Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars29
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2013
I bought this as a birthday present for my Mum, as she loves ballet and particularly likes Darcey Bussell. My parents tried to watch it, but gave up after 30 minutes, as the lighting was so dim they literally couldn't see what was happening. According to my Dad, the dancers dressed in black were practically invisible at times.

I've since found quite a few clips online and I can see what they mean. Obviously, some of the scenes were meant to be taking place outside on a winter evening, but surely there are ways of creating an impression of that with stage lighting? I also thought some of the direction of the piece was simply dreadful; the opening scene for example, looking in through a window, doesn't work at all.

What I saw of the dancing looked amazing, it's just a shame that it wasn't shown off in the best light.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2010
Not only do you get one hour of pure magic in the Winter Dream ballet, additionally there is a most interesting documentary portrait of the choreographer, Kenneth MacMillan. I watched the documentary first which was a happy decision. By the end of it I felt that I understood where MacMillan was coming from as he explained his new ideas for ballet, for example different moves and expressing real-life emotion. Winter Dreams was the ideal ballet to then watch to see his ideas in practice. I was with the three sisters all the way as they danced through their hopes and disappointments, so much so I felt quite drained by the end - but not too drained to watch it again the next day! I like the fact that the story behind the ballet is clearly introduced at the start and that any of the 11 sections of the ballet can be selected so that favourite parts can be replayed easily.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
This ballet is wonderfully performed. The artists playing their roles as they were the very character. Many emotions and a perfect ballet technique. Moreover, Darcey Bussell is, as usual, the most beautiful ballerina. I recommend this DVD to everyone loving great ballet performances.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
DVD arrived today, most of UK in snow so this was an appropriate time! MacMillian's ballet lies between La Dame aux Camelias, Aniuta and Mayerling in an atmosphere of rural Russia, snow and beautiful women. Based on Chekov accompanied by traditional Russian music and pieces by Tchaikovsky it is beautiful in every way. It's not too dark as the other reviewer states. A total winner! THER SHOULD BE NO REVIEWS LESS THAN """""
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2002
Darcy Bussel is just amazing. Her technique and her ability is just breath taking. This ballet has been wonderfully choerographed and just suits Darcey and her partner Irek Moukhamedov. The jetes performed by Irek are unbelieve, how anyone can fly like that is just rediculas! Overall, a must see for all ballet fans, especial Darcey Bussel ones!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Winter Dreams is a brief and lightweight ballet. Worth viewing for the extra, an interesting survey of Kenneth MacMillan's choreography.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Dearly as I love Darcey Bussell, this is technically a poor DVD, let down by dreadful lighting. Most of the action seems to take place in semi-darkness. And it's in the old 4:3 format, which is about the only thing that could make Darcey Bussell look over-weight.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2009
a beautifully told story based on chekov's play,the three sisters.comes with documentary,'out of line' which i also enjoyed.only thing i was disappointed with was the lighting - very dark in places so dancers in dark costumes were hard to see.this was such a shame especially as it was recorded for tv.(bbc).
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
she loves this DVD, i think it was the fact it isn't one of those traditional ballets but still danced superbly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This is a very nice DVD if you are a ballet fan by two of the world class dancers - Irek Mukemedov is the male dancer.

I saw this ballet,live,years ago and this is a pleasant record of that memory for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)