Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...I'm Glad You're Out Sir...I Mean Back..."
I ripped the shrink-wrap off this little gem this morning with the glee of a six-year old delinquent given a day pass to Cadburys. I then sat down to watch it and emerged two hours later with the grin of a 51-year old Cheshire cat on Viagra.

We all know "The Italian Job" is a Sixties classic, but what you don't know is that this 40th Anniversary reissue of it...
Published on 11 May 2009 by Mark Barry

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good restoration but shame about the low sound
The picture quality on this one is really fantastic - especially when you consider that the movie is forty years old.

However, like at least one other reviewer, I find the sound is far too low when played on a normal HD TV (Panny Viera). Using an AV receiver helps: but not everyone has one of these. So, to hear this film clearly, you may have to jack the volume...
Published on 13 Dec 2009 by MacAvity


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a bloomin' move on, 2 Jun 2003
By 
Frostokovich "SFauth" (Merion Station, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
I saw this film when it first hit theaters in the US, and am still amazed it didn't become an instant hit here as it did in the UK. Instant love affair with the Mini was the result for me. It's a nicely paced, terribly funny film, with a great Quincy Jones score to boot. Maggie Blye was, I suppose, expected to pull in the US audience, and it's a shame she didn't. But how can you not be entertained by the madness of the Mini-Cooper pursuit through Turin? It is, in a word, a silly film. Thank God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of British., 18 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
`The Italian Job' is the quintessential British comedy heist movie. Advertised as `The Car's the Star' due to the use of three Mini Coopers as the ideal escape vehicles which, admittedly, did perform magnificently. However Michael Cane as Michael Cane, err sorry Charlie Crocker, Noel Coward as Mr Bridges and Benny Hill as Professor Peach takes some beating. Event the supporting cast are fantastic Irene Handle as Miss Plum and John Le Messieur as a faultless prison governor.

The biggest star is however the cracking dialogue, the obvious line to quote here is of course `I only said blow the bloody doors off!' however equally impressive is Crocker's tailor on viewing his shirts `What did you do? Life?', and the timeless `The only way to get through it if we all work together and that means you do exactly what I say'

Since it has been recorded elsewhere that you cannot beat perfection then why anyone would want to remake this film beats me. `Hang on a minute, I've got a great idea...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic that has survived the test of time, 12 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Caine, Coward and Hill in crazy car chase capers. Charlie Croker(Caine)inherits the blueprint for a heist to lift $4m of gold en-route to Turin. Bankrolled by Mr Bridger(Coward), an underworld Mr Big, Caine recruits a team to pull off the job. A manufactured traffic jam, three minis, and the architecture of Turin are the ingredients of this classic sixties movie. How does it end ? If you don't know, I won't spoil it for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you must have shot an awful lot of tigers sir ......yes i use a machine gun, 15 Aug 2007
By 
M. A. Canavan "maca" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
there are so many marvelous quotes from this film you couldn't count them all, Caine at his wonderful best with a cast and crew to match , Noel Coward gives us a real cracker with his performance of Mr Bridger , the one liners about his aunt nelly will always raise a titter, don't read the negatives and just enjoy the crack. You'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic DVD, 27 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
..I received it for my birthday yesterday, and watched it with a Martini in my hand.
And by jingo, it's a treat. The quality of the picture on the DVD is fantasticly vivid - watching the opening credits it was difficult to remember that the piece of film I was watching was filmed the best part of 34 years ago! The job they've done on the sound is equally impressive, with the full Dolby 5.1 stream as clear as a bell. They've clearly spent some time cleaning this baby up - it makes the print the BBC have look very lacking!
The extras on the disk aren't a let down - the documentary is thorough and quite fascinating, the one deleted scene is a joy to watch and made more interesting with the commentary, and the original trailer is great to see, especially for those of us too young to remember it coming out. The animated menus just add to this and are great fun.
I could mention how great the film is, but if you're reading this chances are you already know that. However, you can be assured that this DVD - which I've been waiting four years for, all in all - more than does the film justice.
Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Italian Job - 40th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1969] (Blu-ray)
I'm not going to go on about the film, apart from it being one of the greatest British movies of all time. The Blu Ray edition is worth every penny a great transfer thanks to the BFI. Sound is excellent and the bundled extras make this a worthy Blu Ray for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the best ever british films.., 25 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
This is one of those classics everybody likes, and that will always be known. Michael Caine at his best but the true performance comes from the three mini coopers. Each one part of the best car chase sequence ever made. However it does have its sad moments.....an Aston Martin DB5 and 2 Jaguar E-Types destroyed.....heart breaking sob,sob......sorry.
An all out British flick which you will laugh, cringe and smile at over and over. Not a bad ending either.
-Shame about the new version coming out- (imagine setting it in Los Angeles...tsk tsk)
Once agian, great film. A must see and buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars look out! here comes the minis!!, 25 Nov 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
This film really showcased Michael's comedic talent, and with the backing of the super cast right down to Benny Hill, it's a super time. Michael plays the mastermind behind a gold heist, while Benny Hill is the technical genius making Michael's scheme work. Where most films of "the big heist" is on the actual job, this film set itself out by using humour and the Coopers escape to make it one fabulously funny time.
Caine is at his best as the freshly out of jail, but far from reformed crook. The end is just so droll!!!
Glad to add this one my Michael Caine collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A miracle, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Italian Job - 40th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1969] (Blu-ray)
If you get extra points for being older, this has to be the greatest Blu-Ray of them all. The quality is unbelievable. This is a 40 year old film offering reference level sharpness and very good depth and plasticity. When you take into account that the format cannot guarantee that for films from the last five years, this disc ends up looking like a miracle. There is nothing to criticise on the picture quality side. Nothing. Colours and contrasts look perfect to me. Just a beautiful picture from start to finish that sucks you in.

