Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electropop Heaven
Electropop seems to be a big deal this year, and this debut from the Filthy Dukes is stuffed with brilliant examples, but unlike many electro-wanabees they also, importantly, have the tunes. They do not disappoint (despite the grumpy NME review).

Beginning with the hypnotic This Rhythm, a healthy dollop of 80's inspiration is clear. Elevator and the joyous...
Published on 26 Mar 2009 by Minibreakfast

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nonsense In The Dark
Had this bunch on the radar a couple of years back after some TV coverage. Knew they were dance/techno orientated, but was interested in their concept of 'outsourcing' their work. Not sure what to make of this album? Loads of 80's techno, plinks and plonks, some of the tracks seem to work, although the title track is head and shoulders above the rest.
Published 18 months ago by LTO


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electropop Heaven, 26 Mar 2009
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
Electropop seems to be a big deal this year, and this debut from the Filthy Dukes is stuffed with brilliant examples, but unlike many electro-wanabees they also, importantly, have the tunes. They do not disappoint (despite the grumpy NME review).

Beginning with the hypnotic This Rhythm, a healthy dollop of 80's inspiration is clear. Elevator and the joyous Messages are pop tracks that Erasure might wish that they'd written - they make it impossible to sit still; sit even.

Less manic but equally infectious are Poison The Ivy and Nonsense In The Dark, as well as Light Skips Cross Heart. Instrumental tracks are well represented, my absolute fave being the hugely danceable Twenty Six Hundred, just pipping Better Stop to the post. Also in the non-vocal category is Cul-De-Sac, which true to it's name goes absolutely nowhere, but is pleasant nonetheless.

The club hit Tupac Robot Club Rock is the sure fire party record, and like most of the album it pretty much forces you to dance like it's 1985 i.e. with a fair bit of attempted body popping (no? just me then).

This album has the bass, the beats, a surprising level of depth and strong tunes, not to mention the required amount of widdly-widdly keyboard jiggery-pokery. In short it's a big old slice of electropop heaven and I give it full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sensational, 14 Mar 2009
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
Nonsense In The Dark showcases a range of styles ranging from electro (of both the eighties and noughties variety) to synth-pop that owes a lot to the 'new wave' acts such as Thomas Dolby and Tears For Fears that made it big in the U.S in the early eighties. At the start of the year many music critics were predicting that 2009 would be the year of the synth and Filthy Dukes certainly deserve crossover success with this fantastic cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Infectious, 23 July 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
This album is unadulterated glorious electro-pop heaven. Think Pet Shop Boys and Goldfrapp, but with a little bit more attitude. This Rhythm and Messages are two of the stand out tracks, catch them on YouTube. If you like those, you'll very likely enjoy most of the songs. Elevator is a quirky song which grows on you more slowly, but then sticks in the head. There are a couple of up-tempo synth instrumentals, think Jean Michelle Jarre on acid, which are very hooky and get you tapping your fingers. I bought this album a couple of years ago and it was the soundtrack of my Summer of 2012. If you enjoy the likes of Goldfrapp, Heaven 17, Pet Shop Boys, Friendly Fires and Royksopp, I think you'd find this music a very welcome addition to your collection of electro-pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nonsense In The Dark, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
Had this bunch on the radar a couple of years back after some TV coverage. Knew they were dance/techno orientated, but was interested in their concept of 'outsourcing' their work. Not sure what to make of this album? Loads of 80's techno, plinks and plonks, some of the tracks seem to work, although the title track is head and shoulders above the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNEXPECTED!, 6 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
you know sometimes your listening to the music channel, hear a song you instantly like and then you take a punt on the album?
i saw "messages" on NME channel, so bought the album. i'm a bit picky about what i like, but this is my favourite album of the last few years. it's genius is in the musical variety it produces, add to that guest vocalists that sound great, and you've got an album with not one bad track. this has been constantly playing on my PC for ages, and i do appreciate it more and more as time goes on. if this is electronica for the new decade, i can't wait for more. try it out ,you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Electronic Album 2009, 2 Aug 2009
By 
M. CLIFT (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
This album is superb, it flows right from start to finish. If you are a fan of Daft Punk, Justice, Les Rythmes Digitales and Frankmusik then this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 80s Electro Pop Is Back, 29 July 2009
By 
Panshine (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
I heard the single "messages" and liked it so much that I bought the album. The music is fresh, very 80s. If you like depeche mode, yazoo etc. from the 80s try this. The songs are very varied, not samey at all. There are even 3 instrumental tracks. Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This could be the album of the year, 18 July 2009
By 
F. Lai (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
Electro-synth-pop brings back the 80s, and this trio with guest vocalists certainly mix things up for this year's electro-pop scene. You can't help but to dance to 'Messages' and 'This rhythm' just because of the fat beats and happy cheeky riffs. For more housey dance floor burners 'Twenty six hundred' and 'You better stop' got the crowd going mad (after getting the album, I saw them play at Hoxton Sq. - awesome!). The sole hip-hop representative, 'Tupac Robot Club Rock' will get you screaming 'rock' with an American accent by the middle of the track. 'Don't fall softly', 'Poison the ivy' and the title track are all melodic track for anytime anyday listening. Sad to say didn't dig 'Cul-de-sac' - kinda like a sample filler, but that's the only track that I'm not playing.

Do yourself a favour, get this album and see these guys live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filthy and FANTASTIC!!!, 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: Nonsense In The Dark (Audio CD)
Tremendous, wonderful stuff. So great to actually love new music.I appreciate it more, the more I listen to it. Always a good sign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nonsense In The Dark
Nonsense In The Dark by Filthy Dukes (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews