Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars346
4.5 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Original Packaging|Change
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2011
I purchased this product along with my new Black and decker 18V drill. Its got 3 kinds of drills- can be used for different surfaces. They are in different sizes and come in a very handy box as well. The only drawback is getting the drills out of the box- especially the ones with the sharp edges.They are closely placed and using fingers is not recommended. It would have been much easier if they were placed in a rack which could be lifted from the box so that the drill pieces could be removed by holding the lower bit. Otherwise good value for money.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
The item was exactly as described and the titanium coated bits are fantastic. The case is much smaller than expected and a bit flimsy but that aside its a must have addition to anyone with a B&D power drill.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
This is a nice drill bit set and does the job well. Some pieces are quite sharp so be careful when taking them out. I have used a few off the pieces and had no problems so far.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Bought this to go with my new cordless drill. It's got all the essential bits while being compact, so it's very handy.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
This kit is great value for money, but it's more suited to moderate/frequent DIY use than professional use.

The box is constructed of tough moulded plastic with perspex windows on the front. The plastic clasps lock in place with a reassuring click and when they are engaged the box is held securely and tightly shut. The interior section that holds the various drill bits is made on a solid (as opposed to hollow) plastic mould that is securely screwed into place.

Internally the ergonomics are not too bad, but as one reviewer previously mentioned, it can be awkward to get some of the smaller bits out, this is especially true of the small metal and wood bits. These bits are not too difficult to get access to, but because they are quite sharp, it's difficult to get good purchase on them without giving yourself a puncture wound :O. This problem is easily circumvented by using a larger drill bit to lever out the smaller one. Really not a huge problem at all.

The rest of the bits (drill and drive) are easily accessed, although the drill bits are in quite a snug area (app 2" high) it's still possible to get them out without any great drama.

All in all the box is very well made. As it's plastic I'm not sure it would stand up to the rigours of a professional environment, but I haven't exactly molly coddled it and it's still as good as new after a years medium-high DIY use. Ergonomically, it is very snug inside, but this is a fair compromise as it keeps the overall size of the box down to a reasonable level, especially for DIY users (like me) who may not have the space to store an abundance of Tools etc.

OK, that's enough literary four play... time to get down to the drilling and screwing (yes yes)...

I've had this set for approximately a year and it's still in fairly good condition. When you consider that we moved house within this time, the kit has been used quite a lot and is still holding up very well. I've primarily used the masonry bits and they have went through plasterboard, concrete and brick with no real dramas.

The only complaint I have is when I came to mount a TV bracket to the wall. a 10mm bit was required and the largest bit in the box was 8mm. It's not an entirely uncommon household job and many other jobs would require this bit, so B&D would have been wise to include one.

I've only used the woodwork bits to make some raised beds for the garden and they coped with aplomb.

I haven't used the metal bits, but they look to be of high quality and are mad eof High Speed Steel (HSS) with a titanium coating. This means they shouldn't get hot too during use and will also hold their edge well (due to the titanium coating).

There's also a countersink in place which is very useful if the screws you are using do not have a countersink built in to them.

The screwdriver bits have been very durable. I've put in a lot of screws over the last year and I still haven't managed to blunt or deform any of the bits. The bit holder that comes with them is very useful if you'll be putting a lot of screws in as it enables quick bit changes. The bit holder has a strong magnet which holds the bits securely.

All in all there is no cause for complaint with this kit. The box is well made. The bits are well constructed and most of all, they offer great value for money:

35 bits/£8.44 = 24.1p per bit.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Good neat piece of kit. Have used quite a few of the accessories now and even for a cack-handed novice like me they're pretty good. The screw-driver bits are a tight fit and can be awkward to remove, but the fitting may well loosen up with use. An information sheet about the different uses for the different drill bits would have been useful - I'm guessing there are plenty of other novices out there that would find this useful too. Overall I think this will suit the light DIY and craft projects I have in mind very well.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Neat carry case, good variety of decent quality bits etc, and a magnetic holder. Excellent value, recommended. What more can I say???
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Great little accessory kit. Seems to be decent quality for what I have used it for so far! Very pleased
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
Excellent drill bit set - makes a perfect compliment to any woodworker. The holding case is nice and compact, would have been nice to have the drill bit sizes printed on the case rather than having a look at the bit shank but given the price I can overlook this.

Pay no attention to the review with one star - these drill bits are NOT MEANT FOR BRICKWORK - the description clearly says what they're suitable for.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2010
....a good quality set of drill bits and quite frankly what else can you say!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)