The Dolby True HD 5.1 soundtrack is not at the reference level of the best modern films, but it is still very high quality with a genuine sense of surround. The music comes across superbly and the scene in jail where the inmates are clapping to the football supporters' tune 'dah-dah dah-dah-dah dah-dah-dah-dah ENGLAND!' is truly thrilling. When you think that England were world champions when this film was made, it takes on an extra piquancy too.

I was also surprised by how modern the film seems. Humour can date horribly, but the irony of the film still manages to seem quite contemporary. The general, classic attitude of the English to foreigners (especially foreigners who have the cheek to think they stop being foreigners when they stay in their own country :-)) is wonderfully captured. And the line "Now, remember, in this country they drive on the wrong side of the road" was probably the funniest of the lot; I cannot understand why the "blow the doors off" quote became this film's most famous legacy.

Michael Caine is brilliant and just manages to avoid crossing the line over to an all-out impersonation of himself. But the star of the film is, no, not the Mini, Noel Coward! He is just perfect in every scene and lends the film priceless style and gravitas.

If you want to have an evening of great fun in absolutely up-to-date HD quality, then buy this classic film. There are also fun extras, with plenty about the Mini's role in the film. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute genius, 5 Dec 2008
By 
Andrew Rossiter (Halesowen, England) - See all my reviews
What three films could be better placed together than these three? Michael Caine looks swish and stylish in all three. In Zulu, his first major motion picture, it is astounding how easily he pulls of the arrogance that he does. A superb film, Zulu is an epic film about an epic battle. Modelled very closely on the actual events that took place at Rorke's Drift unlike lots of Hollywood epics, there are a few minor alterations to the real story but they by no means take anything away from the film. Unlike the blurb above says, this battle actually took place during the 19th century in 1879. A brilliant film.

In Alfie Michael Caine plays an rougish antihero. As he is the narrator and the film is all about him, Alfie starts off seeming like a loveable sort of guy, but the more you learn about him, the more you realise that he should be thoroughly unlikeable. A great plot line with great acting, presents an image of the "everyday person" living in the sixties. With humour throughout, this film really is a must see.

Italian Job. Brilliant. Such a happy-go-lucky film. Although (in essence) dealing with organised crime, it a really light hearted caper with Michael Caine and Noel Coward both in excellent form. As with Alfie it has touches of the sixties about it that could not happen in a high budget remake (as happened for both films). For example in Italian Job Benny Hill plays a professor who likes really big women, and in Alfie his women aren't all the "perfect" looking women that you get in modern films.

All three films are worthy of the title classics, and will always remain so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Italian Job - 40th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1969]
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews