Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somehow, it works...
This is a strange film. The first time I watched it, after about 20 minutes, I thought I'd made a mistake - it seemed directionless and disjointed. But I stuck with it. At the end, I thought 'I've got to watch that again'.

The second time I watched it, I was engrossed from the beginning. It is a really beautiful film, and so, so sad. It's about four damaged...
Published on 26 Jun 2009 by Diziet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasted potential
I expect many people, like me, were attracted to this film by the promise of the trailers. In short I felt they over-sold the film. The vision of Meanwhile city was a wonderfully realised steam punk (ish) creation. Beautiful to look at but wildly underutilised. Even the "real world" had a stylish visual theme, particularly the world of the artist Amelia (Eva Green) and...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars but great for one watch, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Rachael (Wickford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
weird film, but great for one watch! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Very good.and diffrante
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars drawn out twaddle, 7 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
After reading the info on the film I thought it might be interesting. Unfortunately I was mistaken Its an extremmely long hour and a half and I would class it as the same area as The Spirit or Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow If you enjoyed either of these film you might well enjoy this load of twaddle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars May appeal to film buffs, otherwise avoid it., 9 May 2010
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The trailers made this look spooky and interesting, which it could easily have been. However it proceeds at a snails pace with not much explanation of what is going on. I admit I missed some of it after falling asleep somewhere in the middle of it. I can only take this as a symptom of it being very slow. My advice is to avoid it unless you enjoy slow paced, potentially thought provoking films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gloriously gothic and enormously clever fantasy, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
After half an hour of this movie I almost gave up on it.

Sure it looked marvellous and it conjured forth faint echoes of works I admired like Dark City, Brasil and Neverwhere, but it seemed to be going nowhere.

Then, things suddenly clicked into place, and the remaining 50 minutes or so were surprisingly entertaining. Love, loss, revenge, madness, nihilism, invisible friends, the butterfly effect and cynical manipulation of religion as an opium for the masses all figure heavily in the splendidly dream-like mix, accented with enough darkly evocative eye-candy to make Luc Besson green with envy.

Put the effort in, stick with it and you will not be disappointed. Very clever stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Different..., 11 July 2010
By 
W. M. Young "bravewolverine" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Released at the same time as 'Watchmen', people may have gone into this having watched the trailer expecting more of the same given it's focus on the dystopian bleakness of 'Meanwhile City'. This is much more than that however as McMorrow, in his directoral debut, blends the stories of four different individuals suffering some form of mental illness or breakdown into a brilliantly conceived tale that only reveals it's secrets in the last half an hour. One of the few films that immediately demands you to watch it again as it reveals all of the little things you missed on your first runthrough - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a stitch up ...., 14 Aug 2009
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I'm not even going to give this a reasonable review. Watch the trailer ... Like it ? Good .. you've seen the best bits of the film. The whole film is pointless, slow and is a waste of money. It's the kind of film student doing A-Level film appresiation will study in yesrs to come because it has no point and people will be staring into this endless waste of time forever trying to find intellectual meaning when there isn't any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as Advertised!!, 18 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The marketing on this movie is totally misleading! 'The Matrix meets Donnie Darko' my Auntie Maybelle's Knickers!! That tag line insults both movies by association!!

The film is just a touchy feeley nightmare by someone who really needs a hug. If you like Sci-fi or fantasy - then don't waste your cash and avoid this movie like the plague. If you like the human question - or watching soap operas or like to think you are intellectual but in reality are not - then watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 9 May 2010
By 
S. M. Paskey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Franklyn [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The fantasy scenes were superb and what a film that could of been on its own, but the kitchen sink drama that made up the rest of the move was painful, the characters were impossible to identify with, the endless drawn out scenes set against a dirge of a miserable depressing piano soundtrack was pretentious torture.

good idea poorly executed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Franklyn [DVD] [2008]
Franklyn [DVD] [2008] by Gerald McMorrow (DVD - 2009)
£7.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews