Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy
This camera is IMO a great buy.
Fairly cheap for full HD, more zoom (x20 optically) than many other full HD cameras out there.
Nice with two slots for SD-cards, that way you can find your own great offer on storage at the time of your purchase, and buy one that fits your needs and upgrade with an extra later. The camera records seamlessly across the two...
Published on 3 Aug. 2010 by Jesper Kjaer

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not good enough
JVC GZ HM200 camcorder

Critique
In poor light, image may be acceptable but grainy or else hopelessly dim and grainy. This camera really needs strong outdoor light. If the user wants to make indoor video clips or photos, forget it, domestic lighting is not good enough, even daylight through windows may not be enough.

JVC does not seem to have...
Published on 7 Feb. 2010 by mt tutor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 3 Aug. 2010
This review is from: JVC GZ-HM200B Full High Definition Memory Camcorder With Dual SD/SDHC Card Slot With Konica Minolta High Definition Lens & Face Detection - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This camera is IMO a great buy.
Fairly cheap for full HD, more zoom (x20 optically) than many other full HD cameras out there.
Nice with two slots for SD-cards, that way you can find your own great offer on storage at the time of your purchase, and buy one that fits your needs and upgrade with an extra later. The camera records seamlessly across the two cards.
The menus are fairly intuitive and the buttons and zoom are working well. The only small exception to that is the "Laser Touch Operation with Sub-trigger and Zoom Function" which essentially is a scroll bar beside the display. This is used for navigating the menus, which is OK, you can fast scroll if you now you have to go to the bottom, or just tap it to move one item up or down. However, "Zoom function" - forget it, it's way too inaccurate, but that's not a problem as the normal zoom button works very well.
The zoom is fairly slow, on the other hand you don't risk zooming too much, having to zoom out again right away. Zoom speed is easily ajustable.
Still photos at full zoom or indoors aren't that great, this is not a replacement for your digital camera!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best purchase yet, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Ferencz (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC GZ-HM200B Full High Definition Memory Camcorder With Dual SD/SDHC Card Slot With Konica Minolta High Definition Lens & Face Detection - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I was expecting a very good product from JVC and wasn't dissapointed, it does exactly what it says on the tin, to use the pun. Crystal clear video images when good light, admirable images semi dark, but it wasn't designed for darkness so I am not even going to bother commenting on that fact. I think that is the only black blot on this review. I would also recommend a better lasting batteries, but since I don't use it that much it suits me perfectly. Also it wasn't designed to take photos, but it's a good addition, I must point out 2mp is not enough, if you want photos get a 10mp camera at least. Love the fact that there are 2 SDHC slots, and depends on what memory you have it is seamless transition from one to another. Easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not good enough, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
mt tutor "mt" (Devon, England (UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JVC GZ-HM200B Full High Definition Memory Camcorder With Dual SD/SDHC Card Slot With Konica Minolta High Definition Lens & Face Detection - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
JVC GZ HM200 camcorder

Critique
In poor light, image may be acceptable but grainy or else hopelessly dim and grainy. This camera really needs strong outdoor light. If the user wants to make indoor video clips or photos, forget it, domestic lighting is not good enough, even daylight through windows may not be enough.

JVC does not seem to have heard of 720p resolution. A lot of people have 720p high definition (high def. / HD) TVs. Recording has to be either 1080 pixels or much lower resolutions - very strange.

File size for 1080p video clips are huge for their duration. Both supplied 4GB SD cards were filled in a few days.

Battery life is VERY poor - the time between charges for high resolution video seems much too short. Also very short HD playback time through camera to TV before battery gives out. Battery expensive for a spare one or to replace - about £30. There are higher capacity JVC batteries that are compatible - but of course, still more expensive.

Image stabilisation effectiveness - not sure, but on low to medium zoom, images are sharp. Bought a monopod stand for more stability. Very little delay between pressing the button and photograph being taken. The start-up is also fast. Close-up (macro) photography seems fine too.

Common cables are supplied, needed but uncommon cables (HDMI: type C to type A) are not supplied - why? - seems like penny-pinching. I bought a normal (type A) HDMI to HDMI cable plus an adapter for the camera end (mini HDMI or type C) in order to see the output on HD TV via its HDMI socket. No problem playing HD video on computer (apart from occasional judder - Vista OS), except that 1920x1080 exceeded the resolution of my 19" screen, but still good.

The body uses chromium plated plastic trim - took me right back to the cheap toys I had in the sixties - definitely not a sign of good design.

It has a dedicated button for 'YouTube' - very fashionable and equally unnecessary. There are obviously ways of uploading other than this - I think it's just a gimmick.

Software has some very useful features including backup from SD cards to the computer - all files are put in dated folders, so the user knows when any video or photograph was taken. Editing the length of video clips is fairly easy, BUT I never found any way of saving the edited files to computer - very odd.

The system for scrolling/selecting from the onboard menu without touching the viewscreen seems to work well.

A far as I can tell this camcorder doesn't seem to have any advanced features like fast record/slow-motion video playback, but it does have (I found very recently) continuous shot photography - if you can find this option in the menu system.

The user guide booklet is awful.

Summary
From most of the above I get the impression that JVC does not expect this camera to be used much for HD recording. It is a great pity since for short HD 1080p clips in very good light, this camera can give exceptional results - yes, alright I did get some. Its optics, including zoom are very good - and from what I have read, a 20x optical zoom is itself exceptional for a full HD camcorder.

But, I can't recommend this camera and will be returning it to QVC. One day before too long, I hope to have a camcorder (quite possibly by JVC) that has this one's capabilities but without its shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and newer camera to replace one which had broken, 1 Sept. 2014
This review is from: JVC GZ-HM200B Full High Definition Memory Camcorder With Dual SD/SDHC Card Slot With Konica Minolta High Definition Lens & Face Detection - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
An excellent and newer camera to replace one which had broken. Easy to handle and takes good video. Thank you so much for posting it. The dual sdhc card slots are really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great video cam, 7 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC GZ-HM200B Full High Definition Memory Camcorder With Dual SD/SDHC Card Slot With Konica Minolta High Definition Lens & Face Detection - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
an excellent digital hd video cam fits perfectly in the hand very sharp images and with the dual cards can make hours of high quality recordings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JVC HD GZ-HM200BEK CAMCORDER, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
S. Brooks "GRANDAD MAGGIE" (ENDERBY UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC GZ-HM200B Full High Definition Memory Camcorder With Dual SD/SDHC Card Slot With Konica Minolta High Definition Lens & Face Detection - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
THE JVC HD GZ-HM200BEK CAMCORDER.I FIND THIS CAMCORDER TO BE OF VERY GOOD BUILD AND EASY TO USE.WHEN STARTING UP BY OPENING THE VIEVING SCREEN TO VIEW OR RECORD IS VERY QUICK 3-5SEC'S.THE CAM'S SOFTWARE IS SIMPLE AND QUICK TO USE BUT LIMTED. AUTO WORK'S WELL IN XP MODE BUT TO GET THE BEST IN GOOD TOO POOR LIGHT UXP MODE 24MBPS IS TOP CLASS ALTHOUGH YOU MY GET SOME GHOSTING IN POOR LIGHTING.
THE SNAPSHOT PHOTO'S ARE NOT BAD WHEN PRINTED OFF.THE 20X OPTICAL ZOOM IS MORE THAN YOU NEED AND WORK'S WELL.I BROUGHT A 16GB SDHC CARD CLASS 6 AND IN UXP MODE WILL GIVE ME UP TO 1HR 40MIN'S RECORDING.THE BATTERY LIFE IS MORE LIKE 45 MIN'S THAN 90 MIN'S BUT STILL HAVE NOT TIRED IT OUT FULLY YET.
WHEN USEING THE VEWING SCREEN TO OPERATE THE JVC HD GZ-200 BUTTONT'S AND LASER TOUCH OPERATOR CAN BE A LITTLE TRICKY BUT WITH TIME WILL BE OF GREAT HELP.
WHEN TRANSFERRING HD VIDEO FROM CAMCORDER USEING THE USB LINK GIVE'S A POOR QUALITY RECORDING.
YOU GET A MUCH BETTER QAULITY PICTURE USEING A MULTICARD HIGH SPEED READER THIS GAVE ME THE HD QAULITY I WAS LOKKING FOR.

SUMMARY
FOR ME THIS IS A QUALITY BUILD CAMCORDER AND IN UXP MODE PICTURE QUALITY AND SOUND ARE EXCELLENT FOR A BUDGET END CMOS CAMCORDER....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent camcorder, 30 Sept. 2010
This review is from: JVC GZ-HM200B Full High Definition Memory Camcorder With Dual SD/SDHC Card Slot With Konica Minolta High Definition Lens & Face Detection - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is my first camcorder. It is small, light and very easy to use and download video to my PC. Very good quality video. You need to take account of the cost of buying the Class 4 or 6 SD cards, not just the camcorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JVC GZ-HM200B, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC GZ-HM200B Full High Definition Memory Camcorder With Dual SD/SDHC Card Slot With Konica Minolta High Definition Lens & Face Detection - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This was a bargain . Brand new but been out of box and put back in .Just as the seller described .The camcorder is 100% .The results are stunning .Buy one but make sure its a bargain .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews