Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good looking western.
Call of Juarez is a little gem. Graphically it is very good, I sometimes find myself looking around at the scenery, there are a few tears but considering the draw view it is very polished. Controls are different but not impossible to master after an hour or so, you will soon be shooting from the hip. The controls feel similar to Resi 5 at first with the exception that you...
Published on 5 July 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but....
I was looking forward to this game. I love first person shooters, and the whole western genre, so this seemed like a match made in heaven. I was happy enough with the graphics - not mind blowing, but often very good looking, the characters I found interesting and the storyline engaging. The bonus of a level set during the Civil War was a delight too.

However,...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by M. Phippen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...., 7 Sep 2009
By 
M. Phippen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
I was looking forward to this game. I love first person shooters, and the whole western genre, so this seemed like a match made in heaven. I was happy enough with the graphics - not mind blowing, but often very good looking, the characters I found interesting and the storyline engaging. The bonus of a level set during the Civil War was a delight too.

However, there's ONE thing that annoys me about this game - the stupid duel system that kicks in whenever you meet a boss. It's tricky to get this right, and the exact same actions/timing/reactions can result in success or failure seemingly at random. The worst thing is that the whole game stops while you try to beat them to the draw - it'd be OK if these were little bonus games, but no, you're stuck trying and trying again, all the time longing to get on with the story, the shoot outs and the gunslinging.

Remove those stupid duels, and this would be a great game (even with the rather basic online version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good looking western., 5 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
Call of Juarez is a little gem. Graphically it is very good, I sometimes find myself looking around at the scenery, there are a few tears but considering the draw view it is very polished. Controls are different but not impossible to master after an hour or so, you will soon be shooting from the hip. The controls feel similar to Resi 5 at first with the exception that you can run 'n' gun.

The story is very good, and you do start to sympathise with the characters. You can play as Ray or Thomas in most chapters as each character has their own skill or trait. However if you like collecting trophies then you will have to play this at least twice which is not a bad thing, as the characters take different routes so it won't be the same on your 2nd walk through. Voice acting sounds quite authentic and not too clichéd.

The game does start off slow as your fighting in the middle of the American civil war but I'm guessing it is to get you used to the combat controls. The game really picks up when the civil war is over and you start to get engrossed in the story, and soon becomes very hard to put down as you (well I did)will want to know how the story pans out.

The checkpoints as another reviewer has pointed out is a bit cumbersome and does pause the game momentarily, however as this game was made for 3 formats one can only presume that the autosave is very similar to that on a PC, but it really doesn't detract from the gameplay.

The side quests are a nice touch, adding a bit of variety and the chance to earn some much needed cash. Cash we can be spent buying new and better weapons. Also the horse riding elements is pretty good and quite easy to control and shoot at the same time. There is lots to do on single player, and even more on multiplayer, and after couple of hours I had no problems to report. Another good feature is that any kills or money picked up gets added to your single player and trophy stats, again this will please the trophy hunters.

I gave this game 5 stars for fun and 4 for overall. If you like FPS and ye olde style guns then you will love this. Call of Juarez is the benchmark for good old story telling in the wild west.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bound To Please, 5 July 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
Do not be put off by the one star review,this is definitely not a one star game. It looks good, it plays well and has great atmosphere. OK it is not a perfect game but if you like Westerns and First Person Shooters and don't have a COD4 fixation you should enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game, but let down by lots of small things, 11 Jan 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
I played the demo for this game, and was pretty impressed, so decided to give it a go as the price had come down quite a lot by the time I bought it. As a Western it also makes a welcome change to the classic shooter, following the success of Gun.

The gameplay is good, the controls work pretty well, the graphics are solid and in places beautiful (though the lip-syncing isn't great to be honest), the story is pretty robust, and altogther the game is very enjoyable to play.

However, there are several points that let this game down, and mean that it will only ever be a good game, not an excellent one. Firstly, the game freezes momentarily during quicksaves, which can be pretty frequent. Now, this may be a small point, but it does interfere with the gameplay, and frankly there is no excuse in this day and age for such sluggishness. Secondly the showdowns: they are a great idea but are far too frequent and fiendishly difficult. Basically you have to draw your weapon faster than your oponent and kill him first. Now, after the very first one they just become impossible, and will take you a good few attempts to pass, even when you develop the knack for it and work out exactly what is required. By the fourth or fifth attempt you will want to throw your controller through the TV. This would be OK if they weren't so frequent. In my opinion they should have reserved them just for major enemies / bosses, as when you find every bonus or side mission ending with a showdown too then it simply gets highly tedious and can detract from the epic FPS section that preceeded the showdown.

Lastly, multiplayer. It seems every new shooter at the moment needs a multiplayer element, something which I don't agree with, especially when it is done badly like here. It was an unnecessary addition in my opinion. The bounty idea is a novel one (i.e. the more kills you get the more you are worth when someone kills you), however the controls don't lend themselves well to multiplayer as they are slightly cumbersome. There is no scope to customise classes, and, most annoyingly, the game kicks you straight back into the home screen when the multiplayer game has ended. Don't buy this game for the multiplayer - you will be disappointed.

I realise that this has been a largely critical review, but I didn't want to gloss over the bad points as for me they spoil the game somewhat. I did actually mostly enjoy the game overall. The standard FPS sections were very enjoyable. It's a nice change using the classic weapons, and the sandbox sections (though few and far between) are very enjoyable. I particularly enjoyed the American Civil War level at the beginning. It's also a nice touch to be able to chose which brother you want to play as before the mission, as they both have their strengths and weaknesses.

Overall, this is a decent game, just try not to lose your patience with it. If you can pick it up cheap then definitely go for it, if for no other reason than it just makes such a refreshing change to every other shooter out at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for City Slickers, 5 Aug 2009
By 
Coles Law (Beyond Thunderdome) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
There are a lot of shoot `em ups out there and to be honest there are only a few routes the game can actually go. I think it's fair to say that the futuristic space romp has been done to death as has the world war mission type, both in the olden days and modern. Then came the zombie type which I personally love (See revs of Fear 2 and Left for Dead) but the wild west seemed to go relatively untouched which has got to be a mystery? I mean who doesn't like a tale of an ol' gunslinger galloping through the Wild West with a sheriff hot on his stirrups?! It's gold right? Well maybe in October when Red Dead Redemption comes out it will be - in the case of Bound in Blood it's more Fools Gold; shiny and looks good, but scratch the surface and it's not as polished as it looks.

The good points are they have managed to squeeze a load of cowboy clichés in this game which makes it feel really authentic, duels, cannons, cart chases and dynamite to name a few. Also the way you can rapid fire your six shooter by pulling the control stick down like the hammer on a pistol - we've all done this as kids, remember pointing at someone with your finger and flicking your thumb with your other hand? Well you can do it for real here and blow multiple people away! You can also mount horses, get into bar room brawls (Including busting through saloon swing doors) and you can even twirl a lasso by swinging your control stick. It's all good novelty fun.

Through the game you have the choice of which brother to play as, the only difference I could see was one can kick a door down and not climb and `tother one has a rifle, that's about it. Now I don't know why they didn't make this part a split screen co-op? It's all well and good games these days being tailored for online playing but what happens to the mate you got sat next to you? He has to sit and watch that's what.

Other than that the cut scenes are great as you'd expect from games these days, but they get a little wearing when you are repeating a section you have died on a dozen times and cannot skip them...which will happen because the difficulty is anywhere from a simple breeze to rock hard.

Story is interesting enough to keep your attention but where I feel this will ultimately lose out to RDR later in the year is the fact that it's still very dictated where you can actually go. You cant really explore around and despite taking the wide path through that corn field, there still is only one way through which ultimately cuts the lifespan of this game short and although I didn't finish it, I have no real desire to repeat what I have already done.

All in all, good fun and hits a lot of nostalgic notes for those city slickers but I recon rent and wait for the `most wanted' game to come out in Oct...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Wild West Shooter, 13 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
I wanted this game ever since i heard about a couple of months ago as i thought it would be something a bit different from the games i usually play. I had high expectations and it didn't disappoint in any way. The graphics are amazing and you roam in a truly attractive environment where everything has been carefully thought about. The story mode is very engaging and you really get to interact with the story. I like the way you can choose characters, of which there are two, brothers Ray and Thomas Mcall each possessing different abilities. I recommend that you chose one character for the whole game then do it again with the other so you can unlock all the trophies. The multiplayer is very well thought out and makes a welcome change from the repetitive modes we see in games like call of duty. There are many different modes which contain many are scenarios like rob a bank then steal some horses then escape while the other team tries to stop you but you can do a free for all and team team death match type mode. There are several niggles i have with the game one is that it pauses for a few seconds every 10 minutes or so to save at checkpoints. I have no problem with this as it is just mere seconds but i notice some people like to moan about this. Another thing is that on the multiplayer it only gives you one game online then you have to reconnect to join another as it doesn't flow freely like the COD series. This is a very different type of shooter which will provide much enjoyment until the release of modern warfare 2. This is definitely one to get. Brilliant Game !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 27 Feb 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a game I bought while I'm waiting for 'red dead redemption'. Whilst I didn't expect that much from the game, it delivered even less in my opinion. The aiming system is ok, conforms with most shooting games, with the exception of the cover system. Maybe I just need to get used to it, but it seems real weird to me. My main problem with this game however is how it seems to dictate your pace. You never seem to have time to catch your breath and consider your options. There is zero stealth, and you seem to be forced into an all guns blazing shootout with your enemies. It just seems like this game forces you to do what IT wants. You can't really explore any of the environments, which look really cool. Just when you think you can do something on your own, it goes into a cut scene, or you have to blindly follow another character. I will persist with the game though, maybe I will get used to it. The graphics are reasonably good, it's the gameplay that I don't like as much as other games. Can't wait for 'red dead redemption'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Amazing!, 7 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
This, I think, could turn out to be quite the dark horse. Typically a first person wild-west shooter. The game sees a band of brothers seeking out revenge on a murderous civil war general, whilst also trying to claim a secret lost gold to rebuild the family home.

When I first played, I was sceptical. I had heard some good and some bad points about the game. However, after playing, I can see nothing bad about it at all. Graphically it's very good considering the level of detail the developers went to. Heat waves distort the vision and create subtle, yet noticeable, effects. Spiders can even be seen crawling around!

Sound too is near perfect, with great voice acting from the main cast which creates, not only a great, believable story line/plot, but also makes you feel as one with the characters.

Game-play is varied and never tiresome. Some levels see you chasing down Native Indians on horse back, whilst others have you plummeting down a Cliffside in an elevator. Furthermore, game-play is varied by allowing the player to play as one of 2 brothers. After which the game can then be replayed as the other character, thus giving the player two sides of this compelling story. Money can also be accumulated in the game to purchase upgraded weapons. The game also sees the introduction of some not-so-well hidden secrets which provide historical facts/pictures from the 1864 American Civil War and also some game development screens.

Multiplayer is available, and also ties into the wild western theme. Although it's no CoD 5, it is a very interesting take on other multiplayer games, and introduces a bounty system which increases with each subsequent kill you make. Killing a player will give you his bounty, thus the better you do in multiplayer, the more enemies you'll have gunning for you. Games range from scenarios of real-life robberies and campaigns of the past, to the classic all-against-all.

All in all a very enjoyable game well worth 30. Whilst it will keep you busy for a week or two, it is after completion and obtaining of a relatively easy platinum where this game falls down. It simply has no stickability. After completion there's a good chance it will go back on a shelf and stay there. But defiantly consider renting, if this is going to be a issue.

9.0 / 10 - oustanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply super brillant fantastico, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. C. Leith (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
if you liked red dead, then this is for you. It has everything a cowboy needs including a lasso!! What a great game, well worth the dosh.....
HANG EM HIGH!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars call of juarez bound in blood review, 17 July 2009
By 
Mr. D. Fowler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is a game that should'nt be ignored or under rated. After purchasing this game i was shocked by how good the grpahics were and how good the gameplay runs. At first i admit the game seems abit dull and you wonder why you wasted your money, but 20 minutes into the game i was suprised how REALLY GOOD it was!!! You find yourself been stuck to this game 24/7 never wanting to put it down!! I personally believe call of juarez:bound in blood is up there with top titles such as Call of Duty. I seem to find in COD the gameplay seems to become abit repetitive and after a while forgive me a little bit dull. Call of Juarez never had this effective on me, although it is still a first person shooter I found myself never gettin bored of this title and dying to get to the end to see how the game ends! Thre story line to this game is amazing and as im not a big western cowboy fan I found myself feeling like John Wayne!!!! The characters in this game are brilliantly thought out and ive got to be honest the graphics are beautiful and mind-blowing!!! The gun battles in this game are amazing and altho i have to admit it is quite a short game... while it lasts it is a top title in my eyes and one of the best games i have played on, on my PS3. The multiplayer on this game is OK, not as good as Battlefield:bad company or COD but it is alright. If you are one of those sort of people who buys titles for the multiplayer then this game isnt the right choice but for the game itself it is definately worth the buy!!! Before you know it you will be ordering tombstone and young guns from amazon after playing this game :D ....this game is a ten out of ten in my eyes and a proper gem!!! can't wait for the next one to be realised!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3)
Call Of Juarez: Bound In Blood (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews