saga (which after 100's of comics still hasn't been resolved) they've given what I consider the ideal solution - brief history, but not much detail (die hards complain again, but it is in the spirit of the books!).
And instead of trying to follow the complex plot lines (who REALLY knows the history of Wolverine - anybody?) they've stuck to the basics - he himself isn't really sure.
I get the feeling that they have spent WEEKS just discussing how to execute this movie, and I for one think the result far exceeds most people's expectations - however, like any crossover movie, everyone is gonna have their winge about how it wasn't EXACTLY what they wanted.
If I was you, I'd leave your mind open and just watch Wolverine and Sabretooth fight it out : )
And where was Gambit?
:-p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Comic Book Movie, 5 Oct. 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As far as bringing comic books/games to the screen, this has to be the best so far. The filming, sound and acting are great. The only reason I feel I did not give it 5 stars is that I just finished watching "The Perfect Storm" the same day...and the acting does not compare... But if you like reading the X-men comic, you must have this film. The DVD gives you a lot of extras. And for a comic book, there is a very good story line. Wolverine's creation seems to need its own movie. Everyone else is born a mutant.... Of course the comic book as is the movie, is a statement on how the majority treats minorities they do not understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine film, 28 July 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
X-Men is the best comic strip adaptation I've seen to date. It has all the excitement and special effects that you'd expect, together with a class of acting that you don't see in many other films of this type.

The story concerns the two factions of the X-Men. X-Men are mutations from normal humans. One is lead by Professor Xavier (Patrick Stewart) and the other by Magneto (Sir Ian McKellen). Xavier believes the X-Men can work with humans. Magneto wants to destroy humanity and in a brilliant opening scene (shot in black & white) set during the 2nd world war we see he has some justification for this view. Patrick Stewart and in particular Ian McKellan are the main reasons to see this film. They add a certain gravitas to the proceedings that takes the movie to a different level. Having said that Hugh Jackman and the rest of the cast are all good.

It always helps to have a good director and Bryan Singer (The Usual Suspects) does a great job. There are some excellent set pieces and the film is kept to a sensible length. This is well worth buying at the right price as it does hold up to repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no country for old men . . ., 27 Jan. 2015
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: X-Men [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
. . . unless you're Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen, that is, both of whom are even older than I am. OR if you're seriously interested in special effects in movies, this certainly provides you with plenty to think about. However, I think I was born too late to be interested in the SE, so I have to decide on familiar grounds of narrative quality and thematic interest, and there the movie falls short. It's always nice to hear Stewart and McKellen speak their lines, no matter what the movie, but as far as the story is concerned, it just too flat thematically to be of interest to anyone over eight. One guy wants to dominate the world; another believes that we can all get along . . . but, of course, as long as the bad guy exists, then the good guy is going to need serious backup. Cue explosions, chases, and various gymnastics. I don't dismiss a serious interest in special effects video as in itself trivial, but it's not for me. That there's a market for this kind of movie is clear enough, so if it's to your taste, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men [Blu-ray]
X-Men [Blu-ray] by Bryan Singer (Blu-ray - 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews