Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classical & Contempory performed Oustandingly
Epica have so far produced three superb CD's & here with their fourth live outing they have succeeded once again to produce an awesome piece work. The musical artistry, the vision, the passion presented here is something to be relished again & again.

Epica on their own are a powerful metal band with some great musical talent at work in the composition &...
Published on 25 Jun 2009 by JoViGo

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough going on !
Love Epica. They are an inventive band who will always show brilliance, but have a side which over elaborates in searching the next idea. This album for me just doesnt really fit, some of the classical interpretations just dont really do justice to the pieces of music or the band. Far favour their Studio works . If you want to sample Epica, Consign to Oblivion or The...
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by I. J. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classical & Contempory performed Oustandingly, 25 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classical Conspiracy (Audio CD)
Epica have so far produced three superb CD's & here with their fourth live outing they have succeeded once again to produce an awesome piece work. The musical artistry, the vision, the passion presented here is something to be relished again & again.

Epica on their own are a powerful metal band with some great musical talent at work in the composition & performance of all their music.

There style is fast driving,thoughtful,provoking,powerful,symphonic,operatic,spirited & hauntingly beautiful. They encapsulate a variety musical motives all of which will make you either want to rock out or sit back & enjoy the simplicity & beauty of a band at the top of their game.

The CD comes in two parts one an inspired fusion of rock & classical pieces which make the most of the bands great talents, Simone's beautiful graceful voice & the majesty & power of a full classical orchestra & choir.

The 3rd & 9th track on the classical set show off Simone's mezzo soprano voice to the full, this girl can go head to head with some of the best classical singers around, she is that good.

The film soundtracks of The Imperial March, Pirates of the carribean & Spiderman Medley are done with such power & enthusiam & grace that they alone will have you gasping for more.

Then we come to Epica's own body of work which on it's own stands out, but with the full orchestra & choir just raises the bar even higher. This is a live set & I will say that on this occassion the production is superb, in fact its so good that I'd say epica sound better live, especially in this context with full orchestra.

My only wish would be to have had Solitary ground from their 2nd Cd Consign to Oblivion played in the epica set this would have really been the most beatiful piece imaginable.

This CD is a brilliant peice of musical Art, it is in my humble opinion worth adding to your music collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another epic epica album, 4 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Classical Conspiracy (Audio CD)
The old and new come together in this beautiful blend of classical and metal. perfect for fans of ether genres and many who like nether genres separately will enjoy them the combined. something everyone should try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Symphonic Metal the way it's supposed to be, 27 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Classical Conspiracy (Audio CD)
This album showcases the Symphonic Metal genre perfectly: the sheer depth of the music is staggering at times. My highlights include:
(non-Epica composed)
Dies Irae: the double-kick bass drum really gives this piece of music an edge over any other rendition of it that I've heard. Verdi would be impressed.
The Imperial March: what? It's Star Wars.. in Metal!!
In the Hall of the Mountain King: again the double-kicks at the peak boost this version a notch above any purely classical rendition.
Pirates of the Caribbean: a medley of themes from the films is stitched together brilliantly and delivered in epic(a?) style.

(Epica-music)
The Last Crusade: Ms Simons voice in conjunction with the orchestral layers makes this a joy to listen to.
Chasing the Dragon: a real showcase for Simone Simons from the off. The strings and woodwind back her up flawlessly. The male growling vocal serves to make an excellent counterpoint and the peak is shiver-inducing.
The Phantom Agony: the orchestra really shines through here making this an awesome (almost) ending.

My only major gripe would be that quite a few of the Epica tracks sound very similar and attention can drift a little. That said, I think this concert will be the benchmark for any future symph metal live orchestral performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Perfection!, 22 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow. Each of Epica's albums have undoubtedly been magical, but with "Classical Conspiracy" they prove once and for all that a) symphonic metal is the best genre of music and b) Epica are better live than studio recordings. I cannot believe how spectacular this album is! The covers of classical pieces or tunes such as the Pirates theme blew me away, and Simone has the voice of an angel! This album is so good I could cry, not to sound weird... BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer epic brilliance - just get it, 4 Aug 2011
By 
A. Matthews (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one staggering live album. Two sets - the first 'Classical', the second 'Epica'. The first set starts off with some well known pieces by Verdi, Handel, Dvorak, Vivaldi etc but with an increasingly metal influence as the set progresses. The second set second launches into sheer Epica. Full pace, soaring vocals and grunts. The question is how on earth does this work? What kind of lunacy was it to try and combine a full orchestra, classical operatic performance and metal. It's simply insane. I don't normally listen to classical music and I certainly don't listen to opera. But this is simply one spell-binding live performance that I cannot resist. Whoever was lucky enough to have been in Miskolc on the night surely witnessed one of the most astonishing metal events ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a MUST, 22 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Classical Conspiracy (Audio CD)
This is the Best blend of Classical and Metal music I ever heard.
There is not often - I just do not know more case when - a classical orchestra and a chorus on one stage togeter with a metal group.

Of course I have a soft spot for this music, as I was lucky enough to be in Miskolc, Hungary, and was able to enjoy this concert live.

Buying this album is really a buy, that makes me fully satisfied, sometimes makes my flesh creep, sometimes relaxing, sometimes makes me think of the lyrics

"We must return to the laws of the nature
Free ourselves from madness"

as there is "A New Age Dawns". The Epica makes its part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful mix, 9 April 2014
By 
Janis Page (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The really was a lovely surprise. I love Nightwish but this was my first Epica CD. I also adore classical music so have played this loads already and enjoy the contrast. Very pleased with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epuc-entertainment, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having already brought Epica's "Requiem For The Indifferent" LP & "Design Your Universe" (not from Amazon), I knew very well the quality of songwomanship. This CD equally doesn't disappoint. The Classical section gives a giddying range of emotions, anf the Rock section is so sonically-cool. Simone is ace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough going on !, 31 Mar 2010
By 
I. J. Davies "The Rock Addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classical Conspiracy (Audio CD)
Love Epica. They are an inventive band who will always show brilliance, but have a side which over elaborates in searching the next idea. This album for me just doesnt really fit, some of the classical interpretations just dont really do justice to the pieces of music or the band. Far favour their Studio works . If you want to sample Epica, Consign to Oblivion or The Divine Conspiricy are the places to start ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very atmospheric, 7 Nov 2009
By 
A. Frid (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never heard of this band until I was looking for Nightwish contempories. I am thoroughly enjoying the "live" theme to this album. The fans are good spirited and appreciative and the whole thing is bostin' good fun. The classical/metal mix is great.

Buy it and enjoy it, I am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classical Conspiracy
The Classical Conspiracy by Epica (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews