Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't catch us!
A brother and sister team Tia and Tony (Kim Richards and Ike Eisenmann) find themselves orphans. They remember their foster parents and only glimpses of their previous life. They are also aware that they have abilities far beyond those of mortal men. Tia carries a star-case that may give a clue to where they came from. The duo may have stayed in the orphanage forever...
Published on 31 May 2010 by bernie

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids adventure at it's best
I remember first watching this film as a child, and thought it was brilliant. The children of the story, although knowing they are "different" from the start, do not find out until towards the end of the film what the "difference" is. Both children are "gifted" with strange abilities, which prove useful during their adventure to help them get out of the scrapes they...
Published on 9 Jun 2005 by colinweston


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't catch us!, 31 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A brother and sister team Tia and Tony (Kim Richards and Ike Eisenmann) find themselves orphans. They remember their foster parents and only glimpses of their previous life. They are also aware that they have abilities far beyond those of mortal men. Tia carries a star-case that may give a clue to where they came from. The duo may have stayed in the orphanage forever however, they have a chance encounter with a stranger, Mr. Deranian (Donald Pleasence) and then their adventure begins.

Mr. Deranian's employer Aristotle Bolt (Ray Milland) on the surface he appears benevolent it soon they find he has a nefarious plans to use their powers for evil or profit. It behooves them to escape and continue their search for their previous life. In their effort to find, where they came from, they also help another stranger Jason O'Day (Eddie Albert) get back his emotional life.

Will they ever find their way home or is he destined to run forever?

-------------
This movie is among one of Disney's best presentations. One advantage is that it was made before somebody tried to be politically correct or force some politically correct idea down our throats.

As with many of the earlier movies one nicety is that the credits appear before the film so that you can anticipate the actors and the music that you are about to hear.

Because now day's people have larger television, screens it is a little easier to see the wires that hold up items that are supposed to be floating. Nevertheless, this does not interfere with the entertainment.

One advantage of this DVD and DVDs at this time is the added voice overview, "Conversations with John Hough", which gives insight to what they were trying to produce as they made this movie. Listen to the overview and then watch the movie again and you will gain more insight and still not lose any of the entertainment value.

Escape to witch Mountain may be superseded by a new version but it will never be duplicated or exceeded for pure entertainment.

The Uninvited ~ Ray Milland (1944)
Teahouse of the August Moon ~ Eddie Albert [VHS]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kids Film, 15 April 2010
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape to Witch Mountain [DVD] (1975) (DVD)
This was the first film I went to see in the cinema (if you don't count the 15 minute documentary on lions I was taken to at some tiny little and very odd cinema that I can no longer locate). I remember it having a very very profound effect on me. The day I left the cinema I had a strong sense of yearning which remained with me for weeks after. I still remember writing about it in school. All this would have been at the age of about 8 (I think it may have been my 8th Birthday treat to se it).

On seeing it again, as an adult and in the light of modern special effects and such like, the story has sadly lost the magical power it had over me, but I was still very happy to have it again. I think this is better than the remake - the power is in the story, not the effects. For an 8 year old, this story was second to none.

I suspect few people will buy this DVD who do not have fond memories, as I do. That is a pity. It dated, and has been remade. But younger children would still be enthralled by this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape to Witch Mountain [DVD] (1975) (DVD)
What a treat to see this film again and still as watchable now as it was originally - very nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape to Witch Mountain [DVD] (1975) (DVD)
Again this was just awesome totally magic the story line is just brilliant and the movie was just awesome totally brill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars escape to witch mountain, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very good family film very good story line and a film worth keeping and to watch over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Family Film, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was one of my childrens favourite films, now its one of my grandchildrens favourite films.
A very good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good film, 28 Jan 2014
By 
L. Wright (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape to Witch Mountain [DVD] (1975) (DVD)
Bought this as a present but it was enjoyable to watch, special effects are a bit dated but the film is over 30 years old so its to be expected. Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic dvd - daughter loves it!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter is at an age now (11) when she is fascinated by older movies - the Witch Mountain ones in particular have taken her fancy. Just goes to show that digital effects etc are not everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Escape TO Witch MOUNTAIN (DVD), 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape to Witch Mountain [DVD] (1975) (DVD)
It arrived in good Condition and before the time specified. i am still looking for the Escpe to Witch Mountain that was released by Disney with different Actors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids adventure at it's best, 9 Jun 2005
I remember first watching this film as a child, and thought it was brilliant. The children of the story, although knowing they are "different" from the start, do not find out until towards the end of the film what the "difference" is. Both children are "gifted" with strange abilities, which prove useful during their adventure to help them get out of the scrapes they find themselves in.
The film starts with the children in a home, and the local millionaire finds out about their abilities and tries to adopt them, keeping the children prisoners at his home. Tia, the girl, has a "star case" and finds a hidden map in it, along with dreams she has been having about a ship wreck her and her brother, Tony were involved in as children.
The children decide to follow the map to "Witch Mountain" and so their adventure beigns ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape to Witch Mountain [DVD] (1975)
Escape to Witch Mountain [DVD] (1975) by John Hough (DVD - 2009)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews