Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mediocre Neil Young?
A mediocre Neil Young?

Was this to be a mediocre Neil Young album? That is what a review or two led me to believe, as well as hearing the title track myself - a pleasant, funny rocker of fleeting charm. I bought the album + DVD in preparation for attending his 2009 concert in Rotterdam, thinking he would concentrate on this new album. I can only say I was...
Published on 26 Jun 2009 by J. M. M. Out

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Singing a song won't change the world
Neil Young has entered a period of stunning activity of late, most likely brought about because he thought he was going to die a few years back. We've had Prairie Wind, Living With War, Chrome Dreams II and the wonderful Heart of Gold concert all in the space of four or five years. Fork In the Road seems to empathise with an idealised 'middle America', living their lives...
Published on 9 April 2009 by street-legal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Neil's best (by a long chalk), 15 May 2009
By 
Good news - this CD isn't too long. The bad news .......
from a man who made some of the greatest albums of the 70s, 80s, 90s,
and recently Greendale (brilliant), Praire Wind (good), Living with
War (nice songs/terrible production); what was he thinking ......
If you love or even like Neil - spare yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars there's a bail out comin' but its not for you...., 13 May 2009
By 
Barry Cooper (Avon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No, not the greatest Neil young album but it has some absolute gems on it. The title track is pure Old Buzzard Neil and the DVD clip is one of the funniest things you're going to see about the recession - hey, even Neil couldn't keep a smile away - who else would loon around with i-pod earphones plugged into an apple? The lyrics are a model of understated vitriol on behalf of Joe USA who just has to take all the crap that comes around...like the rest of us really. In fact, the DVD clips are all good and Light A Candle is beautifully haunting. There are only two filler tracks that I find jar on the ears a bit [3 & 4] but the refrain of 'cough up the bucks' certainly stays in the brain. Sure its all about Neil's ambivalent love of cars but that goes the same for an awful lot of people - hear the lyrics as a metaphor for where we're going and why we find it so hard to take our eyes off the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful rocking album, 25 May 2011
By 
Bill Kelly "willireid" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fork In The Road (Audio CD)
Not too much to say except this is a little peach of an album. Simple, devoid of long solos, rocking, great riffs, clever lyrics and what sounds like a tight little band. The title track alone is worth the money, a chugging number with a great chorus that changes but stciks in your head for days. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the Bad Reviews!, 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Fork In The Road (Audio CD)
This album is one of Young's more interesting records of the 2000's. Unlike the harmonically basic (but still good)'Living With War' and 'Greendale', his songwriting here explores some new territories for him, by using key changes and borrowed chords moreso than he has done in some time. Plus, this this album has a good time feel to it and is very enjoyable to listen to. Not as good his last album, the fantastic 'Chrome Dreams II', but recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Take this "Fork in the Road" - don't take a wrong turn (and not buy it)!, 17 Oct 2009
By 
E. Swan (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a lifelong Neil fan this cd was a slow burner, taking around 6 plays to start to come through to me. After playing it several more times I would say that any Neil fan will enjoy and appreciate the music. It grows and several of the tracks do get into your head. It is another, kind of a Neil "project" cd (motoring), but listened to as a whole, track after track, it scores. For a newcomer to NY - well that is a different thing. I would say its best to start with an earlier album but which - as there is a large variety of styles of music - so try tracks from the first - "Neil Young", then "After The Goldrush".
Keep on rocking,
Ed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it another chance, 30 May 2009
By 
Mr. S. Harrison "Sam" (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fork In The Road (Audio CD)
I'll be honest, I wasn't a fan after the first listen - but I urge you, give it time. I stuck at it and the album has really grown on me. It's by no means the next Harvest, but I challenge you not to compare it, as they are essentially completely different records. Neil Young prides himself on being so diverse, and this album fits perfectly into the evolution of his style throughout the years.

This is an out-and-out rock and roll CD, featuring plenty of distorted guitar. The only track that stays away from this is Light a Candle which sits as a perfect break from the heavier material. The theme is predominantly car-related, but other subjects creep in as in the brilliantly true Just Singing A Song (won't save the world). The sound is very raw, and by this I mean NOT polished by any sense of the imagination. I'd say this is the record's biggest downfall (and indeed why I gave it four instead of five stars), as it does sound like it was recorded in a couple of hours and nothing else done to it. The guitar is often too loud, the drums lack dynamics (and are FAR too quiet) and Young's vocals are by no means perfect (I hate to say it but he just can't sing as well as he used to).

So please, give it a chance, and if you don't like it, give it another chance. It will grow on you, I promise. And if it doesn't, well you can guarantee the next album will be completely different. Isn't that why we love him so much!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Neil's better efforts...., 12 Nov 2009
By 
Matthew Cameron (Elgin,, Morayshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Over the years I have collected quite a few of Neil Young's albums, but I have to say that this particular effort is 'down there' with 're-act-or' and 'landing on water'. When Neil Young is good, he is very, very good. But this is absolutely average. If you are new to Neil Young, look up some of his earlier work first. This just doesn't do the genius of Neil Young justice!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cough up the bucks, 22 April 2009
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Neil Youngs take on the state of the US automobile industry, starts of heavy handed with `When worlds collide' taking on the auto industry and mega conglomerates.
`Fuel line' rock n roll almost in the `shocking pinks' style, and `cough up the bucks' Neil's take on the car industry bail outs.
`Light a candle' is reflective Neil Young but would have benefited from a more acoustic arrangement
Most of the rest of the album straight ahead rock of the Greendale variety but without the extended guitar solos
If you buy the CD/DVD package you also get the whole album in hi rez stereo and 4 bonus videos. A comment on one of the videos Neil he sat in front of a camera on his laptop, played the song in one take, then told Reprise 'there's your first music video.' To both their horror and amusement. Funny in the fact that its fuzzy he plays air guitar and does not always appear in frame.
The best of the videos and making this package worth buying is the take of the Beatles `Day in the life' , this live take shreds the original making it sound like a Neil original, ending in a squall of feedback.
Not Neils best album but better than a lot of what is around at the moment. Maybe he will get round to releasing archives but I would rather he delay that project for more new albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Strange to hear so many people suggesting that those who like NY's Prairie Wind type material probably won't enjoy this. Maybe the reviewers are wrong to suggest that their own views will be reflected by others? I like both albums & give each 5 stars. That's one of the wonderful things about Neil's music - the eclectic nature of his work. As for the comments about poor sound quality, my copy sounds excellent but I listen on good hifi equipment. I don't think NY is likely to release an album with poor sound quality given his rebellion against Mp3 & devotion to high definition sound quality & the introduction of his PonoMusic system for high quality downloads. If you listen to your music on high quality equipment, Fork In The Road will reveal a beautifully balanced sound stage with lots of space around each instrument - it's dynamic but not at all harsh. I haven't heard the DVD version - mine is the 'cd only' release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete musician ever, 22 Mar 2014
By 
A. P. Monblat (Sutton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fork In The Road (Audio CD)
Neil writes the most beautiful melodies anyone could wish for. He is equally at home with hard rock and soft rock. His electric guitar playing has an exquisite quality which even the greats such as Hendrix could not emulate. Melody and guitar have never combined to such perfection as they do on the track, "Just Singing a Song".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fork In The Road
Fork In The Road by Neil Young (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews