Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining … and it's not fattening
"Charlie & The Chocolate Factory" has an ominous opening, a sort of Chocolate Citizen Kane analogy of the relentless success of Wonka's chocolate empire, the creation of a multinational with tentacles that reach round the globe and a factory in which the workers labour away like the oppressed employees in "Modern Times". The chocolate factory dominates the town...
Published on 27 Nov 2005 by Budge Burgess

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average fantasy adaptation by Burton
In this adaptation from Roald Dahl's novel, Johnny Depp (Edward Scissorhands) stars as Chocolate maker Willy Wonka, who offers 5 kids across the world the chance to win a tour around his chocolate factory.

It is amazing to see how times can change in the film industry, particularly in the animation aspect. If you were lucky enough to catch the original film...
Published on 13 April 2008 by Stampy


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average fantasy adaptation by Burton, 13 April 2008
By 
In this adaptation from Roald Dahl's novel, Johnny Depp (Edward Scissorhands) stars as Chocolate maker Willy Wonka, who offers 5 kids across the world the chance to win a tour around his chocolate factory.

It is amazing to see how times can change in the film industry, particularly in the animation aspect. If you were lucky enough to catch the original film with Gene Wilder in 1971 then you would have really appreciated the thought and dedication that went into the film. The effects and acting were stunning, none more so than Wilder. Now we find it hard to find a film without heavy dollops of animation, particularly in the fantasy genre.

Yes the graphics in this Tim Burton adaptation are good, as is his direction, but there is no real beating the original.

Depp's portrayal of the chocolate maker is very interesting to watch, an almost complete contrast to Wilder's. Wonka is portrayed by Depp as closed off, harsh and very insecure. This was based on his father's treatment, an interesting sub story which was not in the original.

Personally I was not a fan of this portrayal as I had always imagined Wonka differently, but it was interesting to watch and understand.

Highmore is good as Charlie, a more likable young kid than Peter Ostrum was. Though his constant pestering of Wonka can be annoying, his general character is sad and his helping has to be admired.

The plot is fairly consistent, with many up and down moments. It isn't predictable but isn't funny either. The acting isn't the best and although the effects and dark opening are really impressive, it is a pretty average fantasy comedy.

6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I was worried it was getting a little dodgy in the middle part, but then that finale... Wow!", 22 Oct 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is almost good enough to make me forgive Tim Burton for what he did to Planet of the Apes, although not quite good enough to supplant the less faithful Mel Stuart musical version in my affections. Curiously, the best of the film is the opening and closing in the bosom of Charlie's impoverished but loving family in their cockeyed ramshackle house that gives the film real heart and resonance. Unfortunately, it does this so effectively that once it enters the gates of the chocolate factory itself, that gets left behind for all the magnificent design and occasional flashes of anarchy. Depp's Willy Wonka is 90% Eric Idle's Mrs Hendy (see Monty Python's The Meaning of Life and you'll know what I mean), 10% Dr Evil, as much terrified as overpowering as he rather too schematically pares down the bad kids in variations on death by chocolate (refreshingly this time the children do not emerge restored), but somehow lacks the whimsical insanity of Gene Wilder. Still, a surprisingly enjoyable and satisfying treat, although Geoffrey Holder's narration was curious - was his voice slowed down for the film, or does he really sound like that these days?

The 2-disc version boasts a large number of featurettes and extras but the emphasis is a bit more on quantity than quality at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For candy lovers everywhere, 19 Aug 2006
By 
nerfeezah (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
I'm old enough to remember watching the original adaptation 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory' with Gene Wilder, as a wide eyed child, and so I wasn't expecting much from this film as I knew what to expect. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this film. It's the same story of Charlie and his golden ticket but told in a completely different way. Everything is 're-imagined' (a term familiar to Tim Burton) and Willy Wonka is not the willing showman of old, but instead an eccentric character with a squeaky voice, bobbed hair and a backstory of a stern dentist father.

There are plenty of jokes and funny moments to make you laugh and Johnny Depp is wonderful as Wonka. He's creepy yet innocent and totally watchable. The Oompa Loompas made me laugh and weren't as creepy or terrible as I'd been led to believe.

A nice movie and any child would enjoy it with the same wide eyed wonder that I'd enjoyed with the earlier film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good though not as great as hoped, 23 Mar 2006
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Eagerly awaited new film version of Roald Dahl’s classic children’s story directed by Tim Burton and starring Johnny Depp as Willy Wonka. If there’s one director and star who you would want to recreate the spectacular extravaganza of the chocolate factory and its flamboyant yet reclusive owner you would be talking Burton and Depp yet, though the film is good, it’s not quite as wonderful as I had hoped.
The factory is quite a spectacle and Depp is good as the complex Wonka with slightly more joie-de-vivre than Gene Wilder’s rather sinister portrayal in 1971’s Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory. The nut cracking squirrels in the current film are also a cute improvement on the original’s egg laying geese though the story in the new version arguably doesn’t hold together quite so well and computer-generated “cloning” of one Oompa Loompa rather than using several actors is just modern laziness and doesn’t really work.

Comparing both versions overall, I would provably give the earlier film a very slight edge though they both get the same star rating from me. Charlie & The Chocolate Factory is enjoyable though not quite as wonderful as I hoped it was going to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining … and it's not fattening, 27 Nov 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
"Charlie & The Chocolate Factory" has an ominous opening, a sort of Chocolate Citizen Kane analogy of the relentless success of Wonka's chocolate empire, the creation of a multinational with tentacles that reach round the globe and a factory in which the workers labour away like the oppressed employees in "Modern Times". The chocolate factory dominates the town like a dark satanic mill. Chocolate hasn't been this dark since Monty Python's crunchy frogs. And you appreciate that this may be a film which children will enjoy, but there's an adult subtext.
In a ramshackle hovel, Charlie Bucket and his family eke out an existence on cabbage soup, the bane of British school meals. The reclusive Wonka has withdrawn from the world for fifteen years but now returns with five golden tickets on offer, each ticket a passport to chocolate paradise. While kids around the world compete, connive, and manipulate their parents to ensure they secure one of the golden tickets, Charlie has to rely on luck.
It's a fascinating film, moving from the bleak grey and brown tones of Charlie's world to the wonderland which is Wonka's. The chocolate factory is garish, a full palette of bright colours, its confectionary an extraordinary adventure in the miraculous. It is a wonderland which will enrapture children. But there are decidedly dark undercurrents. Roald Dahl's 1964 novel has a sadistic quality to it, and director Tim Burton doesn't miss this. Children are no angels, and bad children deserve their comeuppance.
Johnny Depp plays the master of ceremonies, an unnaturally pale, reclusive man who has turned a factory into a circus, a playground for a bunch of cloned dwarves. You wonder who he could possibly have modelled the character on? You certainly wouldn't trust him with your children. As the film progresses we understand why Wonka has such an obsession with chocolate … and why he has such poor social skills.
This is a roller-coaster of a film - at its high points it is very funny, at its low points, you cringe. Burton certainly takes liberties with it's entertainment value. The musical sections are not necessarily memorable, but in places the dance routines remind you of someone. It's never saccharine, but at times it'll set your teeth on edge.
It's a good film, not a great film, but a good one. How much you enjoy it may well depend on how big a fan you are of Johnny Depp. He deliberately goes over the top in this role. He's an astonishingly good actor … but whether you want to believe him in this role is really a matter of choice, not acting technique. In part, I'm still undecided, which may indicate that this is a film you can watch more than once. Whether it will have the same compulsive charm for children that Gene Wilder's 1971 "Willy Wonka" had, well, there's a question.
The DVD picture and sound quality is excellent, but note there is a choice of a single disc version and a double disc one - the latter offering some interesting extras and some games which probably will keep young kids entertained for a while, but which will almost certainly drive adults demented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite A Film., 31 Mar 2008
Now there's 2 versions of this film, there's the 1971 original and there's this new 2005 version. Both of them offer something different, for example i think the old one is a lot more heartfelt and emotional, and this one is basically where Tim Burton went all on out to put on a top notch performance. I still can't decide which one i like best, but this version is very good, and in my opinion Johnny Depp was defiantly the best choice of actor to play 'Willy Wonka', although in some parts i thought he was slighly annoying, and did look extremly strange, i believe he was born to play that part, likewise Tim Burton was born to direct it. Shame it was only the umpalumpas who did any singing, in the 1971 version it was just about the whole cast! Oh well, it still doesn't stray from the fact that it's a fabulous family film, built upon and around humour and imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 30 Jan 2008
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
An adaptation of the famous children's book, 'Charlie and the Chocolate factory' is a truely fabulous movie. Tim Burton isn't my favourite director in the world as I usually find his stuff a little weird but he does a splendid job with this.
It's been a long long time since I read the book so cannot comment fully on the accuracy but the other children involved seemed familiar as were their 'misfortunes'. The ending doesn't ring a bell but don't quote me on that either way! Just keep an open mind about it and you should be fine as Tim Burtons brilliance takes you away...

The graphics and set are fantastic giving the movie its unique atmosphere. The acting by all involved compliments this success. They all bring the characters personalities through with few words while also conveying their roles and importance to Charlies and Willie Wonka's lives..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tim Burton and the chocolate factory, 4 Jan 2006
By A Customer
When I first watched this film I loved it, I thought of it as a great film by one of the best directors, in my opinion, Mr. Tim Burton, who is known for making such classics as Batman, Beetlejuice, Edward Scissorhands, Sleepy Hollow, and of course, The Nightmare Before Christmas.
This 2 disc set contains the movie in a much better digital transfer, since the whole movie occupies one disc and the special features are all in another.
This is a great movie. Johnny Depp is fantastic. If you are a Burton, Depp, or Danny Elfman fan, I advise you to buy it as soon as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Faithful, stylish, slightly gothic adaptation that still appeals to childrens, 22 Dec 2009
This is an entertaining and enjoyable adapatation of the Roald Dahl classic, which nicely captures the fairy-tale qualities and grotesque elements of the book, although the Gothic style was to my mind more Burton than Dahl. Depp's Willy Wonka (youngish, high voice, white face and dark glasses) seems to have been modelled on Michael Jackson, rather the Barnum-like figure of the book - adding a hint of darker layer not in Dahl. However, this is still the kind of eccentricity tinged with strangeness that you would expect from a decent Willy Wonka and, on the whole, Depp turns in an effective performance.

I wasn't very taken with the pop performance song-and-dance presentation of the Ompa-Lumpa's rhymes/songs, which struck an oddly brash note which didn't seem to fit with the spirit of the book or Burton's normal film style, but my kids loved the film and it prompted both of them to take an immediate interest in the book and in Roald Dahl . Overall, however, I was pleased with the film and recommend it to any parents who would like to entertain their children to Dahl or just entertain them with something a cut above the usual mindless shlock served up for children by the US entertainment industry (one of the targets of Dahl is taking aim at in the book - although the film understandably downplays it)

Special effects were good, although any reader of the book will inevtiably see a more vivid picture in their own imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 16 Sep 2006
By 
Angela Lovelace "Angela" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a very entertaining movie, but it was always going to be compared to the Gene Wilder version, Gene Wilder is Willy Wonka for me, but even saying that, I do own this film and I do like it.

Johnny Depp is good at turning his hand to anything he applies himself to. He makes a wacky, fun Willy Wonka. Christopher Lee is a delight as his dentist father. I love the trademark Tim Burton touches, as usual he and Depp make a great team.

Good family fun, although maybe not for the really little ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charlie And The Chocolate Factory [Blu-ray] [2005] [Region Free]
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews