Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.....!
I bought this on a bit of a whim! Not my usual type of film (not a big fan of violent films)! I made the exception as what I had seen in terms of clips of the film and that I like Tom Hardy, I thought what have I got to lose by watching it?
I found myself enjoying the film very much! Yes it was violent, but highly entertaining and quite funny! Tom Hardy played...
Published on 20 Dec 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Movie,Brilliant Acting
I was looking forward to this movie having read Bronson's autobiography,mad or not he's certainly an interesting character who is ,now at least,probably more mad than bad.
The movie however is a bit of a mess,tries to be arty and clever which spoils the whole thing.Having said that Tom Hardy in the lead role is awesome and it's a real shame that had the movie been a...
Published 14 months ago by Oldbiker


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.....!, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: Bronson [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
I bought this on a bit of a whim! Not my usual type of film (not a big fan of violent films)! I made the exception as what I had seen in terms of clips of the film and that I like Tom Hardy, I thought what have I got to lose by watching it?
I found myself enjoying the film very much! Yes it was violent, but highly entertaining and quite funny! Tom Hardy played the part brilliantly and all credit to him for it... I highly recommend seeing this film even if you are not a fan! I'm glad I made the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film Ever, 19 Oct 2009
This review is from: Bronson [DVD] (DVD)
Well a little over exagerated maybe, but what wonderfully connected, correographed and creatively put together cult film. Tip-top acting, stunning costumes and makeup done to perfection. What a tremendously exciting scene when Bronson turns his head to reveal a series of another character. Really so glad I am able to obtain this film. Terribly disappointing to those who think this film is all blood,gangsters and gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bronson flamethrower, 26 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Bronson [DVD] (DVD)
For me, this film is a bit of a mixed bag.

+ The visual direction is good - Winding Refn does stuff with colour, light and shade that is way that's beyond what many other films even start to think about.

+ Tom Hardy excels in the role of Bronson, while the supporting cast are mainly great too - Juliet Oldfield especially.

+ The film avoids taking the 'social realism' route and instead tries to get an idea of what the hell it must be like to be like Bronson

- The stagey bits would work well as an Edinburgh Fringe stage product. In a film, these scenes are just too slow and literally two dimensional. The hamminess and the spittle don't work in this context.

- Winding Refn kind of misses a trick by portraying Broadmoor as way, way too much like the Oregon State Hospital in Milos Forman's 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest'. It's a flight into cinema fantasy and it just doesn't work. There are tons of UK documentaries such as Franc Roddam's 'Mini' - as well as fictionalisations like Alan Clarke's 'Scum' that could have served as inspiration for the film's 70s/ 80s milieu. Too much of the film is also too close to Kubrick's terrible film adaptation of 'A Clockwork Orange'. You can also see the influence of Besson's 'Danny the Dog' in here, as well as Guy Ritchie's 'Snatch'.

All in all, Bronson is a bit of a confusion not only of genres but of media - is it stage or is it film? Is it a comedy or a subversion of social realist Leigh/ Loach?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Indeed, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bronson [DVD] (DVD)
When you mention the name Charles Bronson to most people around the world usually, the first person that will come to their minds is the actor of the movie Deathwish. To most British people, the name is synonymous with the most violent person held within Her Majesty's Prison system. Most movies like this, I will turn away from in an instant as when it comes to biopics and books alike, I generally like them to be about people of importance who have achieved something of worth. Bronson is a fascinating character to me as, although he obtained his country wide recognition through his violence actions, he has proven himself to be an articulate and artistic human being with his books and poetry. However, it's hard to ignore his violent past and that's certainly the primary focus of this movie. I was hoping for a bit more focus in the progression of his artistic side, but we were given merely a glimpse.

The story of the film gives a very brief look at Bronson's youth before prison, pointing out that even as a youngster he had a violent side. Fast forward a couple of years and he holds up a post office for mere change and lands himself a prison sentence of 7 years, for which he would have probably just served 4. Unfortunately, Bronson took to prison and found it an exciting surrounding and saw his fists as a way of gaining recognition, which he surely did. We then are given a brief look at his time in a mental health institute and also an even briefer glimpse at the Broadmoor protest. The film also shows a number of other events of Bronson's life, including his short release from prison and the hostage takings.

I'm really on both sides of the scale when it comes to my perception of this movie. On the one side, the artistic vision of director, Nicolas Winding Refn makes this film beautiful and fascinating to watch and the stunning performance by Thomas Hardy makes it even more so. On the other side, the film was quite shallow and seemed to focus too much on his violent exploits and painted the picture of him being this eccentric weirdo with an extremely short fuse. The majority of the film takes on a monologue style of story telling in which Bronson is on a stage, telling or performing his life story to an audience but will cut to the scenes being told to the audience and go from there. It's certainly not something you see everyday and certainly made the film enjoyable in its own right.

The acting of Tom Hardy in this as Bronson was truly superb throughout. He seemed to become entirely engrossed in the bizarre personality of Bronson that, insane eccentricities aside was an extremely realistic character. Some of the mannerisms displayed by the character are quite comical but also frightening. I can honestly say this isn't one of the best films in the world, but it's certainly worth the watch, even if you're not a fan of biopics in general. I would recommend it to almost anyone just looking to kill an hour and a half or, of course, those who hold an interest in Bronson the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Movie,Brilliant Acting, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: Bronson [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to this movie having read Bronson's autobiography,mad or not he's certainly an interesting character who is ,now at least,probably more mad than bad.
The movie however is a bit of a mess,tries to be arty and clever which spoils the whole thing.Having said that Tom Hardy in the lead role is awesome and it's a real shame that had the movie been a "straight" story it would have been very good.Hardy plays Bronson sympathetically and manages to make him appear vulnerable as well as showing the manic side of the man's psyche.
Without the "clever" bits I'd probably have given this movie 5 stars as the parts in between are well acted and give you a feel for Mr Bronson and an understanding of why he is what he is.5 stars for the lead role though,sadly the movie as a whole just annoyed me when it tried to be too clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A BRUTALLY SAD BUT TRUE STORY', 9 Dec 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bronson [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
A brutal yet sad 'true-account' of a man wanting to be famous as a teenager, ending up in prison, and changing his name from 'Michael Peterson' to 'Charlie Bronson'
Yes he became famous, but not in any way that could be considered normal.
The man in this tragically true story remains in prison over 30 years , for what in the beginning would have only been a short 3-4 year spell, most of his 'time' spent in solitary....i'd say the system has failed him.
The stunning side of the film is the brilliant portrayal of 'Bronson' by 'Tom Hardy'
Definitely worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irresistable Force Immovable Object, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bronson [DVD] (DVD)
This is a powerful film about anger and independence. The film Bronson is an angry man and has been since childhood; he is also a good fighter and really enjoys fighting, ally this with a streak of independence as wide as the M25 and you have a tragic conclusion. The system cannot grind him down and the system knows it cannot release him, so he stands in a tiny cage like a battery hen.

The film avoids trying to make a hero out of Bronson, his treatment during kidnappings is not disguised, but it does not paint him as just a thug. Usually when you finish a film unable to decide one way or the other the film has failed, in this case, I suspect, it was exactly what was intended. It's like Caché but with boxing.

Tom Hardy was brilliant in the role; one could smell the testosterone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not For The Faint Hearted, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bronson [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film whilst channel hopping and just couldn't tear myself away from it. Tom Hardy is truly menacing as Michael Peterson, jailed for 7 years for a minor post office robbery but, owing to his penchant for violence and in particular, some shocking confrontations with prison authorities, he ends up spending over 30 years in jail in solitary confinement and indeed remains incarcerated today.

The film is narrated by Hardy as Bronson himself and somehow manages to add a light hearted note to an altogether far more sinister subject. In order for this to remain true to the facts and accurately portray the sinister, brutal and horrific lifestyle that Bronson has chosen for himself, this film is necessarily littered with some unbelievable violence, sufficient profanity to render it completely unsuitable for anyone who is sensitive to such things and yet, amid all this, Hardy is at his most menacing in the quiet moments. The deep staring looks, the groans and vocal creaks that he emits in moments of stress, the hunched seated stance with upper body muscles pumped to tension, the incredible flips from humour to complete horror and the silent tension that you sense is the precursor to almost nuclear explosions of violence against anyone within arms length. And yet amid all this it becomes apparent that he chooses this lifestyle, he revels in the confrontation and notoriety - he has found a place where he functions at his best. I would struggle to think of anyone who could out-perform Hardy in this role and there should also be a notable mention for Matt King (The Peep Show) who gives a great performance as Paul Daniels, a fellow inmate who gives Peterson a break during a brief period of release from prison and who comes up with the name of Charlie Bronson for him to assume as a bare-knuckle fighter.

The story of Michael Peterson (aka Charlie Bronson) is eye-opening, quite shocking but ultimately very sad. For me the worst scene comes at the end where , inside a solitary confinement cell, the manacled, naked Peterson is contained inside a locked cage so small he can only stand. Seeing him soaked in his own blood from his latest confrontation with prison officers made me feel quite upset for his parents, who must be in complete turmoil knowing that this is what has become of their only child.

It says a lot that in a modern society, there is little we can do to manage a complete loose cannon like Peterson without having to resort to his own violent methods. Its up to you ...either watch it because you like a bit of blood and swearing and a good ruck .... or see through the shocking elements and think about some of the hidden issues that our public institutions have to deal with on our behalf. Love it or loathe it - this film should at least make you think about some of the enormous issues our prison authorities are being asked to manage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madness, 23 Aug 2009
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bronson [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really fine movie, that needs to be seen more than once. Tom Hardy is a revelation as Michael Peterson/Charles Bronson. He must have worked out a lot to get into shape.

Its not all factually accurate, but the essence of Bronson's character is displayed brilliantly through the violence, that presumably he loves, and through some surreal fantasy scenes where the portrayal of Bronson is probably a caricature.

I think some reviewers have criticised the director for the stylistic nature of the film, but for me this is what makes it work. I've seen enough prison movies over the years and just another film of a tough buy bucking the system isn't enough.

This is a taut, extremely violent, at times comedic film that will stay with you for a while after seeing it. My only real criticism is that at around 90 minutes long its a little short and they certainly could have fleshed out his character a bit with an extra 15 mins.

4.5 stars for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Intersting Character..., 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Bronson [DVD] (DVD)
Although it took a little while to get into the film, what with all the stand up introduction routines at the beginning, it developed into a wonderfully quirky film regarding the life of a very British blokey type. It also doesn't give any answers as to why the character is the way he is, or what he wants. And what he wants could be considered imperative, because he is officially Britain's most expensive prisoner, due to all the damage he is responsible for - let alone hospital bills. He has been in prison for 34 years, and 30 of those have been in solitary confinement. He is somewhat prone to taking prison officers and teachers hostage to get attention when he is in solitary confinement - so what does he want? The infamy? The notoriety? We may never know, but he does make an interesting character to make a film about. And once I warmed to the style of the film, I enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bronson [Blu-ray] [2009]
Bronson [Blu-ray] [2009] by Nicolas Winding Refn (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews