Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original maga label classic......back better than ever!
Amazing anime, so entertaining with the best soundtrack in any anime ever.

The new remaster is up there with the 2001 akira remaster in terms of picture quality....the film looks like it was made last year its that clean and fresh looking.

Just a must own dvd for all anime fans.

First time the film has been available in dvd since 1998, and...
Published on 11 July 2009 by Mr. R. C. Fielding

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic anime
This film along with Akira and the Guyver OVA series were staple viewing of mine about twenty years ago when I discovered Anime, I've watched Akira and Guyver since and they have stood the test of time well, but Fist of the North Star has lost much of its appeal now that I'm 30 compared to when I was 11.

Set in a future ravaged by nuclear holocaust where humans...
Published on 13 Jan 2011 by @GeekZilla9000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original maga label classic......back better than ever!, 11 July 2009
By 
Mr. R. C. Fielding (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Amazing anime, so entertaining with the best soundtrack in any anime ever.

The new remaster is up there with the 2001 akira remaster in terms of picture quality....the film looks like it was made last year its that clean and fresh looking.

Just a must own dvd for all anime fans.

First time the film has been available in dvd since 1998, and that was a horrible vhs quality dvd.

This is like watching a new movie altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kenshiro... what a guy!, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Loftus (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Fist of the North Star is an awesome anime, and a must own. The story is centered around Kenshiro (the hire to Hukto shinken, the martial art of the North Star) and is very engaging. The soundtrack is brilliant, especially "Heart of Madness" by the Komodo Band. This is a very violent film with heads and bodies exploding every where. This dvd lets you view the English dub as well as the Japanese origanal, which is good for showing how flawless the dud actually is. my opion is this BUY BUY BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Im a big fan of the Hokuto No Ken (Fist of the North Star) saga and though this movie has alot of changes to the story of the original manga and anime series it still is a great watch. Be prepared for alot of blood and gore though still to this day we have to put up with the censored version but credit to diskotek as they have released the best and least edited version to date. I read that some of the original scenes that were edited out have now been lost due to a fire so we may never be able to see a fully uncut version but I am just happy to have this version in my collection. Old skool animation with plenty of action and good story, contains both English and Japanese audio with English subtitles. If your into anime and haven't watched this get it done =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic anime, 28 Jun 2013
By 
R. Blair (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Lucky I got this as its hard to find and quite expensive also.
Classic anime that needs to be watched if you're a fan of Akira etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars North Star, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The best Manga movie of all time. A must for any Manga fans!!! Extreme violence as you d expect with any self respecting Manga movie. Great story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
one of the best anime fighting films ever worth buying, watching and keeping. I wish i was fist of the north star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say???, 28 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Never seen it this clear before, but all the better. Voices, animation and storyline are all amazing. This is one of those occasions where everthing came together. A true classic that will live on forever because after 20 years, I still havent seen anything like it.

Brilliant - 5 out of 5!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fist of the North Star, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I've watched the original VHS version that came out many moons ago! and now its on DVD!!WoW!! it was AWSOME then! and its AWSOME now!! one of the best MANGA epics ever and one of the most original stories Managa has ever done!,,,in my book on par with AKIRA.
Now i can rewind my favorites bits with ease...yeah a Fantastic buy.
They made a movie version starring some australian actor in the lead role! ( well if you saw the Jean-claude vandam version of Street fighter! you will give the movie version a miss and stick with the Animation ) NUFF SAID about the Aussi Movie version of Fist of the North Star! stick with the Manga version, the original is definetly the best.Check out the Episodes version as well on DVD, they are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars region free, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Amazing. If you have eye's in your head then you should let this wash over them like a violent tide. I live in England and this disk just like the complete tv series also put out on EASTERN STAR has no region encoding as it plays on my region 2 PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic anime, 13 Jan 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This film along with Akira and the Guyver OVA series were staple viewing of mine about twenty years ago when I discovered Anime, I've watched Akira and Guyver since and they have stood the test of time well, but Fist of the North Star has lost much of its appeal now that I'm 30 compared to when I was 11.

Set in a future ravaged by nuclear holocaust where humans fight for clean water and crave power, the backdrop is perfect for an epic film based on the fairly long running Manga. Kenshiro is known as the Fist of The North Star and as he takes a stroll through the desert with his fiancée, the two lovers are prised apart by Kenshiro's nemesis Shin - The Fist of the South. The ensuing fight results in Kenshiro's defeat, Yuria promises herself to Shin as long as he stops hurting him. Kenshiro is left to the elements and presumed dead - meanwhile his brother impersonates Kenshiro to gain the position he felt always should have been his in the first place. Can Kenshiro reclaim his title?

The animation on Fist of the North Star certainly isn't bad, but it looks less smooth than the likes of other iconic animated works of the time and the violence which distinguished it from the rest has been done many times since and so doesn't seem anything special now. Maybe it's just because I was expecting more, but the story seems to drag in parts - but that does help to give the impression that the film takes place over a long period of time.

One thing the film manages well is the depiction of ruined cities which feature in many scenes. Crumbled buildings and an abandoned aeroplane are brilliant reminders of the world from before the holocaust and contrast well with the almost feudal society which now exists. They introduce an eerie and familiar element to the story and link it to our current reality. The soundtrack may have dated in parts, but overall it still sounds great and evoked some of the fondness I once held for this '80s revenge story.

In a nutshell: Fist of the North Star is a worthy watch and represents a key film in anime history. It was one of the first Japanese animated features to become popular in the west, the story has since been re-told in other Fist of The North Star animations (including a TV series) which I haven't yet watched. However, this title is a bit too basic and seems a bit average now - it just doesn't seem as visionary as it once did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fist of the North Star: Movie [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£12.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews