Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars271
4.6 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Pencils|Change
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2015
Best pencils I have used, allows me to draw some somewhat less s*** pictures... I'll link a picture for reference xD
review image
33 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
Good quality sketching pencils in a strong tin that can be carried with you always. Recommended buy, as they are value for money.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
I think these pencils are of such good value! The pencils are of very good quality and are neatly stored inside a protective tin. The tin is easy to open and the pencils can be quickly taken out and used! They are perfect for taking out and sketching during the day! There are 12 shades, perfect for sketching and desiging different things! I use these pencils all the time, very pleased overall!
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
I bought these pencils because i thought that they were a good price for the amount of pencils you get and i needed them for my A-level art. I'm really glad i bought them now as they are great quality, and produce good shades and strokes to my sketches. Well worth the money!! :)
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
Bought this for myself to get back into by sketching.

Loved the fact that there was a good range of lead sizes and the instructions were included.

The order arrived on time, which is always a plus, so would be inclined to use these pencils again when I've worn them out.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2009
We needed a selection of good pencils in various grades and this fits the job, not a bad price either as it included P&P
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 June 2016
This is a great set of pencils for sketching. It consists of 12 pencils - each with a different degree of 'hardness' (resulting in a range of blacks, as well as different thickness of lines). The range includes 6B, 5B, 4B, 3B, 2B, B, HB, H, 2H, 3H, 4H and 5H. At '5H' you be able to draw a very thin line in light black (great for when you're initially sketching out your work in the planning stage). At '6B' you'll be drawing a much thicker line, and the black will be very dark (great for shading). As such, these pencils allow for a fantastic range and blending of blacks. The hexagonal design of the barrel allows for a comfortable hold. Overall, this Derwent product provides great quality.
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Bought as part of a Christmas present. Look fantastic. Good quality for the price. Will recommend to anyone who likes drawing
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Made in the UK, these 12 SKETCHING PENCILS are presented in a quality unhinged tin, measuring around 18.75 cm x 10 cm, with nicely rounded edges and a plastic inlay tray to keep the pencils from moving around.

The full-length (c 17.5 cm), ready-to-use pencils have hexagonal barrels.
Each is elegant in a dark silvery-grey colour, with a silver band and black end of about 2.5 cm.

Each is embossed:

~ 'DERWENT' ~ 'Academy Sketching' ~ and the relevant degree, e.g. '3B'

My tin contained one each of:

♦ 6B
♦ 5B
♦ 4B
♦ 3B
♦ 2B
♦ B
♦ HB
♦ H
♦ 2H
♦ 3H
♦ 4H
♦ 5H

As with all DERWENT pencils, they sharpen well with a QUALITY SHARPENER, and a sharp point can be obtained, if required.

Ordered as part of the Amazon 'Add-on programme', my tin arrived safely packed in bubblewrap in a strong outer carton and I have not experienced any problems with breakages.

I am not an expert in this field but have noticed a marked difference between this set and the cheapest version I bought to get started with over the last three months.

ooOoo

From the back of the tin:

'For people who love to draw and who want to develop their skills.
Derwent has been making and creating artists pencils for over 180 years and using this knowledge and expertise bring you a range of sketching pencils chosen for their quality and performance.

Made with natural wood barrels, the Sketching range consists of 12 degrees from a 'SOFT 6B' to a 'HARD 5H'.
Soft pencils are best suited to sketching and blending.
Harder pencils are used for straight line and detailed work as they hold a sharper point.
Derwent Academy pencils are also easy to sharpen and break resistant.

Techniques:

1. Hatching ~ create a variety of tones by drawing a series of parallel lines.
2. Frottage ~ produce interesting effects by working on paper over a textured surface.'
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
Great stuff Derwent!

I bought these Sketching pencils after my previous set had depleted due to use, and i've got to say i'm astonished!

The range will allow you to shade and sketch to your hearts desire, and accompanying this with the Derwent 36 Colouring Pencil set makes me an Art guru!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)