Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never without it
I have puchased a number of products in the past but none have been so easy to use or accurate. It works on your belt or pocket with no obvious loss of accuracy. You can go back a number of weeks to see if you have met your target steps which encourages you to get out and exercise.

A good buy.
Published on 10 Sep 2010 by Foz

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inacurate results
I have two of these Omron units, the walking style III and the walking style X.

Coming from an engineering/scientific background I naturally tested them and compared their results. They are both current models from the same manufacturer.

Sadly I found they differed wildly in the steps reported. I tried identical positions and orientation to no...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by J. A. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never without it, 10 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
I have puchased a number of products in the past but none have been so easy to use or accurate. It works on your belt or pocket with no obvious loss of accuracy. You can go back a number of weeks to see if you have met your target steps which encourages you to get out and exercise.

A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stepped up to the mark, 3 April 2010
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
i bought this item for my wife who is taking part in a charity half marathon and she needed someting to record has far she was walking. this product ticked all the boxes both pre-purchase and when it was received. even though initially the instructions looked a little daunting with there being two instruction manuals - one wasn't needed as it did nto contain any instructions in english - once everything was set up it was all stations go and she has been able to log down all the walking that she has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omron walking style x pedometer, 3 Jun 2010
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
Very pleased with this pedometer, easy to use and small enough to put in pocket or clip onto trousers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and reliable, 13 May 2011
By 
D. Lawrence (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
I've used a number of pedometers down the years but for the last 10 years or so I've settled on the Walking Style range for their accuracy and simplicity - I've even seen them used in the NHS. Accuracy is important since a simple 100 pace test will reveal that many pedometers fail to register a significant percentage of quite normal steps. And the accuracy doesn't depend on keeping the thing at the right angle or in a special position, as with some others. Mine stays in my pocket all day.

I read one review here which said that it wasn't possible to track a specific period of exercise, only a whole day at a time. If the comment was about the Walking Style X then it's incorrect because this new version has added a trip mode which can be reset without affecting the overall readings and will record anything from a few minutes to a few days. Outside of trip mode the memory stretches back 7 days. Someone else complained that it didn't claim to be accurate for jogging: I suppose the clue is in the word `Walking'. Yet another user found that his unit reset itself; I can only say that has never happened to me in years of use.

One of the best features is that the Walking Style series forces me to be a little more honest about exercise. It uses the same exertion measurement system that I have on a (much more expensive) exercise watch. So I can't kid myself that I've necessarily had the proper amount of exercise just because I've done X thousand steps. The device will measure all your steps but it will also record how many of them were brisk enough to have had a training effect and provide a weekly target in terms of the increasingly widely used `Ex' units. If I don't meet the target I can at least feel a bit guilty about it - and that has to be worth some calories.

It doesn't look as sexy as some of the others around - including more expensive Omron models - but it will sit in your pocket and it will do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and reliable, 17 Oct 2011
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
I've owned several different styles of Omron pedometer over the last 6 years. I always prefer the rectangular ones to the round ones, as these seem to be more practical for day to day usage. The Walking Style X is simple to set up for your personal use (asks about weight/height/stride length) and many of the functions work in the same way as on previous models. Though there's a comprehensive instruction manual that comes with it.

The pedometer is practical, accurate (when walking) and gives a range of useful readings - including number of steps and the amount of time taken, an exercise mode to examine short-term usage, distance walked and calories burned. The device also has a long-ish term memory, storing 7-day/4-weekly data. The pedometer is designed to measure walking activity and so can be less accurate on e.g. jogging, cycling - but since it really isn't meant to assess these activities, I have no issues here.

My only complaint - for some reason Omron have decided to include a screwdriver with the Walking Style X. This could be handy as the battery door opens and closes via a very, very small recessed screw. However, the supplied screwdriver has a flat head that is significantly larger than the Phillips head screw used on the battery door closure. You can - with fiddling - get the battery door opened using this screwdriver, but it's much easier if you happen to have a small-sized electronics screwdriver with the proper Phillips head and doesn't risk scraping the pedometer. Seems a bit daft including a tool to help with an awkward job, that doesn't do the job properly! Otherwise, a nicely made, nicely designed bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars resetting, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
I wanted an accurate pedometer and this is it --- but if you want to record two separate distances on the same day, there is no way to zero the distance walked. You have to subtract the total from the first or multiply the steps , which you can zero, by the step length. Not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OMRON PEDOMETER, 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
Good design with lots of useful features. It works very well. Good aid to keeping fit. I use it a lot of the time and it has proved useful in demonstrating to me just how much exercise I have done on a given day. Often you think you have done more than you actually have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Use it every day but..., 2 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
Good accurate device - I use it every day BUT...

The premise is that it counts your activity based over a week. However - the time resets if you drop the device - meaning that the day count goes out of sync and such your activity targets. It does this because of the toleance on the battery against the connector which moves when dropped or knocked. When you've got a few days left an the clock resets it tells you that you have to do more excercise than is due - which could be quite dangerous for some. But like so many gadgets I buy with design issues - the suppliers are rarely interested...

I have used it every day and would buy another despite it's limitations. Pretty accurate too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get walking, 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
The Omron walking style x pedometer is a great gadget to own.
i have used it since getting it weeks ago, lets you see how many kcals
that you burn off ,and how many km you walk. would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Omron Walking Style X Pedometer, 16 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. Y. Callaghan "voo" (Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Omron Walking Style X Pedometer (Sports)
This pedometer is excellent. It is very accurate and is versatile to use because it can go in a bag, in your pocket and if you purchase a neck strap it can be worn around the neck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Omron Walking Style X Pedometer
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews