Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent purchase
I needed something compact and practical for a school trip and this was exactly perfect - and wonderful value. It arrived very quickly and also easy to use.
Published on 28 Jun 2010 by Book boffin

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable
Bought 10 of these for a Scout Group-thinking they would be good cheap practice compasses, half of them didn't work at all, with needle not sitting properly on the centre pin. The working ones wandered very easily and appeared to have very little magnetism in the needles. Had to send them back for a refund.
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by Mark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable, 31 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
Bought 10 of these for a Scout Group-thinking they would be good cheap practice compasses, half of them didn't work at all, with needle not sitting properly on the centre pin. The working ones wandered very easily and appeared to have very little magnetism in the needles. Had to send them back for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent purchase, 28 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
I needed something compact and practical for a school trip and this was exactly perfect - and wonderful value. It arrived very quickly and also easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
I bought 4 for a DofE group. I found these to be fine with respect to the needles - turned easily and pointed the right way. Unfortunately they feel like the centres would pop out easily and the luminous "North" marker wanders as you turn the bevel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Direct me to Big Ben please!, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
I bought this compass to navigate Ben Nevis, Scaffel Pike and Mt Snowdon in part of a 3 Peaks 24hr challenge with my mates. None of us had done anything like this before and I was concerned that we should at least have the right kit. When the compass arrived in plenty of time for our trip (ordered hastily on Monday for a trip on Saturday), the simple card backed blister pack did not do credit to the product itself, which is well made and easy to read. Although i know the Gelert brand the small asking price made me wonder if it would be any good. it is! buy this with confidence.

The ruled area is also very useful for marking maps and the compass is easy to read in low light conditions too. If I had one criticism and this is a niggle really it is the cheap orange cord supplied with it. Surely even at this price we could have a proper lanyard. The emergency whistle that cost less had one, but as I say a niggle and by no means affecting the product's performance in the field. 3 Peaks completed without a hitch so it must be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality do not buy, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
These were bought for my cub group. I thought being Gelert they would be of reasonable quality, but am very disappointed. Compass doesnt spin freely so finding north is arbitrary, The cir-clip holding the compass into the body falls out very easily. COMPLETELY RUBBISH dont buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
Yep - compasses seem to be very expensive for what they are (20-40 GBP). But why - it's just a bit of plastic right?

Saw this one, which was so much cheaper and thought I'd try it.

It broke within hours. The dial came away from the housing.

Not close to making it onto the exped kit list. Total rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gelert Compass, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
Excellent value for use by Cubs & Scouts - because they always lose them or damage them in some way, and at this price it is affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for DofE Award, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. P. Langley (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
I bought this for my nephew, as he is completing his DofE award. He has found it accurate, sturdy and very useful. There are more expensive compasses, but this model offered a great balance of features for the price. In a world of GPS, being able to read and map and use a compass is still a useful and enjoyable skill to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good reliable product, 11 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
No problems with shipping and the product is good value for money and reliable. I have been up a few mountains with it as well and experiences some adverse weather conditions and still like new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 24 July 2014
This review is from: Gelert Camping/Hiking Deluxe Magnifying Map Compass NEW (Misc.)
Gelert compass fell apart easily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews