Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it
Coming from South Africa and being of a certain age, I grew up listening to Rodriguez. I was shocked to learn that it was only SA who had discovered and loved his awesome music - he is nothing short of genius!
Published 23 months ago by Carlilee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful moments,
Alright, so it's not the master piece that the previous record is, but it still has the same story telling, the same atmospheric textures, if not the same atmosphere. The authenticity and content of this record might not sit comfortably with everyone, which goes some way to explaining the mixed reviews, but it is worth the time to listen to, and not just have on in the...
Published 6 months ago by Kenchenko


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming From Reality (MP3 Download)
Coming from South Africa and being of a certain age, I grew up listening to Rodriguez. I was shocked to learn that it was only SA who had discovered and loved his awesome music - he is nothing short of genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inner City Poet, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming From Reality (MP3 Download)
Rodriguez was a very big part of my life, growing up in South Africa. He is the humblest of rock icons who for more than 2 decades, didn't realise he was a rock icon. If you wnat to know more, watch the movie Searching For Sugar Man. Learn to love this genius' music and buy his 2 albums, because they will affect your soul and enrich your world.

If you are a fan of Leonard Cohen and Bob Dylan, you MUST listen to Rodriguez!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coming from reality, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: Coming From Reality (Audio CD)
while a lot of people have said how good he is after seeing the film, i for one, was playing his tracks on my radio show in sydney in the 70s. so glad now that i was proved right..."who the hell is rodriguez?" the most comonly asked question!
he only did 2 albums, both on blue goose music in aussie, but they really are gems of the time. most of his songs are observations of his surroundings etc & they give a unique inside into the mind of a musical genius (like dylan, cohen etc).having been to south africa in the 70s, i was struck by how often i heard his music coming from windows etc.
many times "i wondered" what ever happened to him. many tall tales were told of his demise. how lovely that he shunned all the bull involved in the music industry & still lives a very simple plain life.
buy both his cds & you will not be disappointed. wonderfully crafted songs sung with an angst & plaintive voice perfectly captures the inner city life of detroit in the 70s. thewizardfromaus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixto Rodriguez, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming From Reality (Audio CD)
He is absolutely fantastic. I cannot understand how he did not become a great star in the US at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost and Found, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Roman P (Krakow Poland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coming From Reality (Audio CD)
While living in Cape Town in 1998 I saw posters for Rodriquez'-knowing nothing about him- and was at his epic lost and found concert in the city. His music and lyrics spoke volumes about life, struggle and lost dreams but these words are nothing compared to the back story about this remarkable and enigmatic personality and performer. See the film and you will learn more and surely be inspired. Listen to his music and words and they will hopefully resonate deeply and remain with you as they have for decades with me. The music still manages to evoke some of the happiest times of my life in Cape Town - a city in a country that in 1998 was itself struggling with a lost legacy under the oppression of apatheid and was finally, finding its true soul and direction. I love Rodriguez and his music - its strange how his words about his home city of Detroit could find such relevance in a distant continent. May be its the simple humanity of his music that creates those common bonds??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still listening, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming From Reality (Audio CD)
Had this for a few months now and still like to listen to it every now and again. Sign of a good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as strong as first album, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i loved the first album and this one is great too but it lacks any killer tracks like sugar man or the one about how many times shed had sex... Still, saw the documentary, loved the fairy tale story and am enkoying the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOUGHT AFTER SEEING THE FILM, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming From Reality (Audio CD)
Great album what a great performer never heard of him until went to see the film would recommend to anyone to go and see the film if you can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixto Rodriguez. After The Fact, Coming From Reality, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Russell Taylor (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coming From Reality (Audio CD)
Another Masterpiece

The Cold Fact is, this piece of music is pure excellence. Having been listening to his 1st album [Cold Fact] for the past 25yrs. I was eager, to say the least, to get my fill of his 2nd Album [After The Fact, Coming From Reality] & i certainly was not dissapointed. The Question, is it better than 'Cold Fact', is a question discussed by my friends & myself. What we came up with was "ask us in 25yrs". No it isn't 'Cold Fact', it is 'After The Fact, Coming From Reality' & it is exactly what it's title describes. The guy is a lyrical genius only rivaled by Dylan & that is some accolade. As Rodriguez suggests 'Climb Upon My Music', you will not be dissapointed. Hat's off to the guy. He is the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful moments,, 30 May 2014
By 
Kenchenko (South Saturn Delta) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming From Reality (Audio CD)
Alright, so it's not the master piece that the previous record is, but it still has the same story telling, the same atmospheric textures, if not the same atmosphere. The authenticity and content of this record might not sit comfortably with everyone, which goes some way to explaining the mixed reviews, but it is worth the time to listen to, and not just have on in the background, but listen to.
Rodriguez is a master, and the sooner you climb up on his music, the richer your life will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coming From Reality
Coming From Reality by Rodriguez (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews