Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this band not up there with Zep, Sabbath, Purple, Whitesnake, Rainbow etc?
I own all of the pivotal albums by most of the major rock bands. Briefly remembered the name UFO when I was a 10-year-old at the tail end of the 70s and the association with Michael Schenker and the MSG (written on the back of every denim jacket!). Never paid them any attention (assumed them to be substandard Heavy Metal Band) until last week when I was trying to find new...
Published on 14 April 2010 by Francis R. Brennan

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The '99 remaster is league's ahead of this poor sounding tinny reissue.
It's pointless me saying anything against the musicianship on this album because it's incredible,top class musicians playing so tight and as another reviewer said a band at the height of their powers,with tracks like Only you can rock me and Pack it up you just cant go wrong, brilliant.
But these 2008 remasters are poor,really tinny and no life to them, Comparing...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by The Lost Golfer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this band not up there with Zep, Sabbath, Purple, Whitesnake, Rainbow etc?, 14 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
I own all of the pivotal albums by most of the major rock bands. Briefly remembered the name UFO when I was a 10-year-old at the tail end of the 70s and the association with Michael Schenker and the MSG (written on the back of every denim jacket!). Never paid them any attention (assumed them to be substandard Heavy Metal Band) until last week when I was trying to find new music to buy on Amazon. Listened to 'Force It' because I recalled the striking cover with the couple in the shower which my best mate's older brother had when I was a kid. Listened to this album and thought it was top notch and not remotely Heavy Metal! Immediately listed to Phenomenon, No Heavy Petting, Lights Out, Obsession and Strangers in the Night and all of these brilliant with not a single duff track on any of them and highly varied material as well with straight ahead rockers mixed with strings, sparkling keyboards and recorders! Really warmed to Phil Mogg's voice so it was not just about Schenker's riffs. Hence I bought them all. I've just belatedly come to the conclusion that this is one of most under-rated bands of the 70s, with a stellar run of 6 brilliant albums and I'm amazed that they are virtually now forgotten. I subscribe to Classic Rock, Uncut, Mojo and Q and never a mention of UFO. All Music Guide rated Lights Out, Force It and Strangers in the Night highly (and the other 3 less so) but to be honest all of the 6 aforementioned albums are equally as good. Buy them all! Incidentally I work with a few late 40-something German colleagues and not one of them have ever heard of Michael Schenker! They had heard of Page and Blackmore! Re-evaluation of the merits of UFO is required ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Landmark Rock Album, 25 July 2008
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
Another nice re-master of a truly landmark rock album. This was the final masterpiece of the classic line up of the seventies, never to be equalled until "Walk on Water" brought them back together. The mix again brings forward the trademark Schenker licks and bolsters the rhythm section to compliment the orchestral arrangements and top notch original production by Ron Nevison. The guitar work by Schenker soars even higher on "Ain't no Baby", still one of my favorite moments here along with classics like "Cherry", "Hot n Ready", "You Don't Fool Me", "Only You Can Rock Me", hell every track is just majestic.
Of course I had to own a copy but I wonder if Mr Schenker was consulted regarding the bonus material. Back in the day he was a stinker for perfection and probably wouldn't be happy with the guitars in the bonus live material here which is the weakest of all the re-releases to date. "Hot n Ready" , a live set opener is not the best vocally, in fact i've never heard a better version than the recorded one. The other tracks "Pack it up and Go" and "Ain't no Baby" are OK but they must have been scratching around to find something worthwhile to add. As a life long Schenker fan I have to admit you won't find a better version of "Pack it up and Go" than the live studio footage on the Showtime DVD with Vinnie Moore on guitar.
So buy this along with "Force It", "Phenomenon", "No Heavy Pettin", "Lights Out" and "Strangers in the Night" and you've got all the major UFO sitings of the 70's covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Rock Solid", 26 Aug 2003
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
Coming inbetween the albums "Lights Out" and the live "Strangers in the night","Obsession" continued the high standard now expected from the band.As well as the usual uptempo rock numbers,
like "Pack It Up(And Go)","Hot'N'Ready" and of course the classic "Only You Can Rock Me"(inspiration for Spinal Taps "Tonight we're gonna rock you,tonight"?).The album also contains some of the Way/Mogg writing teams most effective ballads,like "Born To Lose" and the fantastic "Looking Out For
No.1",a perfect blend of soulfull lyrics,a great sing along chorus and a fine arrangement with strings that really showed that UFO were up with the best rock bands of the day,
(it even gets a short instrumental reprise ).In the post punk U.K. of 1978,"Obsession" managed a credable chart placing of no.26,not bad as heavy rock was'nt often given airplay back then.
The cover is another great bit of seventies Hipgnosis design,
all the best Rock bands used them ,to "sort out the artwork".
Apparently when viewing the finished design,Michael Schenker
asked in all innocence "..Why have'nt I got any balls?".
To sum up,"Obsession" is UFO doing what they do best,recorded during a stable line-up period!I loved it when I was seventeen and I still love it today,and that's not just nostalgia talking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars british metal at its best, 11 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
probably the finest studio recording from one of the finest exponents of british metal these shores has ever seen. michael schenker's guitar playing contains some of the finest moments he has ever recorded,blending melodic and searing solos as only he knows how.this was a glorious statement of british rock from a band that were at the pinnacle of their career.listen and enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive UFO Album, 19 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
This has to be the most played album of my teenage years. Everyone in my year at school played this album to death, (thanks Murph, RIP) it was the 1st record I ever did a home tape from & it still stands up today as one of the best rock albums ever made - one of my top 5 ever!
The entire album is awsome, the highlights of which have to be the sublime "Looking out for Number 1" (which has one of my favourite "less is more" guitar breaks in it) as well as the classic "Only You Cab Rock Me"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 4 July 2008
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
If I had to choose one album to be stranded on a desert island with it this is it. A band and producer at the very top of their game, setting the standards for the rest to envy. Simply majestic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Guitar-Work, Superb Songs, 10 Jun 2007
By 
Robert Knowles "109Rob" (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
This is one of the all-time classic hard rock albums. I agree with the other reviewer who says that Schenker and Mogg bring out the best in each other, and this album and the next studio album they did together 18 years later (Walk on Water) prove it. Having said this, it should be noted that Schenker frequently reaches this guitar-playing standard without Mogg - though Mogg is probably Schenker's best song-writing partner.

Anyway - to the record in hand. Only You Can Rock me is a superb opening track with a haunting melodic solo in the middle that has to be one of rock's timeless great moments. Pack it Up and Go is a great-song that simultaneously show-cases Schenker's talents. Arbory Hill slows things down nicely before the more ballad-like Ain't No Baby and Lookin' Out for No. 1. These two tracks have to number among the greatest rock melodies ever written - Schenker and Mogg prove they're the best on these. Hot 'n' Ready is a nother guitar-show-caser without losing any song quality, whilst Cherry is a superb song that brings Pete Way's bass more to the fore, but is also typical of the high standards Mogg was reaching at the time. You Don't Fool Me is a haunting number where the song-writing remains top-notch and Schenker adds some of his best guitar-work, creating atmosphere with some of his post WWII air-raid siren allusions (careful listening to Schenker's work often highlights post-war allusions). One More for the Rodeo is a great track that highlights just how well this classic UFO line-up work together as a team - it isn't just about the guitar-work with UFO, but about the song. Born to Lose is a superb ballad with absolutely incredible guitar work by Schenker to finish off the album.

Taken as a whole, Obsession is actually quite a melancholic album. Yet, somehow, by a kind of haunting dark osmosis, the listener is taken into their ownmost moments of longing, regret, or hope. Something deeper happens with Obsession than happens with Lights Out (the previous album). I must stress that you will not find guitar-work to match the standard Schenker achieves here at age 23 anywhere else (except on some of Schenker's other material). Yet, the album creates its own world and takes the listener into that world where it is this journey, rather than mere musicianship, that makes this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Final Masterpiece, 13 Feb 2007
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
In terms of studio output this album signified the end of the "classic line up" to the dismay of myself and many young rock fans back in the late seventies. But what a masterpiece they recorded to bow out with! The general consensus amongst reviewers seem to agree that these heights were not reached again until this line up reformed for "Walk on Water". The guitar work really soars especially on "Ain't No Baby" and "Lookin' Out for No. 1" without being over indulgent. "Hot 'n' Ready" really rocks and "Cherry" is yet another showpiece for Moggy's lyrics and vocals. Although not one of my personal favourites "Only You Can Rock Me" finally gave UFO credible chart success and a commercial rock anthem to rival "Doctor Doctor". All round fabulous must have UFO album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping hard rock alive, 5 Jun 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
Not exactly a trailblazing band, UFO. They followed, but if you've got the class they had when they made 'Obsession' and just get on with it, you can make a great album, which this is. 'Only You Can Rock Me' is the obvious choice to open the album, a statement of what they do best here, hard, driving rock. 'Pack It Up' is startling for the prominence of the Zep-like drum rhythms. UFO augment some of the music, notably 'Lookin' Out For No. 1', with orchestra, but this underlines rather than interferes. 'Hot 'n' Ready' and 'Cherry', performances of which have been added as bonuses to the 'Strangers In The Night' live album, are also among UFO's best recordings. There are two brief, gentle interludes which serve to give the listener breathing space in what is otherwise an unrelenting, belligerent album. Only the poignant 'Born To Lose' is softer and that is more 'power-ballad' (for want of a better term) than pop song. As usual, Michael Schenker has several breathtaking moments, but 'Obsession' is more about a great rock band flexing their muscles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ufo orbits different planet, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Obsession (Audio CD)
one of the best albums from '78 probably only bettered by van halen's debut and i use that album as a reference point,surely this album should have fired UFO to the top along side Van halen? is there no justice in the rock world?

I personally rate VH's debut as my all time favourite studio album yet even that couldnt match the incendiary opening to this disc!,namely,'Only You Can Rock Me' & the stunning 'Pack It Up & Go'(my fav Ufo track),certainly 'Arbory Hill' takes a bit of getting used to ,recorders and all!The high quality mark is served by the swaggering 'Aint no baby' & the string laden atmospherics of 'Lookin Out For No1'.

The album continues in the same vein heavy rockers satisfied by 'Hot N Ready', 'One More For The Rodeo' & the badco/zep like strutting 'You Dont Fool Me' finally coming to a close with the outstanding 'Born To Lose' which pretty much could have been the bands epitath.

bonus tracks: probably the poorest of all the schenker era remaster's,3 average live tracks which you'll only listen to a couple of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Obsession
Obsession by UFO
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews