Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Oustanding Production
Immediately after watching the film premiere on the BBC back in March 2008, I knew that this would be a film for keeps and I've been waiting for the DVD release so that I can watch the film again. It's brilliant.

The film was released as the first in a series to be continued by the BBC, with the filming for the remainder of the episodes due to begin in the...
Published on 23 Nov 2008 by S. Barnes

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I feel cheated
I love this series including the books. This is advertised as the full series but it is not. The final episode is missing.
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by Gavin


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botswana detective, 13 Sep 2009
By 
K. J. Howes "desert guy" (WIndhoek Namibia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Storytelling at its very best and the actors have done a great job of portraying the characters in the book

A very good buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great family movie, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Annie Sargent (Toulouse, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The books were a lot of fun, but this movie is even better in many ways, warm, Mma Ramotswe is younger than I imagined her, a more complex character, beautiful scenery, great acting, directing, the whole package.

This show is rated for children over 12 probably because of a plot line towards the end of the show where a man is mutilating children for vodoo purposes. Thankfully we never see any mutilating, only a small piece of bone. The vodoo man is menacing looking, but we don't see him do anything awful. I think it may go right over the head of younger children.

I look forward to the TV series, but in the meantime I highly recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endlessly pleasant viewing, 1 Jun 2009
By 
Every character in this film has been cast well and in some cases brilliantly. Jill Scott is marvelous - and what an authentic accent she has for an American! - she brings her character to life.
The stories themselves are beautiful and well-written and the film has been scripted well also. I can hardly wait to see the series (I hope they make many) - it promises to be refreshingly different from the numerous formulaic detective series on tv at the moment. Although the film has a rather slowish beginning, none of it is irrelevant or boring and I found every character fascinating, played with real depth. It reminded me of what I love about Africa, especially the humour. It was quite funny in places.

Altogether a beautiful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shame, 9 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - The Complete Series (2009) [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series hence the five star rating but such a shame its been released like this, no extra features, very basic packaging, no chapter selection for individual episodes. In short this has had no expense given to its release which is a terrible shame for such a wonderful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A night in with a good friend., 21 May 2010
By 
J. M. Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - The Complete Series (2009) [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of the excellent books, I simply loved this series. Jill Scott takes a totally believable part, as herione Precious. To sit and watch this series is indeed like spending a night in, with a good friend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great characters -- Great stories -- Great fun, 9 April 2010
By 
Mrs. L. Holt "book aloud" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - The Complete Series (2009) [DVD] (DVD)
For those who have never been to Africa this is a great way to appreciate it. There is a lot of attention to detail and the fact it was shot on location gives it the authenticity that the stories need to understand the background and culture. The characters are identifiable from the books and as each episode progresses you enjoy them more and more. There are some lovely touches which made us laugh out loud. The only fault we could find is that there were not enough episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a cheat, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - The Complete Series (2009) [DVD] (DVD)
unfortunatly its not what it says on the box I watched it on the BBC and it is missing the Begging and one episode or more at the end, so is therefore not THE COMPLETE SERIES, there are two discs with a total of six episodes Iam not happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful immersion, 26 July 2009
By 
vh1967 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This skillful portrayal of the life of the lead character and her friends and associates is a joy to immerse yourself in. There is both a depth of character portrayal and loving use of comedy. The characters always teach you something about morals / humanity and make you think about what you would do in that situation and the storyline is a good blend of wit and seriousness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Love Love, 3 Nov 2008
What a great DVD! I have all the books and audio books, it is great to see everything brought to life so beautifully. Perfect cast!
Cant wait for more!
Also, look into the other books by A.McC.S. 'Sunday Philosophy Club' and '44 Scotland Street' They are just as good and just keep getting better.
What an exceptional Author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Missing Episode', 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - The Complete Series (2009) [DVD] (DVD)
A number of reviews have complained about a missing last episode on this DVD. Actually it is the first feature length pilot episode that is missing. The pilot was shown in 2008 and this series of 6 episodes was shown in 2009. The pilot is available on a separate DVD, which appears to be out of 'print' because the only copies listed at the moment are from second hand suppliers at inflated prices. So, while factually correct, it's a bit of a con to describe this DVD as 'The Complete Collection'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - The Complete Series (2009) [DVD]
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews