Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted
Saw this many years ago in the cinema,this version is "Uncut" and is over the top as only Ken Russel could
Published 7 months ago by s.h.perry

versus
46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wretched Print and 16-9 Aspect
I've transferred tapes I've made from TV to DVD and got better results than this artifact filled lossy item. Disappointing. The aspect ratio isn't fullscreen but it's not widescreen either. If it's uncut and someone made the effort to assure that, they should have made the additional effort on quality.
Published on 8 Aug 2009 by Ellis Goodson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wretched Print and 16-9 Aspect, 8 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Devils (Special Uncut Restored Edition 1971) (DVD) ~ Vanessa Redgrave, Oliver Reed, Dudley Sutton, and Max Adrian (DVD)
I've transferred tapes I've made from TV to DVD and got better results than this artifact filled lossy item. Disappointing. The aspect ratio isn't fullscreen but it's not widescreen either. If it's uncut and someone made the effort to assure that, they should have made the additional effort on quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful copy !!!, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Foxart (Lille, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Devils (Special Uncut Restored Edition 1971) (DVD) ~ Vanessa Redgrave, Oliver Reed, Dudley Sutton, and Max Adrian (DVD)
Séance vidéo foutu en l'air par l'achat de ce DVD US totalement scandaleux ! l
La jaquette annonce uncut & restored... alors uncut, je ne sais pas, mais restored, je ne vois pas trop l'intérêt de restaurer un film pour ensuite le massacrer en Pan & Scan... la pire copie DVD que je n'ai jamais acheté...
Couleur fades, piqué d'image atroce les deux tiers de l'image rognées sur les cotés.
Le format d'origine n'est pas respecté et la qualité de la copie est vraiment irregardable !!! Donc, Les Diables de Ken Russell reste un de mes films maudits, toujours inédit chez nous en DVD et disponible uniquement dans cette honteuse édition. A ne surtout pas acheter !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devils (Special Uncut Restored Edition 1971) (DVD) ~ Vanessa Redgrave, Oliver Reed, Dudley Sutton, and Max Adrian (DVD)
Saw this many years ago in the cinema,this version is "Uncut" and is over the top as only Ken Russel could
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars poor quality transfer but includes restored footage, 26 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: The Devils (Special Uncut Restored Edition 1971) (DVD) ~ Vanessa Redgrave, Oliver Reed, Dudley Sutton, and Max Adrian (DVD)
This DVD, which is published by EuroCult and appears to derive from France, is a poor quality transfer but it is 111 minutes long and includes restored footage which I do not recall seeing before. The sleeve states that it 'restores all of the cut footage that was removed when the film was released including the never before seen "Rape of Christ" sentence'. (On that basis, it seems that this is a more complete version than the recent 2-disc reissue which I have not yet seen.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece given a shoddy Audio-visual treatment - and STILL MISSING SOME CONTROVERSIAL SCENES!, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Devils (Special Uncut Restored Edition 1971) (DVD) ~ Vanessa Redgrave, Oliver Reed, Dudley Sutton, and Max Adrian (DVD)
Uncut? No it isn't!

There's still way more to the Devils than this 111 min version.

I am left staggering at the thought that this magnificent film has only been screened 3 times in the UK in its FULL 117 min version - Holy twaddle, is Oliver Cromwell still in government?!

Where is the famed "Bone-w*nk" scene where Sister Jeanne inserts Grandier's charred bone inside her. There's also several lost scenes including one with the late Spike Milligan. I believe even the 117 version was a deep compromise on the part of Ken Russell and his grander vision may have put the film closer to 170 mins. Who knows?

My top shelf of films only holds around 25 - 30 of my very favourite movies - and The Devils is indeed up there with the likes of Citizen Kane, Vertigo, Seventh Seal, Ran, Persona, Ugetsu, Andrei Rublev, Dekalog, Eraserhead. How sad that this hasn't been preserved and handled with the same respect as aforementioned masterworks.

The quality is that of an old 1980s VHS - around 240p or less resolution - very disappointing, but acceptable I suppose.

When will we see the 117 min on DVD or home release in a glorious new 4K (or higher!) restoration with remastered crystal clear sound (the score is also a miracle to behold.)

I am not alone in wishing I could view & own this highly neglected & abused gem FULLY and in excellent audio-visual quality.
Warner should die of shame for what they've done - they even blocked the BFI release in 2012 limiting it to only 107/9 mins and preventing the Rape of Christ to be added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the uncut version of the movie as described, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devils (Special Uncut Restored Edition 1971) (DVD) ~ Vanessa Redgrave, Oliver Reed, Dudley Sutton, and Max Adrian (DVD)
The movie itself is excellent. Picture and sound quality is also very good. BUT: This is definitly NOT the uncut version as said in the description of the product. There is also no bonus material on the DVD as described at the back page of the DVD.
Therefore I am not satisfied with this purachase.

Kind regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Obviously a bad pirated copy, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devils (Special Uncut Restored Edition 1971) (DVD) ~ Vanessa Redgrave, Oliver Reed, Dudley Sutton, and Max Adrian (DVD)
Threw it away. Obviously a bad pirated copy. It should not be for sale on Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews