Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars287
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2004
Van Helsing is a perfect fantasy-action movie, with a lot of emphasis on ACTION. Okay, the storyline is shabby, but people should stop expecting a movie like Spider-Man 2 or Bond 20 when the term "action" is used with "superhero". Though the plot is nowhere near that of the two movies mentioned earlier, the action is very much so, if not better. Though I didn't do it in the cinema, I think you could take a stopwatch and turn it on every time people are talking. When five minutes have passed, guaranteed some werewolf will attack Van Helsing, or three vampires will dive into the fray.
I'm not making excuses for the storyline (which I think is okay, but I understand why other people don't), but you won't really notice it's lacks (at least I didn't).
Now that I'm talking about the movie aspects I can't leave out the soundtrack. I know that I've used thw word 'perfect' before, but this time it really is: the soundtrack perfectly fits the movie. Booming drums and triumphantly blaring trumpets, this completely is Van Helsing. (I bought the soundtrack almost immediatly after I had left the cinema!)
The final judgement depends on what you expect. If you expect Bond (good action, good story) or Spider-Man (good action great story), Van Helsing (perfect action, great music, crappy story) is going to disappoint you. To all of you out there who don't expect Spider-Man or Bond: enjoy Van Helsing.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2007
If you're a purist-any kind of purist-stay away from Van Helsing. But if you love the Universal horror films of the 30's and 40's or the Hammer films of the 50's and 60's and don't mind re-imagining them, then go. Check your brain at the door, buy a large popcorn and a soda and sit back for a fun ride.

The film is a complete reworking of everything you think you know about all the big guys. Present for your enjoyment are Dracula, the Wolf man, Frankenstein's monster and a guest appearance by Mr. Hyde. And of course, tying the whole thing together is our hero, Van Helsing (yummily played by Hugh Jackman). Named Abraham in Stoker's book but called Gabriel in the film, VH doesn't appear in any book other than Dracula, but in the more than a century since his `birth' we've become accustomed to his presence as the elder statesman of monster killers.

Completely re-imagined in this new production, VH is now young, handsome, and virile and apparently as immortal and indestructible as the creatures he chases. Don't expect great resolutions or deep explanations here, there are none. Don't expect Academy Award level acting, some of the actors apparently phoned in their performances while others decided to take up the slack. The resultant scenery chewing is uneven, but never boring. The dialogue, not to put too fine a point on it, is absurd and sometimes unintentionally, howlingly funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!

COMPLETELY REPITICIOUS AND BORING!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
This is a very classy dvd especially in blu-ray.Fast moving,with quirky characters,( Hugh Jackman shines as does Kate Beck.) yet gothically brooding, almost dark in places.
Count drac. is superb, as is the very human Frankensteinian creation.excellent sets n scenery, beautifully directed and filmed. a movie I have watched and enjoyed,many times and surely
will watch again.Unequivocally recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
This is a great movie with excellent animation. On Blu-ray it looks stunning in detail and this is helped by the format being 16:9 so it fills all of your HD TV screen with no wasted black bars on top and bottom. The extra bits on how they handled the animation etc. are fascinating to watch as well. Hugh Jackman acts really dramatically as Van Helsing and good part played by Kate Beckinsale too as the Transylvanian princess. My favourite animation scene was the aerial attack in the village by the flying brides of Dracula...truly powerful.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 June 2012
There's a lot to like in this CGI action fest and I lapped it up. It's highly derivative stuff and even mirrors James Bond for a while but it's fun all the way with set pieces galore, great music and setting. I used to watch the old black and white "horror" films and this is just a modern day equivalent with a much better looking cast!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
Ok it's not a FANTASTIC film as such...the effects are a little skew whiff, some of the acting is questionable and the story is quite predictable.
Nevertheless, I can't dislike this film. It's just very lovable. Lovable I think being the appropriate word. There's no dark or gory scenes, no freaky monsters (well depends how old you are) and no terrible tragedies a such. It's just Van Helsing (Hugh Jackman) playing the God like hero who is troubled but manages to beat up monsters while trying to figure out who he is.
And soon he is faced by a big challenge, Dracula himself (Richard Roxburgh) and his three wives. And many many children.
Overall, it's not to be taken seriously. It's just a bit of harmless, action packed fun really.
But the best thing I think about this film is the character of Carl (David Wenham) who steals the show as a lovable monk-er-friar who swears. Worth a try at least if you want a film that you can just laugh and marvel at.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
If you're are looking for a good old fashioned monster horror, you've come to the wrong place. If you watch this film, leave any nostalgia of the likes of Nosferatu and Frankenstein behind, and instead enjoy the unrealistic joy of this film. Blending gothic horror with modern-style action, it follows amnesiac monster-hunter Van Helsing as he is sent by a secret order within the Vatican to kill Count Dracula. This film strips out character development and a coherent, well thought out plot and instead gives us a action movie that's cool, slick and entertaining. If you only watch well thought out films, don't bother seeing this. But if you want to sit back, switch your brain off and enjoy a two hour plus action/horror/adventure film, then definitely buy Van Helsing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
I was fortunate enough to see this at the cinema while I was abroad this year !!!
This film is SPECTACULAR. It has non stop thrills, gorgeous cinematography, a great bunch of characters & the special effects are amazing. It's a 2 hour movie, but never bored me or my 3 companions whom I watched the movie with. Now I have the 2 disc dvd which I suggest you get rather than the single disc one !! This film feels like a horror epic because of its grand use of scale & costumes too.

Highlight for me was the horse carriage chase through the forest & on the mountainside. AWESOME.

Disconnect from the real world for 2 hours in the best possible way. GET THIS DVD !!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Apparently not the box office success it should have been !!?! Or was it? Not sure?
Anyway I loved it. Great CGI , so many homages to the Universal horror flicks of the 30's and 40's . I lost count of them all !
They even managed a nod to Q and the James Bond franchise ! Well I think they did?
It was made to entertain and that's what it did 100% in my mind.
Kate Beckinsale was gorgeous as usual.
Hugh Jackman another good screen presence who's greatest work is probably yet to come.
Does not take him self as seriously as Mr Russell Crowe or Mr Christian Bale, but could easily tackle any of the material they both turn out, both great actors but Mr Jackman seems a little more "Down to Earth".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)