Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Bach goddess
I totally disagree with the previous reviewer. Angela Hewitt's dress style has nothing to do with the quality of her musicianship, or her packed schedule which is that of one of the greatest interpeters of Bach now living. She isn't playing in a tradition, she is making Bach fresh and thrilling for a new generation of listeners as a great story-teller. Of course, it's...
Published on 1 Jun 2009 by A. Craig

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
This is a good set of the Preludes and Fugues on the piano, but it's sometimes a bit too Romanticised. Not bad, but Hewitt's style doesn't differentiate between the pieces enough. The sound from her Fazioli piano, however, is excellent - that alone is worth the purchase even if, like me, you're not a huge fan of the style.
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Elpenor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Bach goddess, 1 Jun 2009
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S Bach: Well Tempered Clavier (Audio CD)
I totally disagree with the previous reviewer. Angela Hewitt's dress style has nothing to do with the quality of her musicianship, or her packed schedule which is that of one of the greatest interpeters of Bach now living. She isn't playing in a tradition, she is making Bach fresh and thrilling for a new generation of listeners as a great story-teller. Of course, it's even better listening to her live, but this new recording is the next-best thing. Nothing else has given me so much pleasure this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SENSATIONAL, 28 April 2009
By 
J. Woodman (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S Bach: Well Tempered Clavier (Audio CD)
Until now I've been a Murray Perahia disciple. I may - may - change my allegiance. This really is the most fantastic set. She is a wonderful pianist - the recording and the Fazioli piano are absolutely spectacular. If I could only listen to one disc for the rest of my life, this might well be the one. You will never, ever, regret buying this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: J.S Bach: Well Tempered Clavier (Audio CD)
This is a good set of the Preludes and Fugues on the piano, but it's sometimes a bit too Romanticised. Not bad, but Hewitt's style doesn't differentiate between the pieces enough. The sound from her Fazioli piano, however, is excellent - that alone is worth the purchase even if, like me, you're not a huge fan of the style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tempered Bach, 5 Aug 2009
This review is from: J.S Bach: Well Tempered Clavier (Audio CD)
Angela Hewitt is probably the best Bach's performer alive if you judge her in terms of musical integrity, emotional equlibrium, impeccable precision and--yes, why not?--originality. Although I easily fall for Baroque interpretations of Alexandre Thareaud (whose Italian Concertos I do adore), the lucidity of Hewitt's playing and interpretation leaves me breathless. This is is not my favorite Bach. Well Tempered Clavier (or Piano in this case) has dizzying and slightly numbing intensity of music lessons. I much prefer Hewitt's brilliant Piano Concertos or de-Goulded Goldberg Variations. For that, and only that reason, I rate it one star short of perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If only Bach knew it!, 30 April 2009
This review is from: J.S Bach: Well Tempered Clavier (Audio CD)
Having toured the world playing the WTC in an impressive series of crazy scheduled recitals, Miss Hewitt pulled off a remarkable feat and should be congratulated for her genuine effort. The culmination of this year of concertizing was supposed to be the second recording of the WTC by the foremost Bach interpreter of our time. And that was the bridge too far...

Despite a volley of favorable reviews -I guess that's what marketing people are paid for- the result is far from satisfying. To start with, Hyperion graphic designers have outdone themselves in choosing a thoroughly unflattering image of their star pianist... Was she involved in such a fiasco? A moldy green 1920's swimsuit mated with some silvery mermaid's tail graces Miss Hewitt's regal silhouette; her smile achieves to puzzle viewers left wondering if there is a relation between this smirk attitude and the emanation of Bach's signature? Truly dreadful!

Then past this first impression it is the romantic rubato, undefined and unrefined articulation and a lack of Baroque pulsation that conspire to offer a non offending, complacent, sometimes frankly vulgar parlor version of Bach.

The first few pairs have nothing to do with the German Baroque universe, its deeply rooted report to Protestant religion and symbolism. Upon listening to this touching and rather cheesy account one's imagination flies away... but not towards the sky as it felt like: the first prelude could please a teenager girl feeling lonely at night and the fugue would highlight her multiple discoveries. The second prelude sounded like the disapproving parents and the ensuing explanation. The fugue 847 articulation is quite wrong as the syncopation is brushed over, a serious flaw in Baroque clavier playing. Prelude and especially fugue 848 with a rather repetitive unimaginative slant, result of a mono-dimensional treatment of the motives, pictured her escaping home, her rescue and subsequent very special education and her unabashed rise in the world. Finally the C sharp minor prelude openly described some unbuttoning under expert fingers... And the 5 voice accompanying fugue, a towering piece of the entire cycle, fizzled in an almost somnambulistic job: was she falling on her keyboard, jet lag perhaps? Really this was a case of tulips on your Casavant versus four roses on your Faz... High German Baroque not!

Whatever Miss Hewitt wanted to expose in this new recording -it included her stale wardrobe- Bach became a pretext. Once again this is all about Angela first and foremost and if the film might be of personal self-interest, it hardly evokes Bach's epoch and its philosophical essence. And that is a serious flaw thoroughly missed by the hagiographers who from coast to coast promote shamelessly the national treasure. Given Hyperion's previous release that was repackaged for the 2008 tour purpose with a rather fun cover -already a marketing trick-, this one simply smells of mercantilism and hubris: why recommend it unless you're desperate to score romantic brownie points with that new girlfriend of yours? In that case, hide the CD cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars confusing new and re-issue product, 20 Jun 2009
This review is from: J.S Bach: Well Tempered Clavier (Audio CD)
Not impressed that this new recording coincided with the old recording being reissued in very similar new packaging. As a result I ended up buying the old set again in the new packaging. By the time I realised the receipt had long since been lost. Not the most clever move by the people at hyperion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

J.S Bach: Well Tempered Clavier
J.S Bach: Well Tempered Clavier by Hewitt (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews