Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, fast and quiet
It's always risky buying this kind of kit 'blind' but for me the gamble paid off. I've bought half a dozen enclosures over the years and this is the best. I bought two of these for use with Samsung Spinrite 1TB ESATA drives to back up my main PC running Windows 7 Pro.

Pros
- fast transfer speeds especially using ESATA (it's halved my back up times...
Published on 2 Oct 2009 by M. J. Hewitt

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Issues
This enclosure is inexpensive, for what it does. However, in terms of durability and workability, there are two important issues about which you need to be aware.

The first is that the enclosure is a very snug fit for a 3.5" SATA drive. I bought 2, and one fitted perfectly but the other refused to fit, catching on two brass screw-slot fittings which are used...
Published on 2 April 2010 by DS9


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, fast and quiet, 2 Oct 2009
By 
M. J. Hewitt "Mark" (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
It's always risky buying this kind of kit 'blind' but for me the gamble paid off. I've bought half a dozen enclosures over the years and this is the best. I bought two of these for use with Samsung Spinrite 1TB ESATA drives to back up my main PC running Windows 7 Pro.

Pros
- fast transfer speeds especially using ESATA (it's halved my back up times compared to the previous Seagate USB2 external drives)
- no fan = quiet, virtually inaudible in operation
- cheap for an all metal case which does a good job of dissipating heat when in use
- vertical stand to save on deskspace
- good looking though some might find the front green power light a little tacky

Cons
- patience and care required to fit drive as the internal ESATA lead is about 1cm too long
- no external ESATA lead (though at this price it's churlish to complain)
- leads from the socket to the PSU and from power supply to the unit are too short. An extra couple of feet on either cable would have made all the difference. I can't place the unit on my desk and connect to the PC underneath so I back up with this on the floor hence the loss of one star.

Conclusion
If you're willing to put up with the short power leads, it's an excellent enclosure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOR ALL THOSE HAVING TO SQUISH THE CABLES, 4 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
FOR ALL THOSE WHO FIND IT HARD TO INSTALL THE CABLES FOR THIS DRIVE:

You will need just one tool: a PENCIL. Just pull out the SATA data cable that is already installed, take the pencil and coil the cable around it. It will not affect the performance of the cable (SATA cables must not be bent), and it will shorten it considerably. You will end up with sth. like a telephone receiver cord, only a lot smaller.
Do the same with the SATA power connector, but do not exaggerate, as you may break the connections. Now the problems are sorted!

As for the drive itself, it must be reminded it has an e-SATA 1 connection(1.5 GB/S), but comparing it with a regular USB 2.0(480 MB/S), it's 3 times faster. And for the price, it is worth it. I installed it in under 5 minutes. It works great, now I have an excellent backup drive. It looks good and is virtually silent (depending on your HDD).

Another issue you might encounter is Windows(7) not recognizing it as a mass storage device, especially on e-SATA. You will have to click on the Start button, then run/search " diskmgmt.msc " . There, you will see your regular partitions (C,D,...) and at DISK 2, unallocated space(should be with black contour) . Right-click on it and partition it. Follow the instructions( make sure you format to NTFS) and you'll be done in 30 seconds.

Hope this helped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and fast external enclosure, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Martin (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
This is a very stylish, solidly built enclosure that I used to replace a broken external hard drive from another manufacturer. As a result, this saved me money on having to buy a complete external drive when the HDD itself was still intact.

Transferring the old HDD to this new enclosure took a little care and patience. As has already been mentioned by another person, the internal SATA leads are a little too long and the instructions on how to fit them are not very good - if even considered to be instructions. This may seem like a crazy statement - how can you not know how to fit leads - but it is not quite as obvious as it might at first appear. Obviously there is only really one way that they can fit, but it takes a little trial and error to sort it. Hence the loss of one star.

The other reason it lost a star is that the front green led is larger than I would have liked. I would also have preferred it to be blue - to fit in with the lighting scheme of my PC setup. Very minor point though!

The final reason for losing a star is that the previous enclosure I had made the led flicker when the disc was being accessed for either read or write. This one has just the solid green led on all the time, so it is not possible to see if the disc is being accessed or not - something I often want to do if something is slow. This is a big downer for me and almost lost a second star for it.

The unit itself is a good metal construction with excellent heat dissipation properties - just as well as it does not have an internal fan. As I mount the drive on a shelf under the desk, I did not have any problems with short power leads, but I can imagine that it might be an issue for some. The power switch for the enclosure is well positioned, making it easy to find when reaching under the table to turn it on. Much better than the previous external drive I had.

Nice and quiet and fast - especially with eSATA. Used as a backup drive, this is excellent. I would highly recommend, with the caveat of the downsides I have mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Issues, 2 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
This enclosure is inexpensive, for what it does. However, in terms of durability and workability, there are two important issues about which you need to be aware.

The first is that the enclosure is a very snug fit for a 3.5" SATA drive. I bought 2, and one fitted perfectly but the other refused to fit, catching on two brass screw-slot fittings which are used to retain the front panel to the outer case.

Overclocked hardware - the sellers - were extremely prompt and helpful, answering emails literally within minutes, and it's clearly not their fault when the manufacturer had so obviously made a batch which differed in mm between units . Nevertheless, it required a hammer and vice to 'expand' the enclosure, after which the drive fitted. They replaced the first case but the second proved just as uncompromising in dimensions before it could be persuaded to accommodate the drive, so at least two samples of the batch were unfit for use without modification and, as I'm sure you would agree, these drives should slide in, and not require a redesign of the case before doing so.

There is one other problem ,and that is the red-ribbon cable between the caddy electronics and the drive itself. The cable is extremely stiff, and requires some manipulation to fit inside the enclosure, but the problem lies in the connector to the caddy, which is somewhat insubstantial and can easily be broken during the bending and fitting process.

All that said, if you persevere with the fitting, it is remarkably sturdy and works perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy, 21 Oct 2009
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
Looks great, works well, and is nice to have both usb and esata. To install a drive was easy nad quick.
The case is solid, and has a very stable bracket to hold the drive upright.

The only problem i have is that the power source connector has a very shallow collar, so when plgged in, it will sometime fall out.
This doesnt seem too bad, but when are in the middle of a transfer you will then lose that data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad power connection., 11 Oct 2010
By 
Ms. L. Clarke (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
This product has only one problem, the power connection.

I don't know if it's a problem only with mine but i doubt it. The power plug doesn't click positively into the socket and is just hanging in there. If the unit gets nudged the plug just falls out.

It's not a big problem but annoying.

Also it only support SATA 1 not SATA 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked Perfectly, 24 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. C. Jackson (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
I had previously had problems with other cheap HDD enclosures so I was pleased that this one worked fine straight out of the box without any problems. Fingers crossed it will continue to do so! It feels a better quality product than its competitors and comes with esata capability, albeit that you have to buy the cable separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Attractive HDD case and reasonably priced, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
Over the years I have assembled many external drives for my own use and for others. Some of the cases had been downright ugly and some far less so. I cannot claim this to be the most attractive of all but it is fairly close to the top. This offers both USB 2.0 and e-SATA external connections so that it will work with just about every PC made in recent years. If you have e-SATA, the case is able to work at least 3-times faster than can USB 2.0 and thus be of benefit for those who need the extra speed, for example movie work or intensive graphics editing.

The activity light is at the front rather than at the rear as with several others, including some that are factory assembled, which is quite ridiculous if you are unable to see what is (or is not) happening. It arrived partly assembled and all you need to do to install the drive is to remove the inner slide, screw the drive in place and connect the 2 keyed leads and then return the inner slide to the case and screw it into position using the 4 slim screws provided. A screw driver is also provided which fits the smaller screws but not the larger ones required to secure the drive. A medium Philips screw driver is therefore required. The quality of the provided screwdriver is dubious at best and a better quality product (preferably one that is magnetised) will make the job significantly easier. As some manufacturers do not provide any screwdriver at all, something is definitely better than nothing. It will get the job done, if necessary.

Although USB leads are provided as standard, e-SATA or SATA cables are usually not provided. This is the exception and a flat, rubbery cable of about 1m length is provided. The lead appears to be of quite good quality and should be sufficiently long for most users. As they are quite expensive to buy, its inclusion makes this case exceptionally good value.

I cannot speak for the long-term reliability of the case as I have had it for a very short time, but some cases bought several years ago still function reliably despite regular long-term use. However, as I have paid 3 times or more than this for other cases that lasted for a few months before either the internal circuitry or the power unit failed, I will be happy if this lasts a year or two. In general terms, there is greater reliability now than was typical a few years ago.

Recommended at the price.

UPDATE @ 02-2012
The case is now useless as the Power Supply failed quite soon after its first birthday although working until mid-day today. I have bought, not solely by choice, more drive enclosures using dual-voltage 4- and 5 pins connectors PSUs than those providing a single voltage and some form of co-axial power plug. All but two have been discarded due to PSU failure. The plugs and sockets always seem to vary slightly in the diameter and arrangement of their pins making each fairly unique and non-interchangeable.

The disadvantages of dual-voltage PSUs is that the 5V line almost invariably fails prematurely and the nature of the connectors used makes them non-standard and not replaceable by a generic alternative. A single-voltage PSU is far more commonly used and therefore preferable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as any., 25 July 2010
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
Purchased this to use with a mini ASRock ION330 HT for storing ripped FLAC music files on a 2TB drive. It worked fine on USB but there was a problem with eSATA.

The computer would not boot and hang from cold when the BIOS was attempting to detect the enclosed SATA II drive (sometimes itermittant). The solution was to set the jumper on my 2TB Seagate LP drive to reduce the maximum transfer speed to 1.5Gbps after which it detected perfectly (bridge the two pins farthest away from the data socket). For Hitachi Deskstar drives, download a utility called FTool to set this as there are no jumper pins. This seems a general problem and not specific to this enclosure, so 5 stars is appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Died after around a year, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
Around a year after purchasing it just stopped, red light, hard drive wasn't being recognized by any computer while in this caddy (it worked fine when installed in a PC. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy
3.5" SATA HDD to e-SATA and USB Combo External Enclosure Caddy by Apex 3.5" Sata to E-Sata and USB Combo Enclosure
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews