Customer Reviews


694 Reviews
5 star:
 (290)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (197)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!! (Ford & Vauxhal Tested!)
Bought this little adapter for my iPhone and iPod on the move in my car on a recommendation from a friend.

It is discrete in the socket and works 100% in the family Zafira and Focus with no issues.

The light is green not blue as in the picture, not that it matters!!
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by Ray R Peace

versus
195 of 206 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only for IPod
Wanted to use this with a Nokia E7 but didn't charge, tried another phone, same problem. Tried an old iPod Nano, worked fine. Belkin sell this as an Apple accessory so I guess I can't really complain. However there is an expectation that USB mean universal and should work with any USB device. Belkin have missed the point here, Apple may be the flavour of the month but...
Published on 4 April 2011 by Miazma


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

195 of 206 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only for IPod, 4 April 2011
Wanted to use this with a Nokia E7 but didn't charge, tried another phone, same problem. Tried an old iPod Nano, worked fine. Belkin sell this as an Apple accessory so I guess I can't really complain. However there is an expectation that USB mean universal and should work with any USB device. Belkin have missed the point here, Apple may be the flavour of the month but there are 100 other devices that they could cater for easily for every Apple device. Lot of lost sales.

-Update: Did some research on this issue. It turn out there is an international standard for delivering charge to a mobile device via USB. This requires the device to ask the power source for permision to draw power if the device is a dumb device (such as this one) then it should "short out pin's 2 and 3 (D+ & D-) with a resistance of no more than 200 ohms". This device does not do this, hence won't work with a device that complies with the standard. Nokia devices appear to comply with the standard and Apple devices don't.

I tested the theory by taking the device apart and soldering pins 2 and 3 together. All my dvices now work with this now, including my Apple ones. Come on Belkin wake up its a tiny zero cost fix and gives you a larger market.

(See Wikipedia: On October 22, 2009 the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) announced that it had embraced the Universal Charger Solution as its "energy-efficient one-charger-fits-all new mobile phone solution", and added: "Based on the Micro-USB interface, UCS chargers will also include a 4-star or higher efficiency rating--up to three times more energy-efficient than an unrated charger.")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This catches on fire BE AWARE!!, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suggest you take this off the Amazon website as soon as possible. I have received one from the seller and it did not work, the seller did send another one for free. The new one did not work either, this charger broken all 3 fuses of the cars that I tested this in, I replaced the fuse in one car, plug this charger in AND IT CAUGHT ON FIRE! Take this off as it's a MAJOR hazard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what you expect from a branded product, 1 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
firstly, this charger is 5v/1amp. It will not provide this to certain devices due to the devices hardware and this charger being detected as USB device.
Some devices (eg Android phones) will limit the power draw to 500mA (0.5amp) to ensure computer connectivity USB specification is adhered to.

Connecting the two center pins of the USB port (these are the data pins for computer usage) together makes the charger into an AC Mains charger, and thus allowing the device to charge upto the rated 1amp.

Since this is a car charger and obviously has no data connectivity with the 12v socket, this is a poorly designed product from what is meant to be a high quality manufacturer.
I've now voided the warranty with the above 'fix' but atleast I do have a well priced, quality charger that will allow my phone to charge while using GPS & max screen brightness. I think this will be my last Belkin product too.

if it wasn't for this USB/AC charge oversight, then it would get 5/5 stars. i've given it 3/5 stars though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Belkin Micro USB, 28 Mar 2011
Just a heads up, this doesnt fit citroen saxo nor renault kangoo. In general now ive seen it I would suggest that if your lighter is the shorter type as opposed to the generally older longer type then this wont fit. Also the positive connector prong isnt sprung so connection can be dodgey to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!! (Ford & Vauxhal Tested!), 6 Jan 2010
Bought this little adapter for my iPhone and iPod on the move in my car on a recommendation from a friend.

It is discrete in the socket and works 100% in the family Zafira and Focus with no issues.

The light is green not blue as in the picture, not that it matters!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, much better options on the market, 15 July 2011
This is a truly rubbish piece of equipment. Had it 3 days and the fuse blew - charging a mobile!

Also reading round it seems it is wired up 'incorrectly'. There are two ways to wire USB charging up, one is for .5 Amps and another for 1 A which represents computer and socket output. Most devices lose power if being used while charging at .5, but will charge at 1. This is wired up so devices think its .5, and so only draw that causing many devices to either charge slowly or if its in use like a sat nav they will still run out of battery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for HTC Desire, 5 Oct 2010
Although from a big brand Belkin, this doesn't work with my HTC Desire in the car. Ok it works in so much the phone thinks its on usb charge and not AC Power even though the adapter can give 1A out. It must be something with the wiring. Basically on usb power having sat nav on it actually loses power even though its on charge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH - Does not work in BMW, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It works well in most cars but not in a BMW. I purchased a cheaper version from Amazon and it works. Suggest you avoid this one for its inconsistent compatibility. There are more reliable and lower cost ones available. Try "2 IN 1 CAR CHARGER FOR APPLE IPOD IPHONE 4S /4 / 3GS / 3G WITH USB CABLE" - that works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work!!!, 14 Nov 2011
I tried the charger in all 3 of my cigarette lighters in my Audi A5, not to mention my other half's Vauxhall Astra, and the charger did not work. It simply didn't make a connection to charge my iPhone, Occassionally if you fiddled with it, the RED light came on briefly, but then turned off again as soon as you took your hand away.

Received a replacement, same problem, clearly a design fault with the product. Looking at other reviews it seems to work in other cars, however if you compare it to a different type of charger, the metal tip which is supposed to connect with the end of the cigarette lighter socket is a lot shorter, hence why it doesn't seem to work in many cars.

I also found that when I did manage to make a (brief) connection, it wouldn't actually charge my iPhone, only power it. However, it did charge my iPod, leading me to believe it is not powerful enough for iPhones. Other reviews seem to concur with this.

Frankly, this is useless. I've since bought a proper iPhone charger which works properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works in my VW Golf, 10 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very quick delivery and service from Bentham Ltd.

Fits perfectly in a VW Golf, you can even close the ash tray without removing it, when not in use.

As others have pointed out, the LED is green, not blue, not that this matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0b90a50)

This product

Only search this product's reviews