Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Amazing
This game is near flawless, Rediculous graphics, Incredibly smooth gameplay, and interesing story and characters, You can play this game however you like, from part running and gunning to all out stealth, When i first saw my friend playing this i thought he was in a cutscene, it just looks so good, the boss fights are varied and suitably epic, gameplay is phenominal and...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by J. K. Paddick

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Has not aged well
I recently picked up a ps3 for the first time after owning just an xbox 360 for the entire last gen (had an xbox one for a couple months but thats a different story) and i have a long list of playstation exclusives i've always wanted to play, with mgs4 near the top of my list.

I've played and enjoyed all the other metal gear solid games years ago and was...
Published 5 months ago by jonathan whitelaw


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stelath has never looked this cool, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Mo money (London, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
This was never a launch buy title for me. but I'd played all the MG 1,2 & 3 & was waiting for a price drop before adding it to my collectiton.

Is this the best Metal Gear?... No MG1 stil rules imo. But this game is gorgeous to look at, has online play & is a solid PS title. Every PS3 owner should have MG4 in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Game, 30 April 2009
By 
T. J. Williamson (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3)
This is my first experience of the Metal Gear series and I find it excellent. The game-play is easy enough to make it recreational but difficult enough for it to be challenging. Graphics are good but if I had anything negative it would be the amount (and length) of cut-away narrative scenes.

All-in-all, good game and very good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible gameplay experience, but a dissapointing ending for fans, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. H. Riyait (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly, let's get the biggest problem of MGS4 out of the way:

It has lots of very long cut scenes. The longest is about an hour long. Personally, coming from playing the previous Metal Gear games on the PS and PS2, I am used to this, and you only need to view them on your first play through, but they are longer than ever this time round. You can skip them on the second play through.

Being the last in the series, Kojima ties up all the loose ends to the story and the characters, giving both long cutscenes. A few of them are totally unnecessary, but if you like soap opera style drama with healthy amounts of cheese, you should enjoy them. On the other hand, a handful of the long cutscenes are filled with action and combat, which are fantastic to watch. Lastly, some of the cutscenes require some game play input in between and transition seamlessly into the next level of game play/mission progression, which is great to watch, so if you skip the scenes, you may be lost as to what you need to do.

Now for the good:

Game play: MGS4 has some of the best game play I have played in a long time. It's varied; combining gun combat, sneaking and vehicle chase scenes.

There is a huge selection of weapons. From small handguns, machine guns to sniper rifles and explosive ordinance. Most weapons are upgradable through an attachment system and you probably won't use everything on first play through, but will soon find a favourite; like a fully kitted M4 carbine, with grenade launcher, flashlight, laser sight and scope. There is lots of gun porn here to keep a shooter fan happy.

Graphics: Richly detailed, colourful and sharp texture throughout the game, make it beautiful to look at. The models are solid, the worlds detailed and the post processing effects are superb. It's definitely a stunner of a game.

Sound. Turn your speakers and base up and play this game loud. From dramatic musical scores to realistic combat and ambient effects, the sound will have you fully immersed. The voice acting is also very good.

MGS4 is a terrific game that should be played at least once, even if you are not an MGS fan. But beware, because this is the last game in a 4 part series, and makes a lot of references to the past games, characters and events.

Why four stars? As a fan of the series, I was very disappointed with the ending. It ends the first time round on a great note, but then is dismantled by an hour long "alternative" cut scene that destroys the first, apparently fake ending. Kojima (the director) really screwed up and robbed Snake of the ending he deserved.

The Good:
*Varied game play
*Very good combat and weapon customisation
*Great action setpieces
*Beautiful graphics and presentation
*Epic music score and sound effects
*A showpiece game for the PS3
*Lots of replayability in order to beat rankings scores and collect secret but practical items and weapons, some of which can only be obtained after your first play through.

The Bad:
*Convoluted, philosophical crap filled script that is only for Kojima's egotistical benefit.
*Some cutscenes are longer than they need to be.
*History-heavy and not new player friendly, although the downloadable Metal Gear Solid Database (playstation store) will give every last detail of the entire series, if you have many hours to go through it.

Conclusion:
If you're new to the game, rent it and play it for the amazing action. This is some of the best, short of Uncharted 2, but unlike Uncharted 2, more varied in game play mechanics.

If your a fan of the series, you know what to expect, but may be annoyed at the deceptive and frustrating ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games I have ever played, 21 Oct 2009
By 
P. J. Nonfjall (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
I must say the first couple of hours, I wasn't impressed by the game-play, and I was actually bored, then I came to act two, and I still felt bored. But something kept me playing, maybe curiosity.
Act three, suddenly I got more interesting, and I wasn't bored any more, the game and story gave more meaning.
When I completed the game I had to start over again, (very good replay value), the game is so good that I can't believe it.
I don't get that a game as Halo has been hyped so much, and not Metal Gear 4.
MG4 is clearly one of the best games ever made.
Anyway I loved the story telling very detailed. I love that you can see that they have put a lot of work in the game.
The Graphics are breath taking and more detailed than any game I have ever seen, but the textures could have been made in a higher resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Action/Stealth Game, 2 April 2009
By 
Tiago Trindade (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
For the MGS fans this is the best end that this game could have. With PS3 the graphics are the most realistic you can have for a game today. But im guilty because i love this games since the beginning. I can only say that if you like games where your way of playing is important this is the ideal game. Solid Snake is an icon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars At least send the correct region code...., 17 Feb 2011
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
I was sent a non platinum version of the game but with region 1 that I cannot trade in due to the age restriction laws ..... M for Mature doesn't qualify for the PEGI requirements
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange humour, 6 Jan 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
Fantastic graphics brilliant production.But i just cant get my head round the strange japanese humour.The whole exsperiance left me feeling cold.I tried to like it,I really did,but i feel this game is more for the hardcore metal gear fans.sorry hideo i just dont like the way your mind works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I don't get it., 6 Jan 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm afraid I don't get it with this game. The graphics are good but there are too many long cutscenes which tend to spoil the gameplay. The controls are cumbersome, especially aiming and shooting and shooting from cover is impossible. When you buy weapons and swap them they are not automatically saved, so if you die you have to buy them and swap all over again until you reach the next checkpoint. Sorry, not for me - there are loads of better games out there....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor finish to the MGS series, 18 Jun 2010
By 
K. Walsh "walshy22706" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game with great anticipation after playing and loving MGS 3 on ps2. That was probably one of my favourite games i have owned.
However MGS4 for me is a big let down. I thought i was buying a game not a film when i bought this. The biggest problem with this game is that there is just too much time watching cutscenes that tell a ridiculously complicated story. I think in totoal there is about 3 hours worth of game to play and about 3 weeks worth of cutscenes to watch.
I feel the story line in this game is made too complicated with quite frankly a lot of rubbish that i don't care about. I just wanted to play another good MGS with the sneaking and covert combat etc etc.
I am all for an encapsulating story but this one just goes too far and has too much technical cra that really just over complicates it.
Still some good game play when you get the chance to play for a couple of minutes between hours of movie but overall for a big big let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor indeed and not like the other games on PS2 which are brilliant!, 29 Dec 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
After buying this game and thinking it would be good, i have to say that im very dissapointed. I think its awful. I dont like the story i think its boring. In this game you have to pay for weapons which i dont like. In the other games you get the weapons throughout the game. I think the creators have gone very over board with this game. I dont like the game at all. I also dont like the part where you have to defeat the octupus. I know that Metal Gear Solid has always been about war but to me in this game its too much, its over the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns Of The Patriots Platinum (PS3)
14.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews