Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!
I can remember watching "Return to Witch Mountain" as a child, what an absolute classic, okay it's very cheesy when you compare it to some stuff being made now, but then at the same time it adds to the fun of it, and because back in the 70's it was considered a very good Disney movie for Children. I won't give away the storyline for those who haven't seen it, it...
Published 11 months ago by Tamara2000

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What is this manufactured tripe?
When Disney made "Escape to Witch Mountain", they were at the height of their creativity. It had a well thought out plot in stages within the realm of imaginary probability. We could relate to the two characters of Tia and Tony as they searched for their true home. All the characters evil or good had depth and we could relate to them.

Instead of expanding on...
Published on 25 April 2010 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 5 Mar. 2014
I can remember watching "Return to Witch Mountain" as a child, what an absolute classic, okay it's very cheesy when you compare it to some stuff being made now, but then at the same time it adds to the fun of it, and because back in the 70's it was considered a very good Disney movie for Children. I won't give away the storyline for those who haven't seen it, it is quite straightforward, two teenagers from another planet, come to visit Earth, and get them selves into all sorts of trouble, but little do people on Earth know they have Supernatural powers! It's a gem! This is back when Disney was really magical! Give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars family fun adventure, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return From Witch Mountain [DVD] (DVD)
i loved this when i was kid and i love it now. my little girl has also fallen in love with it. brother and sister are visiting a friend, brother stupidly uses his powers again in public and gets nabbed by christopher lee, sister then has to find and rescue him with help of boy/kid street gang, of course. great adveture movie for family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 70's Nostalgic Treat, 23 Jan. 2015
First watched this back in '79 a year after release when I was 8 and instantly had a crush on Kim Richards.
Watching back for the first time as an adult I can see why as she's adorable.
The gang of kids especially the blonde one with the glasses are straight out of my class of 77.

Really well done in some places.The floating wine glass scene at the start was magic, before the world of post production and CGI. An awesome display of wirework from Disney throughout.
Classic for the 40-somethings to get nostalgic about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return From Witch Mountain [DVD] (DVD)
What a treat to see this film again - yes it's dated compared to what Walt Disney produce nowadays but still an enjoyable watch for those feeling nostalgic for vintage WD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return From Witch Mountain [DVD] (DVD)
Nice product, smooth and fast trade. Thanks for everything. I hope to see you again.Nice product, smooth and fast trade. Thanks for everything. I hope to see you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of a pair, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return From Witch Mountain [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of a pair involving Witch mountain by Disney. A dvd that I am very pleased to now own it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic childrens movie, 2 April 2013
By 
E. Wright "Guns Ed" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return From Witch Mountain [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this movie when I was about eight years old. It was pretty much the definitive film of my early years. It is a sequel to the film "Escape to Witch Mountain" and the two child actors from the first film return for this one. That said, I'd never seen the first one as a young boy but still loved this film - that's because this one works as a stand alone movie in its own right. It tells the story of Tony and Tia, brother and sister who come from Witch Mountain, to visit the big city. The kids have the ability to "energise matter" which allows them to move objects with their minds, cause electrical systems to overload, and they can also communicate telepathically and to a small degree, see visions of the future. While in the city, Tony uses his powers to save the life of a man, but the act is witnessed by a power hungry mastermind (Christopher Lee) who has managed to perfect a device that allows control over people's minds. He kidnaps Tony, and uses his abilities to cause all sorts of chaos across the city as demonstrations of his power. All the while, Tia is looking for him, aided by a gang of boys who are playing truant from school. Eventually they meet and there is a stand off between Tony and Tia, until Tia can break the mind control device and rescue Tony.
This film has dated somewhat, although considering it was made in 1978, the effects are still pretty good by today's standards on the most part. It contains all sorts of things children will love - kids who can fly, scary yet not too scary bad guys, a friendly goat, a car chase, and general mayhem! I purchased this to watch with my daughter and she loves it, and I enjoy watching it with her.
The bonus features include a documentary interviewing the actors today (who are all grown up) who reflect on how much fun the film was to make. There is also an interview with Christopher Lee from the time, in Spanish with subtitles.
All in all this is a great DVD - I'd recommend the movie to adults and children alike - it's a real winner for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Return From Witch Mountain [DVD] (DVD)
very good but not as good as the first two, it dosent grab your attention as much, good for a wet sunday afternoon to sit with the family and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Really Enjoyed This Sequel, 2 Mar. 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Tia (Kim Richards) and Tony (Ike Eisenmann) have come to Los Angeles for a week of culture. They'll get to spend their time touring museums and attending a concert or two. But on their way to the hotel, their taxi runs out of gas. When they both get a premonition that a man is about to fall to his death, Tony goes to rescue him.

Naturally, the man levitating in the air attracts the attention of those standing nearby. Unfortunately for Tony, those nearby are mad scientist Victor (Christopher Lee) and his financier Letha (Bette Davis). Victor is perfecting a devise that would put anyone wearing it under his complete control. Naturally, the two know they can use Tony's powers to their benefit so they kidnap him. Now Tia must team up with a gang of truant wanna be hooligans to try to find him. Will her powers be enough to rescue her brother?

I'll admit I didn't find the first movie all that entertaining, but I pressed on with the sequel anyway. I'm glad I did. This movie was fun in an over the top, campy sort of way. You can't take it seriously at all or it will annoy you. But if you sit down looking for some Disney 70's fun, you'll find it. There are several inventive scenes in the movie that feature good special effects and decent action played for laughs. The villains are just menacing enough to be taken seriously without losing the fun factor of the movie.

Of course, my roommates would tend to disagree. They came home while I was part way through and thought the movie was horrid. Which probably means that it is best left to the intended audience of the young and the young at heart.

The part that bothered me the most was the street gang roaming Los Angeles by themselves. But this is Disney and they aren't really that bad.

No, this isn't great cinema or a must watch, but it will keep kids entertained. And since they are the intended audience, that's all that matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What is this manufactured tripe?, 25 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
When Disney made "Escape to Witch Mountain", they were at the height of their creativity. It had a well thought out plot in stages within the realm of imaginary probability. We could relate to the two characters of Tia and Tony as they searched for their true home. All the characters evil or good had depth and we could relate to them.

Instead of expanding on this well-designed base, all we get from this movie is twaddle. The characters are unbelievable exaggerated not funny not memorable and far from real. All we get is one situation after another where ridiculous kids from an improbable environment do in memorable things to and for each other. In the end, we gained nothing and wasted precious time it is better spent elsewhere.

This presentation does contain some great actors have done marvelous things in their time but now looks like it was just a vehicle for out of work actors.

Not even Blu-Ray or voice over commentaries can save this claptrap.

Escape to Witch Mountain Special Edition

The Parent Trap (Vault Disney Collection)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Return From Witch Mountain [DVD]
Return From Witch Mountain [DVD] by John Hough (DVD - 2009)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews