Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars70
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2009
Waited in anticipation for this as it sounded great on the adverts - First disc was not disappointed loved 98% of the songs - not so with the second disc - Didn't like 98% of the material on this - would mark this a 50/50 split but there is something for everyone.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
This is another one of the best Now Albums ever. It is better than Now 70 and Now 71, but not as good as Now 73 and Now 74.
It is also very similar to Now 73.

43 TOP CHART HITS

COMPACT DISC 1 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.Lily Allen- The Fear 1 22 Weeks(Feb-Feb)
2.Lady Gaga ft Colby O'Donis- Just Dance 1 59 Weeks(Jan-May)
3.Flo Rida ft Ke$ha- Right Round 1 24 Weeks(Mar-Aug)
4.Alesha Dixon- The Boy Does Nothing 5 31 Weeks(Nov-June)
5.The Saturdays- Just Can't Get Enough 2 14 Weeks(Mar-June)
6.Kelly Clarkson- My Life Would Suck
Without You 1 17 Weeks(Mar-June)
7.Tinchy Stryder ft Taio Cruz-
Take Me Back 3 20 Weeks(Jan-May)
8.Kid Cudi vs Crookers- Day N Nite 2 23 Weeks(Jan-June)
9.Britney Spears- Womanizer 3 30 Weeks(Nov-June)
10.T.I. ft Rihanna- Live Your Life 2 23 Weeks(Nov-Apr)
11.Akon- Right Now(Na Na Na) 6 31 Weeks(Oct-May)
12.Shontelle- T-Shirt 6 19 Weeks(Jan-May)
13.Ne-Yo- Mad 19 19 Weeks(Dec-Apr)
14.The Saturdays- Issues 4 20 Weeks(Dec-Apr)
15.Leona Lewis- Forgive Me 5 10 Weeks(Nov-Jan)
16.Girls Aloud- The Loving Kind 10 18 Weeks(Dec-Apr)
17.September- Can't Get Over 14 6 Weeks(Mar-Apr)
18.Steve Angello ft Laidback Luke
& Robin S- Show Me Love 11 12 Weeks(Mar-June)
19.N-Dubz- Strong Again 24 24 Weeks(Dec-May)
20.Katy Perry- Thinking Of You 27 12 Weeks(Jan-Apr)
21.Alexandra Burke- Hallelujah 1 20 Weeks(Dec-Dec)
22.X Factor Finalists 2008- Hero 1 13 Weeks(Nov-Feb)

COMPACT DISC 2 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.Take That- Greatest Day 1 28 Weeks(Nov-Jan)
2.Alesha Dixon- Breathe Slow 3 25 Weeks(Jan-June)
3.James Morrison & Nelly Furtado-
Broken Strings 2 49 Weeks(Nov-Oct)
4.Taylor Swift- Love Story 2 32 Weeks(Feb-Feb)
5.P!nk- Sober 9 22 Weeks(Dec-May)
6.The Killers- Human 3 53 Weeks(Nov-Mar)
7.The Script- Breakeven 21 33 Weeks(Oct-Oct)
8.Jason Mraz- I'm Yours 11 84 Weeks(Dec-Sep)
9.Noisettes- Don't Stop The Rhythm
(Go Baby Go) 2 22 Weeks(Mar-Sep)
10.Metro Station- Shake It 6 26 Weeks(Mar-Aug)
11.U2- Get On Your Boots 12 5 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
12.MGMT- Kids 16 43 Weeks(Sep-Sep)
13.The Prodigy- Omen 4 21 Weeks(Feb-Sep)
14.Kevin Rudolf ft Lil Wayne- Let It Rock 5 21 Weeks(Nov-Apr)
15.Wiley ft Daniel Merriweather-
Cash In My Pocket 18 10 Weeks(Dec-Feb)
16.Kanye West- Heartless 10 20 Weeks(Nov-Apr)
17.T.I. ft Justin Timberlake- Dead & Gone 4 21 Weeks(Nov-June)
18.Daniel Merriweather ft Wale- Change 8 7 Weeks(Feb-June)
19.Pet Shop Boys- Love Etc. 14 4 Weeks(Mar-Apr)
20.Duffy- Rain On Your Parade 15 15 Weeks(Nov-Mar)
21.Vanessa Jenkins, Bryn West & Sir Tom Jones
ft Robin Gibb- Islands In The Stream 1 5 Weeks(Mar-Apr)

Best Songs

COMPACT DISC 1

Lady Gaga ft Colby O'Donis- Just Dance
Flo Rida ft Ke$ha- Right Round
Alesha Dixon- The Boy Does Nothing
The Saturdays- Just Can't Get Enough
Kelly Clarkson- My Life Would Suck Without You
Tinchy Stryder ft Taio Cruz- Take Me Back
Kid Cudi vs Crookers- Day N Nite
Britney Spears- Womanizer
T.I. ft Rihanna- Live Your Life
Akon- Right Now(Na Na Na)
Shontelle- T-Shirt
The Saturdays- Issues
Girls Aloud- The Loving Kind
September- Can't Get Over
Steve Angello ft Laidback Luke & Robin S-
Show Me Love
N-Dubz- Strong Again
Katy Perry- Thinking Of You
X Factor Finalists 2008- Hero

COMPACT DISC 2

Alesha Dixon- Breathe Slow
Taylor Swift- Love Story
P!nk- Sober
The Killers- Human
Jason Mraz- I'm Yours
Noisettes- Don't Upset The Rhythm(Go Baby Go)
Metro Station- Shake It
MGMT- Kids
The Prodigy- Omen
Kevin Rudolf ft Lil Wayne- Let It Rock
Wiley ft Daniel Merriweather- Cash In My Pocket
Kanye West- Heartless
Daniel Merriweather ft Wale- Change
Pet Shop Boys- Love Etc.

Artists repeated from Now 71

The Saturdays- Just Can't Get Enough
Ne-Yo- Mad
The Saturdays- Issues
Girls Aloud- The Loving Kind
Katy Perry- Thinking Of You
James Morrison & Nelly Furtado- Broken Strings
P!nk- Sober
The Script- Breakeven
Duffy- Rain On Your Parade

Artists that appear on Now 73

Lily Allen- Not Fair
Lady Gaga- Poker Face
Flo Rida ft Wynter- Sugar
Alesha Dixon- Let's Get Excited
The Saturdays- Work
Tinchy Stryder ft N-Dubz- Number 1
Britney Spears- If U Seek Amy
Akon ft Kardinal Offishall & Colby O'Donis-
Beautiful
Shontelle ft Akon- Stuck With Each Other
Girls Aloud- Untouchable
Katy Perry- Waking Up In Vegas
Take That- Up All Night
James Morrison- Please Don't Stop The Rain
P!nk- Please Don't Leave Me
Noisettes- Never Forget You
The Prodigy- Warrior's Dance
Daniel Merriweather- Red

8 Number 1's

Lily Allen- The Fear
Lady Gaga ft Colby O'Donis- Just Dance
Flo Rida ft Ke$ha- Right Round
Kelly Clarkson- My Life Would Suck Without You
Alexandra Burke- Hallelujah
X Factor Finalists 2008- Hero
Take That- Greatest Day
Vanessa Jenkins, Bryn West ft Sir Tom Jones & Robin Gibb-
Islands In The Stream

Release Date: 6 April 2009
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Now 72 may have been released nearly 4 years ago, but it does sound like another world, in contrast to the current trends in pop music nowadays- more like Now That was Interesting, from a pop music perspective.
CD 1 is okay, in terms of the width and breath of pop music at the time, ranging from the likes of Lady Gaga's top-notch collaboration with Colby O'Donis to Alexandra Burke faithful, yet remaining inferior, version of the Leonard Cohen classic Hallelujah. But there is not much substance to withstand repeated hearings, unless you do not mind hearing Alesha Dixon's That Boy Does Nothing several times.
CD 2 delivers an interesting mixture of rock, pop, dance, and everything else in between. Even the novelty of Islands in the Stream does not sound too annoying, particularly amongst the likes of The Killers' Human, Noisettes' anthemic Don't Upset the Rhythm), and even MGMT's instant indie classic Kids. There are even surprisingly excellent contributions from the likes of the Pet Shop Boys, Metro Station, and Daniel Merriweather, who appears twice with a track from Wiley (Cash in My Pocket) and a superior collaboration with Wale.
Now 72 offer an interesting spectrum of pop from the late 2000s; but CD 1 does let it down, to the lowest common denominator, with its uninspiring selection of tracks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
It ok however i've alway found disc 1 better than disc 2 this time it was the other way around. A mix bag of music but it's that what the NOW CD is all about.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
Now 72 is a collection of recent songs from the charts. Including comic relif singles. This would have been 5 star but I feel it was lacking some of the best songs such as 'If I where a boy' and 'run.' Appart from this I think the track list is good and I wasn't dissapointed!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
who decides what get's included in the NOW CDs? It seems to me some record labels are easier (cheaper?) to get on board than others.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
This was purchased as a Christmas gift for my Brother. He has all of the albums / cd's that have been released in this collection to date. He enjoys collecting them as it gives him the chance to have all of the most popular songs of the last 30 years in different compolation volumns even if he dose not want a full CD of each artist. He would recommened this to anyone thinking of buying it,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2009
This is probably the BEST Now compilation of the last 3 releases!

Most of the tunes (especially Disc 1) is funky, party stuff and everybody just loves it!

I got a little 'bored' with Now's 69-71 (Now 68 was the last 'good' one).

Anyway, just my opinion...

Keep it up & I hope the next album will have even more 'funky' surprises than this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
I really enjoyed listening to this compilation. A great mix of artistes, Lily Allen, Flo Rida, Kelly Clarkson, Pink and The Prodigy (awful track) to name but a few. Also the truly brilliant version of Hallelujah (Alexandra Burke) and a couple of Comic Relief tracks - one of which is really good. Well worth getting - defo recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
According to the NOW complilations website this is the official track listing for NOW 72:

CD1

Lily Allen - The Fear
Lady Gaga feat. Colby O'Donis - Just Dance
Flo Rida feat. Ke$ha - Right Round
Alesha Dixon - The Boy Does Nothing
The Saturdays - Just Can't Get Enough (Official Comic Relief Song)
Kelly Clarkson - My Life Would Suck Without You
Tinchy Stryder feat. Taio Cruz - Take Me Back
Kid Cudi vs Crookers - Day 'N' Nite
Britney Spears - Womanizer
T.I. feat. Rihanna - Live Your Life
Akon - Right Now (Na Na Na)
Shontelle - T-Shirt
Ne-Yo - Mad
The Saturdays - Issues
Leona Lewis - Forgive Me
Girls Aloud - The Loving Kind
September - Can't Get Over
Steve Angello & Laidback Luke Feat. Robin S - Show Me Love
N-Dubz - Strong Again
Katy Perry - Thinking Of You
Alexandra Burke - Hallelujah
X Factor Finalists 2008 - Hero

CD2
Take That - Greatest Day
Alesha Dixon - Breathe Slow
James Morrison & Nelly Furtado - Broken Strings
Taylor Swift - Love Story
P!nk - Sober
The Killers - Human
The Script - Breakeven
Jason Mraz - I'm Yours
Noisettes - Don't Upset The Rhythm (Go Baby Go)
Metro Station - Shake It
U2 - Get On Your Boots
MGMT - Kids
The Prodigy - Omen
Kevin Rudolf feat. Lil Wayne - Let It Rock
Wiley feat. Daniel Merriweather - Cash In My Pocket
Kanye West - Heartless
T.I. feat. Justin Timberlake - Dead & Gone
Daniel Merriweather feat. Wale - Change
Pet Shop Boys - Love Etc.
Duffy - Rain On Your Parade
Vanessa Jenkins, Bryn West & Sir Tom Jones feat. Robin Gibb - Islands In The Stream (For Comic Relief)

Judging by this track listing this is a really good CD indeed, surpassing NOW 71, although not as good as NOW 70 in my view. Some great songs are however mysteriously absent like Leona Lewis' #1 single "Run" (instead we get "Forgive Me" which was much less popular), Beyoncé's "If I Were A Boy", Rihanna's "Rehab", Adele's "Make You Feel My Love", Britney Spear's "Circus", Take That's "Up All Night", Gabriella Cilmi's "Warm This Winter" and Pussycat Dolls' "I Hate This Part", and possibly others too. Following the trend from NOW 71, two artists make a double entry this time, which I suppose makes sense as both The Saturdays and Alesha Dixon has been doing really well over the past months, and both had 2 Top 5 singles.

I would recommended this CD to everyone who wants to complete their NOW collection with this latest installment, or music fans who wants to own some of the most popular songs from the last 3-4 months. A piece of music history is captured, and I am sure will be cherished for a long time.
22 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)