Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always carry with you
Good quality sketching pencils in a strong tin that can be carried with you always. Recommended buy, as they are value for money.
Published on 30 Mar. 2010 by Hemmingway

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Plastic feel
They're okay, however I don't like the feel of them when they touch the paper. It almost feels like the graphite isn't actually leaving the pencil as easily as it should. It's like the graphite has a sort of plastic quality... Also the wood around the graphite doesn't sharpen very smoothly even when I have used a range of sharpeners to check it's not just a blunt...
Published 5 months ago by Sophie Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always carry with you, 30 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
Good quality sketching pencils in a strong tin that can be carried with you always. Recommended buy, as they are value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased!, 18 July 2010
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
I think these pencils are of such good value! The pencils are of very good quality and are neatly stored inside a protective tin. The tin is easy to open and the pencils can be quickly taken out and used! They are perfect for taking out and sketching during the day! There are 12 shades, perfect for sketching and desiging different things! I use these pencils all the time, very pleased overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value Pencils, 9 Sept. 2009
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
We needed a selection of good pencils in various grades and this fits the job, not a bad price either as it included P&P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like these and will get some more, especially as I got an irresistible automatic sharpener at the same time. I was concerned that they might be internally damaged in transit but they're good. They are what they say on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of pencils, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
S. E. Wainwright (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
Bought this for myself to get back into by sketching.

Loved the fact that there was a good range of lead sizes and the instructions were included.

The order arrived on time, which is always a plus, so would be inclined to use these pencils again when I've worn them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 13 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
I bought these pencils because i thought that they were a good price for the amount of pencils you get and i needed them for my A-level art. I'm really glad i bought them now as they are great quality, and produce good shades and strokes to my sketches. Well worth the money!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sketching pencils i've ever bought!, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
High quality, well presented and very cheap. I bought these for my son as a Christmas present and I know he will love them. Well worth the money for this fantastic brand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pencils, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
Bought as part of a Christmas present. Look fantastic. Good quality for the price. Will recommend to anyone who likes drawing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step up on beginners, in my limited experience of the art!, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
Made in the UK, these 12 SKETCHING PENCILS are presented in a quality unhinged tin, measuring around 18.75 cm x 10 cm, with nicely rounded edges and a plastic inlay tray to keep the pencils from moving around.

The full-length (c 17.5 cm), ready-to-use pencils have hexagonal barrels.
Each is elegant in a dark silvery-grey colour, with a silver band and black end of about 2.5 cm.

Each is embossed:

~ 'DERWENT' ~ 'Academy Sketching' ~ and the relevant degree, e.g. '3B'

My tin contained one each of:

♦ 6B
♦ 5B
♦ 4B
♦ 3B
♦ 2B
♦ B
♦ HB
♦ H
♦ 2H
♦ 3H
♦ 4H
♦ 5H

As with all DERWENT pencils, they sharpen well with a QUALITY SHARPENER, and a sharp point can be obtained, if required.

Ordered as part of the Amazon 'Add-on programme', my tin arrived safely packed in bubblewrap in a strong outer carton and I have not experienced any problems with breakages.

I am not an expert in this field but have noticed a marked difference between this set and the cheapest version I bought to get started with over the last three months.

ooOoo

From the back of the tin:

'For people who love to draw and who want to develop their skills.
Derwent has been making and creating artists pencils for over 180 years and using this knowledge and expertise bring you a range of sketching pencils chosen for their quality and performance.

Made with natural wood barrels, the Sketching range consists of 12 degrees from a 'SOFT 6B' to a 'HARD 5H'.
Soft pencils are best suited to sketching and blending.
Harder pencils are used for straight line and detailed work as they hold a sharper point.
Derwent Academy pencils are also easy to sharpen and break resistant.

Techniques:

1. Hatching ~ create a variety of tones by drawing a series of parallel lines.
2. Frottage ~ produce interesting effects by working on paper over a textured surface.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best pencils I have used, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Academy Sketching Pencils Tin Soft to Hard Graphite Pencils 6B-5H (Set of 12) (Office Product)
Best pencils I have used, allows me to draw some somewhat less s*** pictures... I'll link a picture for reference xD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews